ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 6:56 pm

I have now updated the 2.0.0 build to support FLAC audio.

It may help for missing audio tracks. Seemed to solve the problem for one person so far...

Just run the ScummVM_Installer.sh again or manually copy scummvm20 into the ScummVM directory.

https://github.com/bbond007/MiSTer_ScummVM/raw/master/scummvm20

SuperBabyHix
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:36 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby SuperBabyHix » Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:38 am

So I am getting an error during install. "Error searching for libtheora0_1.1.%2Bdfsg.1-15 in http://.us.debian.org/debian/pool/main/libt/libtheora".

I suspect this is an error of my own making, but reading through the thread I can't figure out what I am missing. I have updated using the SD card utility to 190603 as well as ran the updater script.

Not sure what the issue is because all the previous files in the script download just fine form the debian repo, and I can able to download that file (I assumed the armhf version) just fine on my PC.

Any info is greatly appreciated.

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Wed Jun 05, 2019 3:44 am

NegSol wrote:Thanks BBond007 the setup script worked for me after creating the Scripts folder manually (my Scripts folder had a different name). Sound is also working. :mrgreen:


I modified the ScummVM_Installer.sh script to create the Scripts directory if it does not exist.

You can modify this line (in the installer) if you want something different:
SCRIPTS_DIR=/media/fat/Scripts

jayp76 wrote:I can confirm that "the Neverhood Chronicle" is running fine in ScummVM on MiSTer.
You have to put this files into the neverhood folder.
https://github.com/scummvm/scummvm/blob/master/dists/engine-data/neverhood.dat


Interesting game! Thanks, I have never heard of it until now :)

This is an excellent game to run on ScummVM as it requires at least Pentium 75 machine with GPU which is well beyond ao486's current capability. Seems like it runs pretty well...

SuperBabyHix wrote:So I am getting an error during install. "Error searching for libtheora0_1.1.%2Bdfsg.1-15 in http://.us.debian.org/debian/pool/main/libt/libtheora".

I suspect this is an error of my own making, but reading through the thread I can't figure out what I am missing. I have updated using the SD card utility to 190603 as well as ran the updater script.

Not sure what the issue is because all the previous files in the script download just fine form the debian repo, and I can able to download that file (I assumed the armhf version) just fine on my PC.

Any info is greatly appreciated.


Very strange... Are you sure your SD card is not running out of space?

The 7th Guest (Intro - With remastered audio by James Woodcock) --> http://youtu.be/WZ4AgVrH-uw

warham
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby warham » Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:02 am

loaded that neverhood game. seems to run fine. trying to figure out how to make it fit the screen.
added this to the bottom of mister.ini and got beautiful full screen thank to the folks in discord help.
sometime exiting the game crashes mister.


[menu]
video_mode=6
Last edited by warham on Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:36 pm, edited 4 times in total.

SuperBabyHix
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:36 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby SuperBabyHix » Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:37 pm

BBond007 wrote:Very strange... Are you sure your SD card is not running out of space?


The Mister reports the card has 98GB free, but I deleted about 1GB of file just to be sure, but it still gives the same error. I even moved that particular file up in the script so that it would download first and that didn't help either.

I commented that line out just to see if everything else would download and now it give the same error for libxext6_1.3.3-1%2Bb2. I comment that out and the script will now complete, just missing those two.

EDIT: I also tried creating a debs folder under the ScummVM folder and downloading those two files manually. Then I pointed the script to /media/fat/ScummVM/debs for those two files only. That didn't work either. :shrug:

LoUiS
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby LoUiS » Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:33 pm

I'm facing the same behaviour as @SuperBabyHix. The installer script stops after:

Downloading libsndfile1_1.0.28-6_armhf.deb
% Total % Received % Xferd Average Speed Time Time Time Current
Dload Upload Total Spent Left Speed
100 237k 100 237k 0 0 269k 0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 270k
Extracting lib*
Error searching for libtheora0_1.1.1%2Bdfsg.1-15 in http://http.us.debian.org/debian/pool/m ... /libtheora


The SD card has enough free space: "/dev/root 120G 55G 65G 46% /media/fat"

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:50 am

SuperBabyHix wrote:I commented that line out just to see if everything else would download and now it give the same error for libxext6_1.3.3-1%2Bb2. I comment that out and the script will now complete, just missing those two.


I did find a possible issue, but I'm not sure why it worked for others any myself and not and yiou and LoUiS :shrug:

Try and download the installer again and see the fix works.

https://github.com/bbond007/MiSTer_ScummVM/raw/master/ScummVM_Installer.sh

Thanks!

Space Quest 6: Roger Wilco in the Spinal Frontier --> https://youtu.be/mee282EkjZQ

Locutus73
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby Locutus73 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:13 am

BBond007 wrote:I did find a possible issue, but I'm not sure why it worked for others any myself and not and yiou and LoUiS :shrug:

I had a similar issue at the beginning with the installDEBS function: some users from some regions got different HTML (with different escapes, I don’t know why), and the regular expression (which is pretty restrictive right now, allowing only specific chars, maybe I should opt for the reverse, capturing everything but specific chars) missed some links.
What did you fix specifically?

Regards.

Locutus73
Last edited by Locutus73 on Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

LoUiS
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby LoUiS » Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:23 am

BBond007 wrote:I did find a possible issue, but I'm not sure why it worked for others any myself and not and yiou and LoUiS :shrug:

Try and download the installer again and see the fix works.


I did and the script now worked as expected. I need to copy some of the SCUMMVM games to the SD card and test when I'm home this afternoon. Thank you very much for your fast support!

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:41 am

Locutus73 wrote:What did you fix specifically?

Just a mistake on my part common to the two files that were failing to download...

https://github.com/bbond007/MiSTer_Scum ... 7b2a1a4450

Locutus73
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby Locutus73 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:22 am

BBond007 wrote:Just a mistake on my part common to the two files that were failing to download...

https://github.com/bbond007/MiSTer_Scum ... 7b2a1a4450

:lol: A commit with cats in the description, nice... I love cats :cheers:

Regards.

Locutus73

warham
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby warham » Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:51 am

BBond007 wrote:
Locutus73 wrote:What did you fix specifically?

Just a mistake on my part common to the two files that were failing to download...

https://github.com/bbond007/MiSTer_Scum ... 7b2a1a4450



For us that didn't have errors downloading is there still something messed up that we need to reinstall it?

LoUiS
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:02 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby LoUiS » Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:27 pm

I now installed a whole bunch of ScummVM Games today and shortly tested a few of them. I'm must say, everything works very good. Some games have a few little flaws (e.g. the sound of Zak McKracken is a bit behind the screenplay) but I really like it! All games I tested started and could be played. Thank you very much @BBond007 for your fine work, I love it! :D

SuperBabyHix
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:36 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby SuperBabyHix » Fri Jun 07, 2019 12:34 am

Installer works perfectly now. Thanks so much for this. Tried out a few games and they look and sound great. I really appreciate it.

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 2:38 am

warham wrote:For us that didn't have errors downloading is there still something messed up that we need to reinstall it?


Naw, you are fine... I probably will update the installer soon to include some needed engine ".DAT" files required for certain games. Once I have done so I will make an announcement.

For now if you find a game that does run (complaining about a missing or incorrect ".DAT" file) you can get it here -->

https://github.com/bbond007/MiSTer_ScummVM/tree/master/engine-data

LoUiS wrote:I now installed a whole bunch of ScummVM Games today and shortly tested a few of them. I'm must say, everything works very good. Some games have a few little flaws (e.g. the sound of Zak McKracken is a bit behind the screenplay) but I really like it! All games I tested started and could be played. Thank you very much @BBond007 for your fine work, I love it! :D


I think that may be more of an issue with our current Linux ALSA audio implementation than ScummVM itself. Try and save your progress and exit all the way out of ScummVM (back to the Script Menu) then go back in, reload saved game and see if has regained sync.

Further integration/optimization of the Linux ALSA sound implementation will hopefully correct this but will require a Linux kernel update.

Also some supported games do have some documented flaws (such as audio sync). Check here --> https://wiki.scummvm.org/index.php/Category:Supported_Games
and here --> https://www.scummvm.org/compatibility/


SuperBabyHix wrote:Installer works perfectly now. Thanks so much for this. Tried out a few games and they look and sound great. I really appreciate it.


Great! The info you provided definitely helped me narrow down and solve the problem... Thank you too!

Drascula (Intro) : The Vampire Strikes Back --> https://youtu.be/Kmtfghva3Rw
Last edited by BBond007 on Sun Jun 09, 2019 2:10 am, edited 8 times in total.

nico24
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby nico24 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:30 am

Is there a recommended way to install this?

I downloaded the pack from Github. I ran the script and it did install something. After running the 2.0.0 sh script it just is stuck on the start ScummVM. Any ideas?

Thanks
Nick

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:45 am

nico24 wrote:Is there a recommended way to install this?

I downloaded the pack from Github. I ran the script and it did install something. After running the 2.0.0 sh script it just is stuck on the start ScummVM. Any ideas?

Thanks
Nick


Make sure you are on the latest SD installer and if you are using RGB/VGA then you need:

[MENU]
vga_scaler=1

nico24
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby nico24 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 3:15 am

Oh ok thanks - I'll give that a go!

nico24
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby nico24 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 3:28 am

So do you need to move files into different folders to be able to launch? Not games, just the bare ScummVM?

EDIT: Never mind - it was the VGA_SCALER=1 - i've never put that to 1 and so always had a very different experience through VGA than HDMI! All working now, thanks for the help.

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 4:57 am

nico24 wrote:So do you need to move files into different folders to be able to launch? Not games, just the bare ScummVM?


For certain games you may need one of these files in the game folder or ScummVM directory...

https://github.com/bbond007/MiSTer_ScummVM/tree/master/engine-data

I plan to add downloading these files and probably remove ScummVM_1.7.0 (by default) from the next installer push.

Beavis and Butt-Head : Virtual Stupidity --> https://youtu.be/_BjHLZnZt1Q

nico24
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby nico24 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 5:45 pm

Totally lost in getting the resolution right. I have ScummVM in a small window. A lot of changes to the ScummVM_2_0_0.sh file just result in a message about can't get a resolution of 640x480....

Any ideas? what is generally the advised setting in the .sh file and the Mister.ini?

Thanks!

nick

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:02 pm

nico24 wrote:Totally lost in getting the resolution right. I have ScummVM in a small window. A lot of changes to the ScummVM_2_0_0.sh file just result in a message about can't get a resolution of 640x480....

Any ideas? what is generally the advised setting in the .sh file and the Mister.ini?

Thanks!

nick

These settings give me the best result on both my monitor which is a Dell SR2320L (native 1920x1080) connected via VGA and my Elgato HD60s connected via HDMI.

MiSTer.INI:

[MENU]
vga_scaler=1
video_mode=6

ScummVM_2_0_0.sh:

echo "Setting Video mode..."
vmode -r 640 480 rgb16

ScummVM/Options:

Graphics Mode: <default>
Render Mode: <default>
[X] Aspect ratio correction
[ ] Fullscreen mode

nico24
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby nico24 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 11:08 pm

Thanks BBond!!

Hearing the music in Curse of Monkey Island just lifts the spirits!

djmartins
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby djmartins » Mon Jun 10, 2019 2:49 am

I just installed ScummVM and added some games and they seem to run fine and there were no problems installing it.
Well done!
I never expected something like ScummVM to make it to MiSTer and while it isn't an FPGA project am happy to have it.
You don't have to install it.
What impresses me is the fact that MiSTer is so versatile that it can run emulators or FPGA cores.
Very cool stuff!

Lroby74
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby Lroby74 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 11:33 pm

ScummVM is wonderfull and working great!

I am using it with a 640 x 480 framebuffer giving me full screen while for FPGA cores i keep 1280 * 720 at 50hz (PAL ) and 60hz (NTSC).. all perfect!!

I love my Mister!


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests