SNES core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

cbo2188
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:35 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby cbo2188 » Mon May 27, 2019 12:16 am

Hi. When I use my earbuds on the IO Board (version 5.5), I notice there is a static sound. Noticeable when game is paused or low music of course. I tried different earbuds. Is there a setting I have to change? My computer monitor doesn't have speakers so I hook it up with an hdmi to DVI adapter.
Thanks!

damopinn
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 3:24 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby damopinn » Mon May 27, 2019 12:27 pm

I can't use VGA with SNES core.
I have tried sms, genesis and nes and they all work fine with and without the scan doubler.
If I load snes core my monitor goes black and locks up, none of the buttons work.
Any ideas?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4926
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon May 27, 2019 4:53 pm

The best idea is to directly post on topic without reading...

damopinn
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 3:24 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby damopinn » Mon May 27, 2019 6:28 pm

I read the forum, but I'm still really confused, I updated mister.ini and put a boot.rom game. I checked my monitor manual and it's very out of spec. I think this is why it does nothing at all and not even my monitors buttons work. I activated vga_scaler and now i get a picture. So I can play when the girlfriend wants to watch TV. Thanks for all your great work on the project :D

Xkenx
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:08 am

Re: SNES core

Postby Xkenx » Tue May 28, 2019 3:22 pm

Hi,

I have problem with my joystick using the SNES core.
The joystick do not register movment & buttons correct(up, down etc)
Using Dragonrise USB encoders.
All other cores I have tested seems to work correctly.

PS3 controller works without any problems.

Let me know if more info are needed for trouble shooting.

Thanks

Xkenx
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:08 am

Re: SNES core

Postby Xkenx » Tue May 28, 2019 4:13 pm

Hi

Reverted back to...

MiSTer SD card installer (Windows 64bit)
release_20190510.rar

MiSTer_20190515
SNES_20190517.rbf

Then the Dragonrise USB encoders work as they should.

It seems that the problem is Linux or MiSTer main core

damopinn
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 3:24 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby damopinn » Tue May 28, 2019 6:24 pm

damopinn wrote:I read the forum, but I'm still really confused, I updated mister.ini and put a boot.rom game. I checked my monitor manual and it's very out of spec. I think this is why it does nothing at all and not even my monitors buttons work. I activated vga_scaler and now i get a picture. So I can play when the girlfriend wants to watch TV. Thanks for all your great work on the project :D


I took my Mister to work, and on the monitors there it works fine with and without vgascaler, so the problem is definitely my monitor. it's strange the timings are really close to each other but only snes doesn't work, the monitor should display Horizontal sync 31 - 80kHz
Vertical sync 56 - 75Hz. But the other cores it displays down to 15khz horizontal. I suppose I should learn to check my equipment first :? :?

Grego2d
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby Grego2d » Thu May 30, 2019 4:53 am

Released a preview of my SNES network adapter, the UltraNet, check it out.

http://www.romhacking.net/forum/index.php?topic=28578.0

Glaurung
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: SNES core

Postby Glaurung » Thu May 30, 2019 8:00 pm

Saves/Load doesnt work in Zelda link to the past ?¿?¿
I save the game, but when I reset the core, everything is deleted..doing something wrong?

Dirtbag
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 9:26 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby Dirtbag » Thu May 30, 2019 8:31 pm

Glaurung wrote:Saves/Load doesnt work in Zelda link to the past ?¿?¿
I save the game, but when I reset the core, everything is deleted..doing something wrong?


After saving in game. Go in to the OSD menu F12 and select Save RAM

When you load the game you need to go in the OSD again and Load RAM.

You might want to turn on auto save that will auto load the SRAM on load and save when your enter the OSD menu

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: SNES core

Postby kitrinx » Fri May 31, 2019 1:16 pm

Dirtbag wrote:
Glaurung wrote:Saves/Load doesnt work in Zelda link to the past ?¿?¿
I save the game, but when I reset the core, everything is deleted..doing something wrong?


After saving in game. Go in to the OSD menu F12 and select Save RAM

When you load the game you need to go in the OSD again and Load RAM.

You might want to turn on auto save that will auto load the SRAM on load and save when your enter the OSD menu


You don't need to load the ram under any circumstance, it's automatic when you start a rom for all cores now.

Glaurung
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: SNES core

Postby Glaurung » Fri May 31, 2019 5:53 pm

Ok it's working

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: SNES core

Postby PhantombrainM » Tue Jun 04, 2019 9:01 pm

Addams Family Values (E) -> Controls are not working U/D/L/R //X360 Controller
Addams Family Values (U) -> Controls are not working continously (permanently interrupted, timing issue?) //X360 Controller
Brainies, The (E) [!] -> Black Screen
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4926
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Jun 05, 2019 3:34 pm

PhantombrainM wrote:Addams Family Values (E) -> Controls are not working U/D/L/R //X360 Controller

works fine

PhantombrainM wrote:Addams Family Values (U) -> Controls are not working continously (permanently interrupted, timing issue?) //X360 Controller

works fine

PhantombrainM wrote:Brainies, The (E) [!] -> Black Screen

works fine

About controllers: they are handled in Linux. The core cannot distinguish the controllers, so games too.
So either you have problems with all cores on specific controller, or all work fine.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: SNES core

Postby PhantombrainM » Wed Jun 05, 2019 5:14 pm

Sorgelig wrote:works fine

About controllers: they are handled in Linux. The core cannot distinguish the controllers, so games too.
So either you have problems with all cores on specific controller, or all work fine.


I don't have any problems with my 360 controllers in any core just in this mentioned game and EU and US Version behave different.
Right moves the character left and up moves it "flickering" down. (See my Video).

And in Brainies I still have a black screen it's not working at all. Both trainer versions hang up after pressing start in the trainer menu and the yellow LED on MISTer is lightning up until I open the GUI. So for me there must be a bug? Strange, that its running fine for you?
Linux/OS newest public.

https://youtu.be/ddjT5DSJpxY

regards,
PhantombrainM

P.S.: Official Nintendo Controller Test passes without problems. So my controller is working correctly.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: SNES core

Postby JamesF » Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:07 pm

Try to assign the alternative button configuration exactly as the first in the core.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4926
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:19 pm

PhantombrainM wrote:And in Brainies I still have a black screen it's not working at all. Both trainer versions hang up after pressing start in the trainer menu and the yellow LED on MISTer is lightning up until I open the GUI.

Is it OK you tell about original versions, and then when i told they are fine, you start to talk about trainer versions?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4926
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Jun 05, 2019 6:32 pm

[U][t1] and [E][t1] are working.
[U] version has cheat codes, so [t*] versions are basically useless.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: SNES core

Postby PhantombrainM » Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:56 pm

I found the solution.

But first: JamesF: Alternate buttons didn't help. But thank you anyway! :cheers:

Sorgelig: Thank you too. And to answer your rhetorical question: I only have EU Roms left, because I live in EU. I deleted all US/JP clones but the trainer ones (it was before cheat engine was in there). That's why I said I'm sorry in the video but I think it's not about the rom but a different problem.

The solution:

I deleted:
- SNES_scaler.cfg
- SNES.CFG
- SNES_input_045e_02a1_v2.map
- SNES_input_045e_02a1.map

And now the controls are working after reconfiguring in that particular game and even The Brainies black screen is gone (interesting) ?? :? 8O

regards,
PhantombrainM
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: SNES core

Postby breiztiger » Tue Jun 25, 2019 12:20 pm

hi

Ms. Pac-Man (USA) (Beta) (1996-06-18).sfc

this rom have sprite error on mister but not on snes9x for exemple

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: SNES core

Postby vanfanel » Tue Jun 25, 2019 12:23 pm

breiztiger wrote:hi

Ms. Pac-Man (USA) (Beta) (1996-06-18).sfc

this rom have sprite error on mister but not on snes9x for exemple


IMHO you should test against real hardware or Higan/BSNES, NOT against Snes9x.

breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: SNES core

Postby breiztiger » Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:52 pm

same in bsnes_v107

sprite of ms pacman are ok

breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: SNES core

Postby breiztiger » Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:56 am

hi my last report is correted on last build

http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=81130

i have test this but doesn't work … there is a tip to run ?

dentnz
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:06 am

Re: SNES core

Postby dentnz » Thu Jul 04, 2019 6:28 am

Hi srg320,

I have started to look at implementing MSU-1 support to your SNES core:

http://helmet.kafuka.org/msu1.htm

So far I have setup some code in verilator (SystemVerilog), and begun adding functionality to handle the MSU_ID, MSU_STATUS and MSU_TRACK registers for both read and write. I have also started to add the code into a fork or your repository (I will make this public soon). I thought I would reach out to you now to ask a few questions before I proceed much further:

1) Are you planning or are currently working on MSU-1 support? If so, I can help, or leave you to it! :) Up to you!
2) If I was to add in support, I notice you have a src/chip folder containing the additional special chip implementations, along with a mapper pattern to select these chips onto the bus... I have created another chip folder (src/chip/MSU) and started to add a MSU map. Would this be your preferred method for adding in MSU functionality? Even considering it is not a real special chip?
3) Are you okay with me adding further SV to your project? Given that the majority of your code is VHDL?

Cheers,
dentnz

SaschaFFM
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 8:24 am

Re: SNES core

Postby SaschaFFM » Thu Jul 04, 2019 9:18 am

I wanted to check out on the Cheat-Feature of MiSTer. It appears that the site https://gamehacking.org which is linked in the MiSTer-Github as a resource has been without any content (blank page) for a couple of weeks now.

Does anybody have a link to a collection of Cheats especially for SNES and Genesis? That would be great!


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests