MISTer (Main Core)

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

BlockABoots
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby BlockABoots » Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:19 pm

Whats the, Direct Video Over HDMI new feature about?

fufenicon
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2019 3:23 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby fufenicon » Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:24 pm

BlockABoots wrote:Whats the, Direct Video Over HDMI new feature about?


I belive it's analog video without the need of an I/O board

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:51 pm


SegaMan
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby SegaMan » Wed Aug 21, 2019 12:02 pm

Got black screen from time to time with last core in Main Menu and ini settings (Skript).

User avatar
Xtro
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Xtro » Sat Aug 31, 2019 4:36 pm

I am using MiSTer mostly attached to a 15khz monitor through VGA to BNC. Before framebuffer update when you left menu still for some time screen dimmed to prevent burns of the monitor. Nowadays if I config fb_terminal=1 after 30 seconds OSD disappears and after that screen dims, perfect. The problem is with fb_terminal=1 attached on VGA output I cannot see what the updater script does, and if I config fb_terminal=0 I lose screensaver. Is it possible to dim OSD menu after 30 seconds like it was prior to frambuffer?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Aug 31, 2019 9:08 pm

You need to enable vga_scaler=1 for Menu core with some adequate custom resolution, so you will be able to see the frame buffer.

User avatar
Xtro
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Xtro » Sat Aug 31, 2019 11:08 pm

If I enable VGA scaler at let's say custom resolution of 640x240 @60hz as I use a 15khz monitor, all the cores would be scaled to this resolution? This is what I want to avoid, and why I use 15khz, to use native resolution of the core bypassing the scaler. Would not be easier to put an option on menu core to enable screen saver?

jemismyname
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:25 pm

OSD bug

Postby jemismyname » Sun Sep 01, 2019 4:28 am

i'm experiencing an odd bug with the OSD.

When I load up a core and press the OSD button, the first (center) menu of the core will be off.

The highlighted option won't be the option that is affected when i press a button. instead it will affect an option several rows up on the menu.

This only affects the center menu of the OSD, i've tried it and had the same issue with SNES, genesis, and NES cores.

I'm using a wired XBOX 360 controller (afterglow brand).

meow

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: OSD bug

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Sep 01, 2019 5:41 am

jemismyname wrote:i'm experiencing an odd bug with the OSD.

When I load up a core and press the OSD button, the first (center) menu of the core will be off.

The highlighted option won't be the option that is affected when i press a button. instead it will affect an option several rows up on the menu.

This only affects the center menu of the OSD, i've tried it and had the same issue with SNES, genesis, and NES cores.

I'm using a wired XBOX 360 controller (afterglow brand).

meow

Great discovery after several months use of outdated files.
Just update the MiSTer binary and it will be fixed.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Sep 01, 2019 5:43 am

Xtro wrote:If I enable VGA scaler at let's say custom resolution of 640x240 @60hz as I use a 15khz monitor, all the cores would be scaled to this resolution? This is what I want to avoid, and why I use 15khz, to use native resolution of the core bypassing the scaler. Would not be easier to put an option on menu core to enable screen saver?

You can enable it per-core. So just enable it for Menu core.

jemismyname
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:25 pm

Re: OSD bug

Postby jemismyname » Sun Sep 01, 2019 8:54 am

Sorgelig wrote:
jemismyname wrote:i'm experiencing an odd bug with the OSD.
When I load up a core and press the OSD button, the first (center) menu of the core will be off.
The highlighted option won't be the option that is affected when i press a button. instead it will affect an option several rows up on the menu.
This only affects the center menu of the OSD, i've tried it and had the same issue with SNES, genesis, and NES cores.
I'm using a wired XBOX 360 controller (afterglow brand).
meow

Great discovery after several months use of outdated files.
Just update the MiSTer binary and it will be fixed.


oh, i must have MiST that one when i was updating :P :D

I've been off-grid for a moment.

zomgugoff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:12 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby zomgugoff » Fri Sep 06, 2019 10:49 pm

I'm having issues with HDMI picture stability after today's (20190907) menu update. The image drops out randomly just sitting in the main menu and the is flickering along the top edge of the screen. Once another core is loaded, the video is stable. I have reverted to the 20190824 menu and the image is stable. Anyone else see this?

djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby djmartins » Sat Sep 07, 2019 2:35 am

zomgugoff wrote:I'm having issues with HDMI picture stability after today's (20190907) menu update. The image drops out randomly just sitting in the main menu and the is flickering along the top edge of the screen. Once another core is loaded, the video is stable. I have reverted to the 20190824 menu and the image is stable. Anyone else see this?


Just updated and seeing the same exact issue.

apolkosnik
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 3:20 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby apolkosnik » Sat Sep 07, 2019 3:36 am

Same here. I've opened a new issue on GitHub to track this. Additionally, the new memtest is buggy.

LarsDragon
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:08 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby LarsDragon » Sat Sep 07, 2019 7:40 am

I'm having issues with this release, NeoGeo logo animation and some sprites in fighting games have glitches. In previous compiled versions of github thats not happen, I have 32mgs. :shrug:

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Sep 07, 2019 9:01 am

LarsDragon wrote:I'm having issues with this release, NeoGeo logo animation and some sprites in fighting games have glitches. In previous compiled versions of github thats not happen, I have 32mgs. :shrug:

it's NeoGeo core related. Will be fixed.

jim150
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 5:20 am
Location: Catalonia

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby jim150 » Sun Sep 08, 2019 6:13 pm

djmartins wrote:
zomgugoff wrote:I'm having issues with HDMI picture stability after today's (20190907) menu update. The image drops out randomly just sitting in the main menu and the is flickering along the top edge of the screen. Once another core is loaded, the video is stable. I have reverted to the 20190824 menu and the image is stable. Anyone else see this?


Just updated and seeing the same exact issue.


Same issue here with v190908

ewok
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 4:15 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby ewok » Sat Sep 14, 2019 7:59 am

I experience lots of flickering over the whole menu screen as well. When I choose a core the flickering is over.

ewok
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 4:15 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby ewok » Sat Sep 14, 2019 10:30 am

Solved in the latest update! Thanks!

User avatar
Xtro
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Xtro » Sun Sep 22, 2019 5:15 pm

With the MiSTer update of today I have rolling screen on RGB 15khz (not sync) in menu core. I am using a Sony PVM that had no problems in the past. It doesn't display the backdrop image as set for the scaler via RGB.

EDIT: Found out that I needed to put mister.ini file in the root of SD Card, I used to have it in config folder, this kind of change can cause trouble.

guvner
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 12:32 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby guvner » Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:17 pm

yes I just noticed this, too. Mister.ini in config folder gets ignored and has to be moved to root. Was this intentional and stays this way?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:25 pm

MiSTer.ini location has been moved to the root like 2 years ago may be... It was used from there for legacy purpose.
config folder is only for files automatically created and managed internally and not requiring manual editing.

guvner
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 12:32 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby guvner » Sun Sep 22, 2019 11:31 pm

good to know :D

User avatar
nathanhardie
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 4:39 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby nathanhardie » Mon Sep 23, 2019 1:08 am

Can somebody explain what "put core into reset state before loading the other core." means in the new update?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5354
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:31 am

nathanhardie wrote:Can somebody explain what "put core into reset state before loading the other core." means in the new update?

Less chance for DDR3 bridge to hang.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: riker77 and 5 guests