SNES core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

olin
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby olin » Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:35 pm

Edit: removed
Last edited by olin on Mon Dec 10, 2018 6:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Indcsion
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:48 am

Re: SNES core

Postby Indcsion » Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:36 pm

I tried removing the header on Sydney hunter and still luck getting past a black screen. It says its a lorom

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:38 pm

This is discussion about SNES core, not about "how to convert the ROM into proper form".
Core accepts only clear ROMs without any additional headers or any kind of encryption.

Where to download and how to strip the ROMs is actually illegal on this forum. So discuss about it somewhere else!

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2748
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: SNES core

Postby alexh » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:40 am

My MiSTer is broken at the moment so I've been unable to test this core. I was wondering if anyone has tried "Aero The Acrobat"? The SPC code for this game (and several other less well known titles programmed by the same musician) was very *unusual* and it took a long time to be emulated correctly.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:50 am

alexh wrote:My MiSTer is broken at the moment so I've been unable to test this core. I was wondering if anyone has tried "Aero The Acrobat"? The SPC code for this game (and several other less well known titles programmed by the same musician) was very *unusual* and it took a long time to be emulated correctly.

I don't hear anything odd with the music in title and demo.
But i never played this game before.

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: SNES core

Postby vanfanel » Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:55 am

I have tested Aero The Acrobat 1 and 2, and the work perfectly fine, and sound great.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Dec 12, 2018 8:01 pm

albconde wrote:seiken densetsu 3 (j) : some flickers in the image in first fight ( resolution changes?) ( works in 20181201)

yes, it's dual resolution game.
If you don't want screen flick upon resolution change, then set Scandoubler FX to none (and force_scandoubler=0 in MiSTer.ini)

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:17 pm

First post has been updated to reflect the currently supported accelerators.

TheBox
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:37 am

Re: SNES core

Postby TheBox » Thu Dec 13, 2018 4:23 pm

Great update, thank you.

cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby cacophony » Thu Dec 13, 2018 6:09 pm

That's an incredible update for the SNES core! Many thanks to srg320 and Sorgelig for adding the special chip support :cheers:

Mmm
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:22 am

Re: SNES core

Postby Mmm » Thu Dec 13, 2018 6:50 pm

Hi,
I don’t know If I should refer here a problem with a game...
But if it is, arcade’s greatest hits the Atari collection (pal and ntsc) have a problem with battlezone with some vertical green bars on screen.
089EB0F7-EF96-4680-ACFC-F5ACFF124983.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

slowmo310
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby slowmo310 » Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:28 pm

In the game Metal Combat: Falcon's Revenge (U)!, the enemy character is not displayed. I know this game's control device is not supported, but in the future it might be.

slowmo310
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby slowmo310 » Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:42 am

In Mega Man X2 (usa) when at the enemy select screen, the level portrait is solid white. Also, when fighting optional boss battle against Serge, he flips in air and disappears. In original he is visible so you can attack him.

slowmo310
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby slowmo310 » Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:40 am

In The Simpson's Bart's Nightmare (USA) whenever you walk, the screen flashes pink. Original does not do this.

slowmo310
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby slowmo310 » Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:53 am

In Mega Man X (USA) first level enemy "bumblebee" doesn't display preventing progress/completion of level.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:36 am

slowmo310 wrote:In the game Metal Combat: Falcon's Revenge (U)!, the enemy character is not displayed. I know this game's control device is not supported, but in the future it might be.

Bug reports about games with other accelerators ARE NOT ACCEPTED.

jft
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 12:07 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby jft » Fri Dec 14, 2018 10:02 am

slowmo310 wrote:In the game Metal Combat: Falcon's Revenge (U)!, the enemy character is not displayed. I know this game's control device is not supported, but in the future it might be.


To add to Sorgelig's comment, this game does have an enhancement chip that is not supported by the core yet. (Unless that's what you mean by control device, as I was assuming you mean super scope).

It is apparently the only game to use the OBC-1 chip, and it is used for sprite manipulation (so makes sense about what you are seeing).
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_S ... hips#OBC-1

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:11 pm

Besides the chip, it also uses light gun controller.

BlockABoots
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: SNES core

Postby BlockABoots » Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:26 pm

Noticed that the plane ground shadows on A.S.P - Air Strike Patrol are not rendered correctly, this is a know issue on 95% of all snes emulators and only BSNES Accurate and Hagen render them correctly

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: SNES core

Postby PhantombrainM » Fri Dec 14, 2018 8:29 pm

Im not sure if its a bug or not:
Mario Kart (E), PAL is stuttering like its 60hz on 50hz TV (HDMI). (See hills in the background in title screen or the mushrooms/Flowers when selecting the track)

Is it by design of the game or is it a DSP-1 affected bug? I'm not sure.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: SNES core

Postby PhantombrainM » Sat Dec 15, 2018 1:08 am

Rock'n'Roll Racing (E) (!) -> Character Select Screen, Charakter has green blocks + screen garbled with green blocks

US Version (t1) same problem. I deleted original (U) Version so I can't test but assume same problems.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Mmm
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:22 am

Re: SNES core

Postby Mmm » Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:38 pm

Some more problems:
Cacoma Knight in Bizyland -after a few rounds, music stops
Captain america and the avengers (USA and EU) (see photo)
Clay fighter 2 (USA and EU) freezes (black screen) when the combat starts
Combatribes - doesn't run, black screen.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Mmm
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:22 am

Re: SNES core

Postby Mmm » Sat Dec 15, 2018 8:32 pm

Equinox (E,US) always freezes when you eat an apple
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Dec 16, 2018 8:22 am

By the way SNES doesn't require boot.rom anymore. You can get the video on VGA without boot.rom

albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: SNES core

Postby albconde » Sun Dec 16, 2018 2:57 pm

the issues with captain america ,Clayfigthers 2,rock n roll Racing and equinox are introduced in commit "16bit for ROM access. " (3ae8225)


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jay960 and 6 guests