Newbie questions

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

hyperterminal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Postby hyperterminal » Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:35 pm

jca wrote:I intend to test the USB rapid polling. The u-boot.txt example contains v=loglevel=4. What is the effect of this parameter?

Here is an explanation: https://github.com/eniva/MisSTer_Guides ... lling-Rate

jca
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Postby jca » Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:27 pm

hyperterminal wrote:
jca wrote:I intend to test the USB rapid polling. The u-boot.txt example contains v=loglevel=4. What is the effect of this parameter?

Here is an explanation: https://github.com/eniva/MisSTer_Guides ... lling-Rate

Thanks very much.

PikWik
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 3:35 pm

Volume Control not working from OSD, greyed out

Postby PikWik » Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:10 pm

hey there,
thank you all for your help with putting together a mister project, this community has been very helpful in getting everything setup so far.

i was having an issue where, even with the mister.ini setting of volumectl=1 i cannot adjust the volume control of any core/menu in mister.
is there a special key command or combination of keys i need to press on my USB controller?
i do have have a keyboard hooked up with volume controls on it, mute/volume up/volume down, but i cannot adjust the volume of the core/menu by pressing those keys either :shrug: it is just greyed out, even after loading a core/game.
do i need to enable a keyboard command in the main keyboard mapper on the mister menu?

(using latest version of mister, and all cores, as of 1/29/20)

thank you in advance for your help!

PikWik
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 3:35 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Postby PikWik » Thu Jan 30, 2020 12:52 am

ran the update.sh script again, and it fixed the volume control issue.
i can adjust the volume in the mister menu now, :D

drenco
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 4:01 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby drenco » Thu Jan 30, 2020 4:10 pm

So i see on github that the size of the chip is approximately 21.5mm x 21.5mm. Ideal dimensions of a heatsink is 22mm x 22mm, and it will cover all the FPGA but i can only find Aluminium ones in that size so what about using instead a 20mm x 20mm x 11mm pure copper one or 25mm x 25mm x 7mm pure copper surely they would do a better job of dissipating the heat ?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6056
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Jan 30, 2020 10:19 pm

20x20 should be fine. 25x25 not sure - need to see surrounding components if there is neighbour higher than chip component.

warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby warham » Fri Jan 31, 2020 7:35 am

Sorgelig wrote:20x20 should be fine. 25x25 not sure - need to see surrounding components if there is neighbour higher than chip component.


im using 25x25 Successfully.

Brendle
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 2:21 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Brendle » Fri Jan 31, 2020 5:40 pm

Hi, I was wondering if anyone would help?

I bought a DE10-Nano and cannot get an image on the screen, it's blank. I followed the Github guide so the SD card with files is inserted. I'm using HDMI and have a keyboard plugged in. The small SW10 switches are in the correct position like they were shown in an earlier post. Several lights come on and stay on so it seems to be powered, the 3.3V LED is on but the 5V isn't, maybe that is the issue?

I ordered it from a UK site but it came with a US PSU, I've had problems finding a compatible power supply here. I eventually found this one -
https://tinyurl.com/rj837mo

I've set it to the same polarity which is shown in the US PSU and set the voltage to 5V. It says it's good for up to 600mA regulated. I get a blank screen, no boot screen or anything. Any help would be great, thank you for your time!

Nat
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:19 pm
Location: U.K
Contact:

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Nat » Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:44 pm

Brendle wrote:I've set it to the same polarity which is shown in the US PSU and set the voltage to 5V. It says it's good for up to 600mA regulated. I get a blank screen, no boot screen or anything. Any help would be great, thank you for your time!


The power supply you link is 600mA, it's probably not enough to power the DE10 the standard supply is 2A or 2000mA, If your in the UK I sell high quality power supplies for the DE10-Nano.

DE10-Nano 5 Volt 4 Amp Power Supply
MiSTerFPGA Add-On Boards: UK based, low cost worldwide shipping.
https://MiSTerFPGA.co.uk/

Brendle
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 2:21 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Brendle » Fri Jan 31, 2020 9:03 pm

Nat wrote:
Brendle wrote:I've set it to the same polarity which is shown in the US PSU and set the voltage to 5V. It says it's good for up to 600mA regulated. I get a blank screen, no boot screen or anything. Any help would be great, thank you for your time!


The power supply you link is 600mA, it's probably not enough to power the DE10 the standard supply is 2A or 2000mA, If your in the UK I sell high quality power supplies for the DE10-Nano.

DE10-Nano 5 Volt 4 Amp Power Supply


Thank you Nat. Damn do you think I have damaged the DE10 using the wrong one? Yes I am in the UK, how much is postage on that power supply?

MrMiSTer
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:10 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby MrMiSTer » Fri Jan 31, 2020 9:20 pm

Try a diferent sd card i had a fake one and wouldnt boot, tried another one and it booted up fine

Brendle
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 2:21 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Brendle » Fri Jan 31, 2020 9:38 pm

MrMiSTer wrote:Try a diferent sd card i had a fake one and wouldnt boot, tried another one and it booted up fine


I tried two with no luck, I might have a third somewhere around though, I'll try to find it. Am I supposed to see a startup screen, even if the SD card isn't working?

Nat
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:19 pm
Location: U.K
Contact:

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Nat » Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:06 pm

Brendle wrote:I tried two with no luck, I might have a third somewhere around though, I'll try to find it. Am I supposed to see a startup screen, even if the SD card isn't working?


I don't think its related to your SD card if you have tried two, nothing will happen if the SD card is not working. However its power related in my opinion.
MiSTerFPGA Add-On Boards: UK based, low cost worldwide shipping.
https://MiSTerFPGA.co.uk/

Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Chris23235 » Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:41 pm

I agree, I think 600 mA is not enough to power the DE10. If you have a SD Ram board attached, try to remove it and see if the DE10 starts without it, remove anything you connected to the USB port.

drenco
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2020 4:01 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby drenco » Fri Jan 31, 2020 11:25 pm

warham wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:20x20 should be fine. 25x25 not sure - need to see surrounding components if there is neighbour higher than chip component.


im using 25x25 Successfully.

whats the height of that heatsink ?

Nat
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:19 pm
Location: U.K
Contact:

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Nat » Fri Jan 31, 2020 11:51 pm

drenco wrote:whats the height of that heatsink ?


11mm is about the maximum you can get away with if you intend to fit an IO board.
MiSTerFPGA Add-On Boards: UK based, low cost worldwide shipping.
https://MiSTerFPGA.co.uk/

breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Newbie questions

Postby breiztiger » Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:10 am

hi

is there a way to apply a filter for all core with a ini line ?

like

[a.*]
scaler_filter=bilinear.txt
gamma_correction=ploy 2.5.txt

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6056
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Feb 01, 2020 7:21 pm

breiztiger wrote:hi

is there a way to apply a filter for all core with a ini line ?

like

[a.*]
scaler_filter=bilinear.txt
gamma_correction=ploy 2.5.txt

it's not controlled by ini

breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Newbie questions

Postby breiztiger » Sat Feb 01, 2020 9:41 pm

And can’t be include in framework ?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6056
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:17 pm

Same feature cannot be controlled from OSD and INI.
Also it's kind of "i'm lazy to set the option for every core".
Imagine: every core has been developed by some people.. It's definitely more than couple buttons clicks ;)

Brendle
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 2:21 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Brendle » Sun Feb 02, 2020 9:56 pm

Hi everyone, hope you're all good! I'd like to use MiSTer for DE10 on my CRT TV via RGB Scart. When I get an I/O Board, will this cable work? They say it's ONLY for Minimig, but perhaps not? If it doesn't work, could you recommend one that does? Thank you for your time.

https://amigakit.amiga.store/product_in ... cts_id=919

warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby warham » Mon Feb 03, 2020 9:49 am

drenco wrote:
warham wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:20x20 should be fine. 25x25 not sure - need to see surrounding components if there is neighbour higher than chip component.


im using 25x25 Successfully.

whats the height of that heatsink ?


10mm

oldgit
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 11:05 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby oldgit » Mon Feb 03, 2020 4:10 pm

On the ADC Header which signals are connected to the small daughter board inputs.
pin
1 vcc5 - unconnected?
2 IN0
......
9 IN7
10 common
Old enough to remember B&W TV with 2 channels: Young enough to embrace new technology: Stupid enough to try and get it to work.

Peredonov
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 8:06 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Peredonov » Sat Feb 15, 2020 7:20 pm

Is there a way to make permanent keyboard key to joystick button remappings for games/cores that will not reset when changing the core or resetting MiSTer? This could be very useful for example with MSX games where many game commands are assigned to keyboard function keys.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6056
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:34 pm

oldgit wrote:On the ADC Header which signals are connected to the small daughter board inputs.
pin
1 vcc5 - unconnected?
2 IN0
......
9 IN7
10 common

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Hardwar ... in_1.1.pdf


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: apolkosnik, FPGAzumSpass and 6 guests