Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 636
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

Postby DrOG » Fri Jul 26, 2019 4:26 am

alanswx wrote:To get it to work in the ht1080z we need to implement a bunch of hardware on the Tandy side. I am working on other things now. See if the original core author wants to do it.

Hi!

I asked the original author (József László), who is currently not interested in improving his cores.

Feel free to add the desired features, the source code is public.

alanswx
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:34 pm

Re: Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

Postby alanswx » Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:04 pm

DrOG wrote:
alanswx wrote:To get it to work in the ht1080z we need to implement a bunch of hardware on the Tandy side. I am working on other things now. See if the original core author wants to do it.

Hi!

I asked the original author (József László), who is currently not interested in improving his cores.

Feel free to add the desired features, the source code is public.


I released the core in the official repository after upgrading to the latest "sys" (scaler, etc)

truckweb
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 4:07 pm

Re: Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

Postby truckweb » Thu Aug 08, 2019 3:22 am

Cool core! Any chance for a Coco3 ?

http://www.davebiz.com/wiki/CoCo3FPGA

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

Postby ericgus » Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:02 am

alanswx wrote:
DrOG wrote:
alanswx wrote:I released the core in the official repository after upgrading to the latest "sys" (scaler, etc)


Awesome thank you !!!

djmartins
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

Postby djmartins » Sat Aug 10, 2019 1:56 am

truckweb wrote:Cool core! Any chance for a Coco3 ?

http://www.davebiz.com/wiki/CoCo3FPGA


Contact the dev and see if they know of MiSTer and are interested in porting it.

Lodovic
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 2:51 am

Re: Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

Postby Lodovic » Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:27 am

Is there a way to save a typed-in BASIC program on the HT1080z core? I've checked the original dev site and Mist forum but found nothing.

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 636
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

Postby DrOG » Sun Aug 11, 2019 2:39 pm

Writing to SD card is not supported in case of the original MiST version AFAIK.

alanswx
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:34 pm

Re: Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

Postby alanswx » Sun Aug 11, 2019 3:13 pm

Lodovic wrote:Is there a way to save a typed-in BASIC program on the HT1080z core? I've checked the original dev site and Mist forum but found nothing.


Interesting. Load is implemented. Not save.

Alan

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1053
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

Postby slingshot » Sun Aug 11, 2019 3:27 pm

Tape saving is not implemented in any core (if you don't count the save beeps via audio out). Also not trivial, since the file length is not known until you finish the save. Solution: a disk system. AFAIK most disk interfaces for TRS80 is just the well-known WD1772+some ROM with DOS.

azesmbog
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:08 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

Postby azesmbog » Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:46 am

slingshot wrote: Solution: a disk system. AFAIK most disk interfaces for TRS80 is just the well-known WD1772+some ROM with DOS.

For the sake of truth, I want to note that there is SDOS for downloading .CAS files from an SD card
With a great desire, apparently you can teach to download and .BAS files and save them in the same way. Well, this is absolutely for true connoisseurs :) :D

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

Postby ericgus » Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:01 am

djmartins wrote:
truckweb wrote:Cool core! Any chance for a Coco3 ?

http://www.davebiz.com/wiki/CoCo3FPGA


Contact the dev and see if they know of MiSTer and are interested in porting it.


It already exists, you just need to google for it, as the source is not "open" its not listed here.. but its out there as an "unofficial" core. As the coco is a wholly different machine (different CPU, etc) its really not part of this discussion which is about the z80 cpu based, B&W TRS 80 models .. but go look and you will find it.

djmartins
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Has the HT1080z/TRS80 Model I core been ported from mist? (not coco)

Postby djmartins » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:26 pm

I did find it and got it loaded and running.
Thanks!
Seems like it has been worked on a bit and runs most of what I've tried so far.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: slup and 6 guests