MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby Paradroyd » Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:49 am

ericgus wrote:
BBond007 wrote:
ericgus wrote:I know the C64 core with MidiLink/TCP is still experimental but I just wanted to report I have been testing it a great deal over the weekend and its still somewhat prone to crashing...


You can try this newer build with C64_20190208 changes:


these work a lot better so far, no crashing even with CCGMS Ultimate 2019 .. however I do get the odd garbled text on occasion so something is still a little out of kilter with the core but its waaaaaaay more stable now .. eg its actually usable without fear of it crashing during use..

testing is ongoing ..


I'm Seeing the same here. No crashes now, just a bit of garbled text in the stream occasionally.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby Paradroyd » Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:24 am

Another update.

I used the latest official C64 core (190213) with Userport / UART support for quite a while tonight on many different BBSs and had no problems whatsoever. No crashes, no garbage. It just worked perfectly tonight.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby ericgus » Thu Feb 14, 2019 5:29 pm

Paradroyd wrote:Another update.

I used the latest official C64 core (190213) with Userport / UART support for quite a while tonight on many different BBSs and had no problems whatsoever. No crashes, no garbage. It just worked perfectly tonight.


With striketerm or CCGMS 2019/Ultimate?

CCGMS seemed to be more prone to crashes/garbled text .. I will have to give it a go with this updated official core now.. the last beta was very stable even with CCGMS 2019.

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby Paradroyd » Thu Feb 14, 2019 5:35 pm

ericgus wrote:
Paradroyd wrote:Another update.

I used the latest official C64 core (190213) with Userport / UART support for quite a while tonight on many different BBSs and had no problems whatsoever. No crashes, no garbage. It just worked perfectly tonight.


With striketerm or CCGMS 2019/Ultimate?

CCGMS seemed to be more prone to crashes/garbled text .. I will have to give it a go with this updated official core now.. the last beta was very stable even with CCGMS 2019.


With CCGMS 2019. That's all I used last night.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon

zomgugoff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:12 am

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby zomgugoff » Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:04 am

Is there something else that has to be done besides setting the UART to MIDI/TCP and un-commenting the TCP_BAUD=2400 line in midilink.ini for C64? On the 20190213 build, I am getting a response when typing and running AT commands, but the characters are all checkerboards.

EDIT: I figured it out. I had the "user port" setting set to joystick instead of UART.

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby BBond007 » Mon Feb 18, 2019 11:19 am


ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby ericgus » Mon Feb 18, 2019 6:03 pm

BBond007 wrote:Sounds?
https://youtu.be/Vu-CTfZxAcw


I think I just squealed like a 5 year old girl.. :-) .. awesome!

duhproject
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby duhproject » Mon Feb 18, 2019 10:54 pm

ericgus wrote:
BBond007 wrote:Sounds?
https://youtu.be/Vu-CTfZxAcw


I think I just squealed like a 5 year old girl.. :-) .. awesome!


Sweet! The sounds are really cool!

BTW - I have been using CCGMS 2019 on the latest c64 since Friday and had NO issues. No garbage, no crashes. It's been prefect.

Thank you.

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby ericgus » Tue Feb 19, 2019 6:51 am

duhproject wrote:BTW - I have been using CCGMS 2019 on the latest c64 since Friday and had NO issues. No garbage, no crashes. It's been prefect.

Thank you.


I actually had one .. just one .. not sure if it was related to the core or just your run o the mill random fluke..

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby ericgus » Tue Feb 19, 2019 7:07 am

BBond007 wrote:Sounds?
https://youtu.be/Vu-CTfZxAcw


How do you enable sounds?

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby BBond007 » Tue Feb 19, 2019 7:40 am

ericgus wrote:How do you enable sounds?


If you have updated using the script, then you need to put the following in "/media/fat/SOUNDS/"

- dial.wav
- connect.wav

then:
"/media/fat/linux/MidiLink.INI"

MODEM_SOUND = TRUE

also in terminal mode:

ATSND0 - OFF
ATSND1 - ON

Some of this stuff might change. I probably will change the AT command to ATM#

Some more Q-link --> http://y2u.be/4Jz5h6qyLhk

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby ericgus » Tue Feb 19, 2019 5:36 pm

BBond007 wrote:- dial.wav
- connect.wav


Where did you get the wav files from? are the installed with the midilink updater script from your post a few messages ago?

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby BBond007 » Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:01 pm

ericgus wrote:
BBond007 wrote:- dial.wav
- connect.wav


Where did you get the wav files from? are the installed with the midilink updater script from your post a few messages ago?


it came from here:

https://www.soundjay.com/dial-up-modem- ... ffect.html

I used Audacity to separate it into dial and connect parts.

I need to find/make some PD modem sounds to include.

I have also been playing with producing dialing tones programmatically (based on IP address) using the ALSA PCM API, but it just does not sound right yet...

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby ericgus » Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:02 am

BBond007 wrote:
ericgus wrote:
BBond007 wrote:- dial.wav
- connect.wav


Where did you get the wav files from? are the installed with the midilink updater script from your post a few messages ago?


it came from here:

https://www.soundjay.com/dial-up-modem- ... ffect.html

I used Audacity to separate it into dial and connect parts.

I need to find/make some PD modem sounds to include.

I have also been playing with producing dialing tones programmatically (based on IP address) using the ALSA PCM API, but it just does not sound right yet...


Ah ok .. thanks! ..

yea it would be neat if the number dialed corresponded to the ip .. perhaps just use pre-recorded touch tone sounds for 0-9 as individual wave files and play them back .. would be great really to have all the "sounds" like busy, ring etc.. but one little awesome step at a time .. :D

zomgugoff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:12 am

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby zomgugoff » Wed Feb 20, 2019 1:12 am

If you want to get more authentic with your sounds, some people have made recording of various modems' sounds:

https://goughlui.com/legacy/soundofmodems/index.htm

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby BBond007 » Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:34 am

ericgus wrote:yea it would be neat if the number dialed corresponded to the ip .. perhaps just use pre-recorded touch tone sounds for 0-9 as individual wave files and play them back .. would be great really to have all the "sounds" like busy, ring etc.. but one little awesome step at a time .. :D


There is really no concept of "busy" for TCP streams... it either connects or it does not :)

For example:

Connection refused does not necessarily indicate busy and an actual response for BBS in a busy state might be a message suggesting other nodes or BBSs to try followed by a disconnect. On the other hand, a connection refused could indicate busy but more likely indicates the BBS is no longer in service or is currently down.

I have implemented IP address based dialing sounds (used in the absence of "dial.wav") based on:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dual-tone ... _signaling

For the connect sound (used in absence of "connect.wav") I have just gone with random white noise.

Here is how the simulated sounds sound so far --> https://youtu.be/-GTbgdfko4g

zomgugoff wrote:If you want to get more authentic with your sounds, some people have made recording of various modems' sounds:

https://goughlui.com/legacy/soundofmodems/index.htm


Thanks for the link :)

At least those sounds don't seem to have any TOS as far as their use, so I could probably include WAVs based on those samples.

I don't have a modem anymore, but I do have a multi-function printer with a FAX. I could also record that :)
Last edited by BBond007 on Wed Feb 20, 2019 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

zomgugoff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:12 am

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby zomgugoff » Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:25 am

BBond007 wrote:
Thanks for the link :)

At least those sounds don't seem to have any TOS as far as their use, so I could probably include WAVs based on those samples.

I don't have a modem anymore, but I do have a multi-function printer with a FAX. I could also record that :)


If you wanted to get overly authentic, you could include different sounds for each speed and play the matching sound based on the baud setting.

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby BBond007 » Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:42 am

zomgugoff wrote:If you wanted to get overly authentic, you could include different sounds for each speed and play the matching sound based on the baud setting.


No, really don't want to go overboard and spend the rest of my life on this single feature :)

One thing, which is more useful, is that I have added support for different cores [SECTIONS] in the MidiLink.INI. This
for one example) allows the elimination of the "MIDI-38K" menu option.

Example:

[C64]
TCP_BAUD = 2400
[FXCAST]
TCP_BAUD = 19200
[AO486]
MIDI_BAUD = 38400

Right now the names of the WAV files are hard-coded but if I allowed them to be specified in the INI, the each core could have a distinctive modem sounds - or just use the default code generated sounds.
Last edited by BBond007 on Thu Feb 21, 2019 2:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5387
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Feb 20, 2019 1:21 pm

BBond007 wrote:[C64]
TCP_BAUD = 2400
[FXCAST]
TCP_BAUD = 19200
[AO486]
MIDI_BAUD = 38400

I think it's good way to avoid many options in OSD.
Just Midilink name now is confusing :)

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby ericgus » Wed Feb 20, 2019 4:05 pm

BBond007 wrote:There is really no concept of "busy" for TCP streams... it either connects or it does not :)

For example:

Connection refused does not necessarily indicate busy and an actual response for BBS in a busy state might be a message suggesting other nodes or BBSs to try followed by a disconnect. On the other hand, a connection refused could indicate busy but more likely indicates the BBS is no longer in service or is currently down.


True.. I was just going off the few times I was using CCGMS 2019 Ultimate to "call" a few boards and got the "busy" message..

Still its fantastic .. and I (and the rest of us) really appreciate your amazing work on this.

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby Paradroyd » Wed Feb 20, 2019 5:13 pm

ericgus wrote:
Still its fantastic .. and I (and the rest of us) really appreciate your amazing work on this.


I feel the same. This is all very useful and IMO, helps make MiSTer a lot more than just a great gaming platform. Thank you for your ongoing work on this!
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon

zomgugoff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:12 am

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby zomgugoff » Thu Feb 21, 2019 2:15 am

BBond007 wrote:Right now the names of the WAV files are hard-coded but if I allowed them to be specified in the INI, the each core could have a distinctive modem sounds - or just use the default code generated sounds.


Per-core would be nice. I think it would make the experience a little different for each core that uses it.

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby NML32 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:39 pm

I didn't realize while in C64 Q-Link you can join live IRC chat rooms.
- Join People Connection
- F7 to Select Change Rooms or enter Box Office
- Select Go to a public room
- Enter IRC c64friends
You should be in IRC Chat Room c64friends :cheers:

Update: It appears Quantum Link People Connection uses IRC server chat.freenode.net

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby ericgus » Mon Feb 25, 2019 6:33 am

The new modem sounds with the TCP are nice.. they really give the "feels" for the old days..

One thing I have noticed is when disconnecting from a BBS .. the UART doesnt seem to want to drop the connection, I have to go into F12 and "reset uart connection" .. Maybe it needs a bit of tweaking? IDK but otherwise its been really exceptional .. rock solid .. no issues..

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5387
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MidiLink 2.0 looking for testers. (no MIDI devices required)

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Feb 25, 2019 6:52 am

ericgus wrote:One thing I have noticed is when disconnecting from a BBS .. the UART doesnt seem to want to drop the connection, I have to go into F12 and "reset uart connection" .. Maybe it needs a bit of tweaking?

UART works as a bridge between FPGA and HPS. It's completely unaware what's going on with Linux connectivity. So, wathcing ethernet connection or WiFi connection is not the task of UART connection.
And from permanent connectivity there is no difference between temporary disconnection or permanent - they are all temporary. For example on my PC i see sometimes ethernet becomes unavailable for short time - probably something with communication problem on cable. So ethernet disappear and then appear again.

Anyway, with this connection emulation there is no such thing as "carrier lost".


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: the80scomputers and 10 guests