MISTer (Main Core)

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

zomgugoff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:12 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby zomgugoff » Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:56 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
zomgugoff wrote:Is it just me, or did the OSD key combos stop working? They work in PSC mode, but none of the other buttons work. It's weird through, I can bind all of the buttons in PSC mode, but once out of the binding window, they don't do anything aside from the OSD combos.

and cannot navigate in OSD?


I deleted my configs and started over to confirm it wasn't something stemming from mapping multiple controllers to the same dongle. The PSC mode started working, but there is still an issue.

I think the USB receiver modes are causing some confusion. According to the manual, the receivers default to Switch mode. I'm assuming this means every time it power on because there is no select+key combo to change to switch mode. In Switch mode on the 20190304 build, the PSC key combos for OSD were recognized in Switch mode. What I'm seeing now is those key combos are not recognized in Switch mode.

In PSC mode, the key combos are recognized, but the controllers with a Switch Home button can't map the button, it's just not recognized.

The 20190304 version seemed to have the button combos + Switch Home button working in Switch mode.

I am testing with a SN30, M30, and N30. I know things are complicated further by the controllers having their own modes, but I'm doing all of this testing with Switch mode as it's default on the controllers and the receivers. (The N30 doesn't have alternate modes, I asked 8bitdo about it and they told me 'Switch only.')

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:16 pm

Receiver mode is remembered. Once you switch for example to XInput mode it will remain in this mode even after power cycle. So you just need to switch to desired mode only once.

In PSC mode home button on my SF30Pro generates analog axis event with very awkward way. the max value is 255 but event has value 1. So there is no way to register such button with standard processing. Need to add quirk for this mode which i don't want to.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:23 pm

Correction: it's not in PSC mode. it's in DInpit mode.

zomgugoff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:12 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby zomgugoff » Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:52 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Receiver mode is remembered. Once you switch for example to XInput mode it will remain in this mode even after power cycle. So you just need to switch to desired mode only once.

In PSC mode home button on my SF30Pro generates analog axis event with very awkward way. the max value is 255 but event has value 1. So there is no way to register such button with standard processing. Need to add quirk for this mode which i don't want to.


Sorgelig wrote:Correction: it's not in PSC mode. it's in DInpit mode.


Huh. Maybe the 'Automatic' description in the manual means it will run in Switch mode if plugged into a Switch? I dunno...

Could you add the PSC key combos for OSD back to D-input mode like in the 20190304 build?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:49 pm

zomgugoff wrote:Could you add the PSC key combos for OSD back to D-input mode like in the 20190304 build?

PSC combos to D-Input? What is that?
PSC mode key combos are there and working. D-Input never had key combos.

zomgugoff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:12 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby zomgugoff » Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:06 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
zomgugoff wrote:Could you add the PSC key combos for OSD back to D-input mode like in the 20190304 build?

PSC combos to D-Input? What is that?
PSC mode key combos are there and working. D-Input never had key combos.


Ah, ok. I figured out how I got this to work.

I did key bindings for the main menu in D-Input mode, including the Home button. Then I changed to PSC mode and rebound everything, skipping over the OSD button.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:22 pm

zomgugoff wrote:I did key bindings for the main menu in D-Input mode, including the Home button. Then I changed to PSC mode and rebound everything, skipping over the OSD button.

D-Input mode in your steps is redundant.

zomgugoff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:12 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby zomgugoff » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:21 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
zomgugoff wrote:I did key bindings for the main menu in D-Input mode, including the Home button. Then I changed to PSC mode and rebound everything, skipping over the OSD button.

D-Input mode in your steps is redundant.


Yes, all that needed to be set was the Home button to OSD. I was explaining the order and modes things happened in.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:43 pm

It seems FW for Gray brick has different PID in D-Input mode than Brown brick.
One is Gray is 2dc8:3104 while Brown is 2dc8:3100.
This can be important info if you have 2 8bitdo receivers with different gamepads and want MiSTer distinguish between them.
P.S.: at least FW v1.22 are interchangeable between gray and brown sticks.

zomgugoff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:12 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby zomgugoff » Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:07 am

Sorgelig wrote:It seems FW for Gray brick has different PID in D-Input mode than Brown brick.
One is Gray is 2dc8:3104 while Brown is 2dc8:3100.
This can be important info if you have 2 8bitdo receivers with different gamepads and want MiSTer distinguish between them.
P.S.: at least FW v1.22 are interchangeable between gray and brown sticks.


Also helpful if you want to duplicate bindings from one receiver to the other. Just copy the existing map file and change the PID in the filename.

PsyFX
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:51 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby PsyFX » Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:19 pm

Seems that 8bitdo PSC Reciever "OSD" shortcut broken with the latest build?
SNES30/SFC30 (L+R+Start / Down+Select)
M30 (Home Key)

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Mar 25, 2019 7:31 pm

PsyFX wrote:Seems that 8bitdo PSC Reciever "OSD" shortcut broken with the latest build?
SNES30/SFC30 (L+R+Start / Down+Select)
M30 (Home Key)

It works for me. Make sure the receiver in PSC mode.

PsyFX
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:51 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby PsyFX » Mon Mar 25, 2019 8:53 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
PsyFX wrote:Seems that 8bitdo PSC Reciever "OSD" shortcut broken with the latest build?
SNES30/SFC30 (L+R+Start / Down+Select)
M30 (Home Key)

It works for me. Make sure the receiver in PSC mode.


Ok... I got it working again. I was testing that NES30 Pro earlier and I had thought input modes were controller side...
My blue tooth adapters came with only the most basic of documentation.

On a side note i got the analogs (NES30 Pro) working earlier today via direct the X-input mode as you suggested. Tested with some Vectrex games and Pole Position was mostly playable now, while Hyperchase was too sensitive at least it was insta crash as with a digital pad :lol:

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Mar 26, 2019 4:12 am

PsyFX wrote:while Hyperchase was too sensitive at least it was insta crash as with a digital pad :lol:

may be it's worth to try joystick test application in some core to make sure analog works correctly. For example there is a joystick test app for DOS (ao486)

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Newsdee » Tue Mar 26, 2019 6:59 am

Sorgelig wrote:For example there is a joystick test app for DOS (ao486)

I use console test carts, like this one for Super Nintendo:
https://tcrf.net/SNES_Test_Program

They cover 8 buttons which should be enough for any supported core.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Mar 26, 2019 7:08 am

Newsdee wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:For example there is a joystick test app for DOS (ao486)

I use console test carts, like this one for Super Nintendo:
https://tcrf.net/SNES_Test_Program

They cover 8 buttons which should be enough for any supported core.

I was talking about analog stick test. SNES has no analog sticks.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Newsdee » Tue Mar 26, 2019 4:28 pm

Ah. Let's do it old school then, boot the Apple II core then type this at prompt:

Code: Select all

10 PRINT PDL(0),PDL(1):GOTO 10

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby JamesF » Sun Apr 21, 2019 1:29 pm

With 21.04.2019 main mister , I cannot skip key defining with "space" in any core.
This is one of the more important functions that should never be broken.


What is "You may define 2 sets of buttons on the same gamepad" ?
What sets?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Apr 21, 2019 6:01 pm

Yeah, i've also just notices that skip doesn't work. Will release update soon.

JamesF wrote:What is "You may define 2 sets of buttons on the same gamepad" ?
What sets?

It means you can define 2 alternative sets. I don't understand the question.

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby JamesF » Sun Apr 21, 2019 6:32 pm

Thanks Sorge.

I don't understand what "Sets" are.
Can you please give an example?

hyperterminal
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby hyperterminal » Sun Apr 21, 2019 6:37 pm

I think it means you can have two different button mappings for the same controller and switch between them. It might be useful for some games where you want to have a specific button mapping that isn't useful as a general setting because it doesn't work with other games.

I'd like to see a feature where you can bind a combination of buttons to another button (e.g. bind button A+B to C, so that when you press C it registers as pressing A+B simultaneously). MiST already has such a feature. Also it would be useful if you could map parts of controller 2 to controller 1 (e.g. C on controller 1 registers as up on controller 2).

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby JamesF » Sun Apr 21, 2019 7:06 pm

Okay, I think I understand.
You can to define the buttons TWICE without the first time being overwritten, so both settings will be saved and function together.

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby JamesF » Sun Apr 21, 2019 7:27 pm

22.04.2019
I think Alt/Mouse stick stopped working after the hotfix.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Apr 21, 2019 10:33 pm

JamesF wrote:22.04.2019
I think Alt/Mouse stick stopped working after the hotfix.

Behaviour has been changed. If you want to use both DPAD and Stick as directional control, then you have to define DPAD in first set, and then define Stick in second set.

First time you define the buttons, you define the first set.
Second time you define the buttons you define the second set.
Third time -> set 1
Fourth time -> set 2
and so on..

There is no switch between sets - both work at the same time.

hyperterminal wrote:I'd like to see a feature where you can bind a combination of buttons to another button (e.g. bind button A+B to C, so that when you press C it registers as pressing A+B simultaneously). MiST already has such a feature. Also it would be useful if you could map parts of controller 2 to controller 1 (e.g. C on controller 1 registers as up on controller 2).

Input processing is already very complicated. There is no plans to make it more complex without a good reason. It will only give more wrong behaviours. I target for generic use, not for some specific game. Comparing to MiST is in-vain - i can only answer "Use the MiST then." It seems everything else in MiST is ok for you. MiST hasn't many other functions available in MiSTer. You can't easily take almost random USB gamepad and define the buttons. So when you compare it, then compare fully. When i was using MiST i couldn't even think about using the joystick as i didn't want to mess with hex codes in ini file.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: MISTer (Main Core)

Postby PhantombrainM » Mon Apr 22, 2019 9:56 am

Bug report for input mapping / directions not working:

I am referring to SMS Core (maybe other are broken, but haven't tried yet).

Left, Up and Down is not working anymore. (Dpad, XBOX 360 controller). Right direction works.
OSD reset or deleting configs did not help.

So i tried the following:

MiSTer_20190408 -> OK
MiSTer_20190421 -> Not working
MiSTer_20190422 -> Not working

After configuring in 20190408 it's also working in 20190422! But reconfiguring in 20190422 will break it again, so you have to go back to 20190408.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests