ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 5:13 pm

ScummVM.png


Here is the link to the installer script:

https://github.com/bbond007/MiSTer_ScummVM/raw/master/ScummVM_Installer.sh

GUI Theme:
scummmodern.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by BBond007 on Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5248
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:10 pm

BBond007 wrote:ScummVM.png
Here is the link to the installer script:

https://github.com/bbond007/MiSTer_ScummVM/raw/master/ScummVM_Installer.sh

how to make this graphical menu? I see only neon-green black one.

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:44 pm

Sorgelig wrote:how to make this graphical menu? I see only neon-green black one.


I just added the theme file to the post with the installer...

Make a directory called "/media/fat/ScummVM/Themes" (or whatever you prefer) and then:

ScummVM_Options_Path.png


This screen is also where you need to set where your save games go.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by BBond007 on Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5248
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:50 pm

do i have to unpack zip in dedicated folder or into Themes directly or put there as zip?

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:52 pm

Sorgelig wrote:do i have to unpack zip in dedicated folder or into Themes directly or put there as zip?


Do not unpack. Just place the zip in that folder.

Also, the themes for the 1.7.0 version and the 2.0.0 are incompatible. That file is for the 2.0.0 version.

Don't forget to configure your save game folder while you are in Options/Paths screen.
Last edited by BBond007 on Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5248
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jun 03, 2019 6:57 pm

GUI works, thanks!
May be worth to include it in installer and make it default?

I found that ScummVM has default path to /media/fat/Scripts.
How about set the default path (when you browse something) to /media/fat/ScummVM?

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:05 pm

Sorgelig wrote:GUI works, thanks!
May be worth to include it in installer and make it default?

I found that ScummVM has default path to /media/fat/Scripts.
How about set the default path (when you browse something) to /media/fat/ScummVM?


Its home directory is set to /media/fat/ScummVM.

It has a default path of whatever you last picked. So it won't go back scripts again even after you restart the program.

I can include a default ".scummvmrc" with that and paths already configured.

I don't know if I want to make the theme standard, it does slow down the UI somewhat.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5248
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:22 pm

Yeah, GUI is more pensive :)
Ok. Can anyway install it by script then user will be able to choose.

BBond007 wrote:Its home directory is set to /media/fat/ScummVM.
It has a default path of whatever you last picked. So it won't go back scripts again even after you restart the program.
I can include a default ".scummvmrc" with that and paths already configured.

Probably the path left from older versions.
I think it's good idea to include the preconfigured .scummvmrc
MiSTer environment is pretty much deterministic.

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:31 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Probably the path left from older versions.
I think it's good idea to include the preconfigured .scummvmrc
MiSTer environment is pretty much deterministic.


For now, I just added "cd SCUMMVM_HOME_DIR" to the ScummVM scripts so that it won't initially default to /media/fat/Scripts after a fresh install.

I'll work on the installer script to add a default .scummvmrc.

terminator2k2
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 10:23 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby terminator2k2 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:09 pm

nice job, got it up and running, just one thing, how do i get the monitor and background to show?

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:11 pm

terminator2k2 wrote:nice job, got it up and running, just one thing, how do i get the monitor and background to show?


the monitor is part of my video capture setup.

terminator2k2
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 10:23 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby terminator2k2 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:13 pm

hahaha thought it was somehow , just thought i was missing some setting

ive not messed much with scummvm , is there any particular roms/games to have? as i got monkey island 2 with no audio

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:20 pm

terminator2k2 wrote:hahaha thought it was somehow , just thought i was missing some setting

ive not messed much with scummvm , is there any particular roms/games to have? as i got monkey island 2 with no audio


Monkey Island 2 has sound for me.

Probably you should get the games that can't run on ao486..

Supported games --> https://wiki.scummvm.org/index.php/Cate ... rted_Games
Last edited by BBond007 on Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby NegSol » Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:15 pm

Thanks BBond007 the setup script worked for me after creating the Scripts folder manually (my Scripts folder had a different name). Sound is also working. :mrgreen:

softtest1
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 6:37 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby softtest1 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:58 pm

Would it be possible to make it so that we can just download one file, put it in the root of the SD card, and run it from the main menu like we do with FPGA cores, without installing? Now of course the user still has to provide a game, but I mean everything related to ScummVM except the game.

glaucon1984
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:23 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby glaucon1984 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 10:54 pm

Is there a way to make it full screen? Is it reduced due to framebuffer performance?

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby BBond007 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 11:33 pm

glaucon1984 wrote:Is there a way to make it full screen? Is it reduced due to framebuffer performance?


Has nothing to do with performance.

Ideally you wan the framebuffer to be 640x480. You can run ScummVM to run in 320x200 framebuffer, however that will limit which games you can run. You won't be able to run the newer games which is kind of the point.

ScummVM must scale evenly into the framebuffer which must scale evenly into the resolution for the menu core (in MiSTer.INI).

These settings come into play:

    - The resolution set in your MiSTer.INI
    - The "vmode" setting in ScummVM_2_0_0.sh
    - The scaling factor of ScummVM itself

The best resolutions for fullscreen ScummVM in MiSTer.INI :

    - 6 - 640x480@60
    - 8 - 1920x1080@60
    - 4 - 1280x1024@60

Code: Select all

vmode
usage:
        a) vmode scale format
        b) vmode -r width height format

       scale  : f - full resolution, h - half, t - one third, q - quarter
       format : rgb32, bgr32, rgb15, bgr15, rgb16, bgr16, idx8


Hope that helps. I'm afraid I'm probably not explaining it well.

Locutus73
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 493
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby Locutus73 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 5:48 am

Sorgelig wrote:I think it's good idea to include the preconfigured .scummvmrc
MiSTer environment is pretty much deterministic.

Yeah, we can think to MiSTer as a console like deterministic environment and users should get a default “just works” experience (with optional, not required, customization).
The installer under Scripts and ScummVM under SD root seems the best approach to me.

Regards.

Locutus73

souldream
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 2:35 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby souldream » Tue Jun 04, 2019 6:47 am

@BBond007

Executed script, no issue to be reported.
Launched binary , executed with no error.

Installing some games, and will test !

A Big thanks for this Nice job !

User avatar
witchmaster
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:50 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby witchmaster » Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:10 am

Thank you very much for this BBond007! :) Looking forward to trying it out!

aristogeiton
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:04 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby aristogeiton » Tue Jun 04, 2019 11:52 am

Excellent work. All the haters and pendants can go jump!

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

glaucon1984
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:23 pm

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby glaucon1984 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 2:54 pm

BBond007 wrote:Ideally you wan the framebuffer to be 640x480


Perfect! That's what I needed!

I just enabled Aspect Ratio correction and it looks perfect now in all the games I've tried.

jayp76
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:09 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby jayp76 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 3:51 pm

I can confirm that "the Neverhood Chronicle" is running fine in ScummVM on MiSTer.
You have to put this files into the neverhood folder.
https://github.com/scummvm/scummvm/blob/master/dists/engine-data/neverhood.dat

Would be nice if the joypad would work as a mouse pointer.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5248
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jun 04, 2019 5:04 pm

jayp76 wrote:Would be nice if the joypad would work as a mouse pointer.

If you use DualShock 4 then its touchpad works as a mouse. DS4 is pretty much versatile gamepad.

As for other joysticks i plan to add mouse emulation at some stage.

jayp76
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:09 am

Re: ScummVM running on FrameBuffer

Postby jayp76 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 5:44 pm

Nice. In the meantime i could use the DS4. Glad i have some lying around.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot], Mills and 9 guests