NeoGeo topic

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

andrewwong2000
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:47 am

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby andrewwong2000 » Tue Feb 11, 2020 11:57 am

Problem fixed!

Changed power supply and all the weird glitches and problems with the core have disappeared.

Worth noting if suddenly things go weird
CAM / 3D Designer & Fabricator - Electronic Engineer
MisterFPGA stuff at http://caminventions.com

Peredonov
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 8:06 pm

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby Peredonov » Tue Feb 11, 2020 1:23 pm

andrewwong2000 wrote:Changed power supply and all the weird glitches and problems with the core have disappeared.


You were not using the default power supply that ships with the DE10 Nano? 3rd party power supplies should be avoided, unless they've been tested and approved by the community here or some of the good MiSTer board sellers.

Threepwood
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:06 am

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby Threepwood » Wed Feb 12, 2020 3:54 pm

Peredonov wrote:
andrewwong2000 wrote:Changed power supply and all the weird glitches and problems with the core have disappeared.


You were not using the default power supply that ships with the DE10 Nano? 3rd party power supplies should be avoided, unless they've been tested and approved by the community here or some of the good MiSTer board sellers.


No. Just get a good brand PSU with the correct voltage and enough amps, like the Meanwell GST60A05-P1J https://www.meanwell-web.com/en-gb/ac-d ... 60a05--p1j and you are set.
2x MiSTer FPGA: [Official Stormtrooper Case, USB Hub 2.1 with Bridge Board, 128MB SDRAM, ADC, RTC 1.3, I/O v5.5] + [3D printed MiSTer XS Case v2, 128MB SDRAM, I/O v5.6 XL]

antibolo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:47 pm

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby antibolo » Tue Feb 18, 2020 9:59 pm

I was wondering, would it be possible for the core to reproduce a multi-slot MVS? Obviously the even higher memory footprint of loading multiple games would make it unpractical, but it would be an interesting novelty nonetheless?

Congrats to anyone involved in this core btw, real impressive work! I can definitely see this replacing my real hardware eventually.

sqwirral
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 2:34 am
Location: UK

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby sqwirral » Tue Feb 18, 2020 10:54 pm

antibolo wrote:I was wondering, would it be possible for the core to reproduce a multi-slot MVS? Obviously the even higher memory footprint of loading multiple games would make it unpractical, but it would be an interesting novelty nonetheless?

I'd love this :D I've done that in MAME before, kind of pointless but still interesting and makes for a more varied attract mode. We could fit a few of the smaller games into the 128MB. There are more important things that should come first though.

MrMiSTer
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:10 am

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby MrMiSTer » Tue Feb 18, 2020 11:42 pm

Just got the neogeo core set up on my mister with universe bios 3.3 and its all working great except it keeps resetting the region and aes and mvs selection every time i reboot or change to a new game. is there any way to save it so the mister boots up the neogeo core with the selected settings on the universe bios I've set every time?

Cheers for any replies

djsquare
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:01 am

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby djsquare » Wed Feb 19, 2020 12:08 am

MrMiSTer wrote:Just got the neogeo core set up on my mister with universe bios 3.3 and its all working great except it keeps resetting the region and aes and mvs selection every time i reboot or change to a new game. is there any way to save it so the mister boots up the neogeo core with the selected settings on the universe bios I've set every time?

Cheers for any replies


You can save the region and MVS/AES by saving to the memory card. It's probably best practice to leave auto-save enabled. You will need to do this with each game, but once it's set you're good to go

Peredonov
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 8:06 pm

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby Peredonov » Wed Feb 19, 2020 12:32 am

MrMiSTer wrote: is there any way to save it so the mister boots up the neogeo core with the selected settings on the universe bios I've set every time?


You can set auto-save like djsquare suggested, though you will still need to change the region and other settings when booting any game for the first time. I found it easier instead to just grab an official bios for the region I use most and renamed it as the European official bios (since that's what this core looks for). You can easily access dip switch settings from official bios anyway, so the benefits of unibios are not exclusive.

MrMiSTer
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:10 am

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby MrMiSTer » Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:08 am

Thanks for the info guys will try it later

hex
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 6:10 pm

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby hex » Thu Feb 20, 2020 9:57 pm

core works really good for me.
next step would be Neo Geo CD.... but i don't know if we will ever see it on Mister..

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Feb 21, 2020 5:55 am

hex wrote:core works really good for me.
next step would be Neo Geo CD.... but i don't know if we will ever see it on Mister..

most likely, no.
And generally there is no point to have it as it has only ONE exclusive CD game. CD versions of games are crippled comparing to cart versions.

kazki
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2019 10:25 pm

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby kazki » Fri Feb 21, 2020 8:49 am

Hi Sorgelig, as a Neogeo enthousiast, I beg to differ, while it is true there is only 1 exclusive game (Samurai Rpg) and some larger games were somehow crippled due to the video Ram limitation of the neocd

Cd games also have additional content such as arranged music tracks, more ways to play a game (the combat school in the 2 Metal Slug), Windjammers has a unique gameplay you have to score 24 points in 95 sec which is a game changer, you can unlock galleries, openings and so on
Real bout Special also has a special Mary Blue ending

To get it simple let’s say that everygame that is less than 200Megabits is on par with the carts, larger games tend to have limited animations (kof limited animation in background), smaller sprites (art of fighting 3) or abusive loadings (last blade series)

Not relevant to the fpga, furrtek has released his ODE for the NeogeoCD, loading times are excellent compared to the original hardware. They are a tad slower than the NeoSD pro when loading a CD game

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Feb 21, 2020 1:52 pm

Ask furrtek to finish the CD version

Mlaurito
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:07 pm

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby Mlaurito » Fri Feb 21, 2020 3:13 pm

I love you Sorgelig, getting to the point with no words wasted in between :D

kazki
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2019 10:25 pm

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby kazki » Fri Feb 21, 2020 7:54 pm

@Mlaurito you should search who made the Neogeo core possible first

I'm not asking anyone to make a Neogeo cd core, I'm just giving my personal insight to the fact that Neogeo CD could be a challenging project and that there's more that meets the eye when you try the games and compare to the cart versions

I gave the pros and cons, yeah Sorgelig might be right taking the shortcut and saying NeoGeoCD games are "crippled" versions of the original, I just offered an alternative from my perspective as a NeoGeo enthousiast

as I said the fact that furrtek released an ODE is NOT relevant to the fpga scene

Mlaurito wrote:I love you Sorgelig, getting to the point with no words wasted in between :D

hex
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 6:10 pm

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby hex » Sat Feb 22, 2020 12:44 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
hex wrote:core works really good for me.
next step would be Neo Geo CD.... but i don't know if we will ever see it on Mister..

most likely, no.
And generally there is no point to have it as it has only ONE exclusive CD game. CD versions of games are crippled comparing to cart versions.


Sorgelig, just for my personal knowledge..
When furrtek released the neo geo core there was a cd implementation that was not enabled... but i should like to know what it was missing to finish, i mean if it was at a good point or only at the beginning.
Do you have this info?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Feb 22, 2020 6:43 pm

hex wrote:Sorgelig, just for my personal knowledge..
When furrtek released the neo geo core there was a cd implementation that was not enabled... but i should like to know what it was missing to finish, i mean if it was at a good point or only at the beginning.
Do you have this info?

It's better to ask furrtek. According to what i remember CD code wasn't finished and had a problems with DMA. That's why CD option wasn't available from the first versions.

Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby Locutus73 » Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:31 am

Yesterday i tried for the first time the Neo Geo core (20200123): MVS mode with Unibios 3.3, 32MB SDRAM and HDMI out. First I tried Metal Slug, and everything seems fine at the beginning, but going ahead in the first level the sound effects disappear; the music goes on but I can’t hear the gun shooting or any other sound. Then I tried Puzzle Bobble and got no sound, but music, since the beginning. I tried to power off and on MiSTer a few times with the same results.
Any idea?

Thank you in advance.
Regards.

Locutus73

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Feb 23, 2020 12:56 pm

Locutus73 wrote:Yesterday i tried for the first time the Neo Geo core (20200123): MVS mode with Unibios 3.3, 32MB SDRAM and HDMI out. First I tried Metal Slug, and everything seems fine at the beginning, but going ahead in the first level the sound effects disappear; the music goes on but I can’t hear the gun shooting or any other sound. Then I tried Puzzle Bobble and got no sound, but music, since the beginning. I tried to power off and on MiSTer a few times with the same results.
Any idea?

Thank you in advance.
Regards.

Locutus73

Try older releases to see if it's new problem and if there are version without this problem.

Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby Locutus73 » Sun Feb 23, 2020 6:34 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Try older releases to see if it's new problem and if there are version without this problem.

I tried back and forth NeoGeo_20200123.rbf and NeoGeo_20191205.rbf: NeoGeo_20191205.rbf seems to be ok.
I tested a dozen of runs of the first level of Metal Slug. Sometimes NeoGeo_20200123.rbf is ok, but most of the times it cuts audio effects. NeoGeo_20191205.rbf was always ok.

Thank you in advance.
Regards.

Locutus73

senkun
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 6:29 pm

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby senkun » Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:51 pm

Locutus73 wrote:... Metal Slug, and everything seems fine at the beginning, but going ahead in the first level the sound effects disappear; the music goes on but I can’t hear the gun shooting or any other sound.


I've never noticed anything amiss. I tried to check if I could reproduce the sound issues you described, using MVS mode, Unibios 3.3, core is NeoGeo_20200123, but I just played Metal Slug up to the 3rd mission and everything's fine. Music and sound effects are all there.

Only difference to your setup is that I'm on 128MB SDRAM and using direct video via HDMI.

rsz__20200225_072916-min.jpg

(Pic is heavily compressed to fit 50kb upload)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Feb 25, 2020 4:10 am

Probably it's general core instability. Core uses many async clocks which is unstable. Basically code needs big refactoring to be more compatible with FPGA nature.

kazki
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2019 10:25 pm

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby kazki » Tue Feb 25, 2020 10:08 am

Have you tried another psu ? andrewwong2000 reported above having issues and then having them resolved with a PSU change

daty2k1
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:42 am

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby daty2k1 » Tue Mar 10, 2020 8:46 pm

I keep having sync issue with my monitor when switching the system to NTSC. I think it could be related to the fact that the core is running at MVS speed. Could someone point me in the direction to compile my own core with a different clock to get the AES rate (59.6hz)? Thanks

daty2k1
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:42 am

Re: NeoGeo topic

Postby daty2k1 » Wed Mar 11, 2020 10:40 pm

OK I finally figured it out. I'm not sure I did it right but it works! :cheers: The fork is available on github if anyone is interested.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: trashuncle and 9 guests