Which FPGA clone to choose?

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Xyla
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:27 pm

Which FPGA clone to choose?

Postby Xyla » Mon Dec 25, 2017 10:16 pm

I'm looking to get an FPGA clone and try to learn FPGA programming. I would like to start with a regular ST core and learn how to make tweaks/enhancements to it.

I keep looking at the MIST, but I'm bothered by the fact that it seems to use disk images like an emulator instead of a real filesystem on the SD cards. I can't stand using emulators and disk images.

So then I look at the Suska-III, and it seems much more like a real Atari, but the FPGA is older and the whole thing is much more expensive.

There is the MISTer which is obviously the most powerful FPGA, but there is no ST core so it is not an option.

I would like to see if I can get any opinions or advice which board would be best to go with. Is there any chance of getting a real filesystem going with the MIST, so I could use the SD card the same way I use one in an Ultrasatan? I really do not want to be mounting images in emulators to transfer files to the FPGA machine.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1508
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Which FPGA clone to choose?

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Dec 25, 2017 10:47 pm

Get MiSTer and port ST core. This should be ideal option.
MiSTer shares almost common interface between ARM and FPGA, so porting from MiST is not so difficult.

Otherwise you have no choice except MiST, as ST core is pretty much viable only on MiST currently.
Suska is open source only for older big (old, weak and expensive HW) board only. New version of board is not fully open source anymore. You won't be able to tinker with the ST core.

Xyla
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:27 pm

Re: Which FPGA clone to choose?

Postby Xyla » Mon Dec 25, 2017 11:43 pm

Thanks for the reply. I would love to do that but I haven't done any FPGA programming yet.
Perhaps I will try if it's really not that hard. I am surprised no one else is doing this yet though.

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3259
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Which FPGA clone to choose?

Postby ijor » Tue Dec 26, 2017 12:06 am

Xyla wrote:I keep looking at the MIST, but I'm bothered by the fact that it seems to use disk images like an emulator instead of a real filesystem on the SD cards. I can't stand using emulators and disk images.
...
Is there any chance of getting a real filesystem going with the MIST, so I could use the SD card the same way I use one in an Ultrasatan? I really do not want to be mounting images in emulators to transfer files to the FPGA machine.


It should be possible to use a SD card as the Ultrasatan without disk images. I understand that is currently not supported. It is a bit cumbersome because the MIST boots from the SD card. Other than that, at the FPGA side, it shouldn't be too difficult to implement.

kolla
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Which FPGA clone to choose?

Postby kolla » Tue Dec 26, 2017 4:04 pm

Doesn't ST use FAT for filesystem anyways?
Shouldn't it be possible for ST core to use the same FAT partition that the system loads FPGA cores from?

Personally I very much prefer hard drive images over "direct access" for Amiga filesystems, and wish I could do that same on real Amiga :)
-- kolla

Xyla
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:27 pm

Re: Which FPGA clone to choose?

Postby Xyla » Thu Dec 28, 2017 7:41 pm

I decided to go with MIST. It seems my information was outdated... direct SD card access has already been added.
It's at the very bottom of this page: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-boar ... assStorage

fidzen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:13 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Which FPGA clone to choose?

Postby fidzen » Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:02 pm

Firebee needs new input!
It's expensive but a lovely piece of HW.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT60e, Supervidel, Svetlana, 512Mb RAM, 8Gb CF.
Atari Falcon, 14Mb RAM, CT63, 256Mb RAM,4Gb CF.
Firebee Series 2, 16Gb CF, 2Gb SD, MEGA ST Keyboard and Atari Mice.
Atari Stacy 2 with 4Mb RAM and 20Mb HD.
Atari Lynx II with new LCD and VGA output.
Atari 2600 4-switch Woody

Xyla
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:27 pm

Re: Which FPGA clone to choose?

Postby Xyla » Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:51 am

fidzen wrote:Firebee needs new input!
It's expensive but a lovely piece of HW.


I already have a Firebee on order, but I also wanted a full FPGA ST clone with high compatibility like the MIST. You can never have too many Ataris. :)


Return to “FPGA Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest