MiSTer NES Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3172
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Nov 09, 2018 11:24 am

I'm trying to load FDS game Super Mario Bros. Loaded BIOS rev1 then FDS. BIOS trying to read the DISK and give me ERR.01.
Is there any trick i'm missing?

GreyRogue
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:50 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby GreyRogue » Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:19 pm

Sorgelig wrote:I'm trying to load FDS game Super Mario Bros. Loaded BIOS rev1 then FDS. BIOS trying to read the DISK and give me ERR.01.
Is there any trick i'm missing?

It requires Loopy's PowerPak hacked FDS BIOS. I included a disksys.xdelta patch in the release directory that should work on the original BIOS to create the PowerPak version (CRC32 before patch=5E607DCF, after patch=68D2D988).

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3172
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:52 pm

Before patch the CRC is correct.
after patch CRC=93B3BD15
and patched BIOS doesn't want to load anything and doesn't report any error. So, it pretends there is no disk loaded.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3172
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:05 pm

FDS BIOS patch is now integrated. Now you have to load original BIOS.

kikusui
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby kikusui » Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:47 pm

I've spent the afternoon playing with the NES core with the added FirebrandX colour palettes and FDS games. Very impressive stuff, especially when added in the VCR6 sound for the Japanese Castlevania 3. I'm seriously considering cashing in on my NT Mini :)

@GreyRogue - while trying various things out I've come across two games that I can't make work, namely Lagrange Point & Tiny Toon Adventures 2 (both Japanese). Both of these games make use of Konami's VCR7 sound expansion. Is this implemented in the Nes core?

GreyRogue
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:50 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby GreyRogue » Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:49 am

kikusui wrote:I've spent the afternoon playing with the NES core with the added FirebrandX colour palettes and FDS games. Very impressive stuff, especially when added in the VCR6 sound for the Japanese Castlevania 3. I'm seriously considering cashing in on my NT Mini :)

@GreyRogue - while trying various things out I've come across two games that I can't make work, namely Lagrange Point & Tiny Toon Adventures 2 (both Japanese). Both of these games make use of Konami's VCR7 sound expansion. Is this implemented in the Nes core?

Not currently:
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/NES_MiS ... mu.v#L2344

GreyRogue
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:50 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby GreyRogue » Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:08 am

GreyRogue wrote:
kikusui wrote:@GreyRogue - while trying various things out I've come across two games that I can't make work, namely Lagrange Point & Tiny Toon Adventures 2 (both Japanese). Both of these games make use of Konami's VCR7 sound expansion. Is this implemented in the Nes core?

Not currently:
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/NES_MiS ... mu.v#L2344

Ok. Relatively straight forward. Added VRC7 (mapper 85). No external sound though (only affects Lagrange Point), as that's quite a bit more complicated.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3172
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:28 am

May be call it cartridge sound to make it less confusing?

User avatar
AndrewSisk
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 8:50 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby AndrewSisk » Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:10 pm

A cool feature would be a menu option to select between stereo and mono sound. stereo being the two NES CPU channels separated in left and right (2 square wave and the triangle wave, noise channel)

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3172
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:59 pm

NES didn't have stereo output, so games didn't position channels to L/R.

PhantombrainM
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Sun Nov 18, 2018 12:29 pm

Super M Bros 1 (world rev.) is completly damaged and unplayable. CRC32 3337ec46
Super Pi*fall II has flickering background.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

hyperterminal
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby hyperterminal » Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:20 pm

PhantombrainM wrote:Super M Bros 1 (world rev.) is completly damaged and unplayable. CRC32 3337ec46
Super Pi*fall II has flickering background.

I just played the first two levels of Super Mario Bros (same CRC32) with the latest core at 15 kHz and didn't experience any problems.

vanfanel
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby vanfanel » Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:30 pm

Hi there,

There are a couple of issues I Have noticed with the latest and FANTASTIC release build:

-Zeruda no densetsu, the japanese FDS version of Zelda, is behaving strangely.
It's skipping the tittle screen very fast, without any button to be pressed, and tittle music does not sound right: FDS audio channel sounds wrong on the vibrato effect. It's easy to spot.
-Mario All Stars hack is missing the crowd screams on the tittle screen when the character pass by.
https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2422/

PhantombrainM
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:45 pm

hyperterminal wrote:
PhantombrainM wrote:Super M Bros 1 (world rev.) is completly damaged and unplayable. CRC32 3337ec46
Super Pi*fall II has flickering background.

I just played the first two levels of Super Mario Bros (same CRC32) with the latest core at 15 kHz and didn't experience any problems.


That's strange. I completly power cycled the MISTer now. Checked the Hashsum (its okay as you already confirmed).
Newest MISTer binary (maybe there is a problem?, haven't tested further yet). And still corruption and completly not playable.
Directly visible in Demo mode, I even don't have to play.

Have a look: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5NNQul440x0

regards,
PhantombrainM
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

PhantombrainM
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:15 pm

I have investigated further. Problem is solved.

After deleting the .map and .cfg files for NES everything is working normal now! (PF and SMB)

Even overwriting the settings (which I did before) was not helping.
I think it's a good idea to delete the configs for the cores which have new options and it may be a good info for FAQ or just to know.

So no problems to report from my side anymore yet.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3172
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:20 pm

You've enabled the "invert mirroring" option. Do this now and then load SMB - you will get the same corruption.

GreyRogue
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:50 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby GreyRogue » Sun Nov 18, 2018 7:38 pm

Somebody requested Holy Diver, so I've added support for mapper 78.
Note the other mapper 78 game, Uchuusen Cosmo Carrier, requires a NES 2.0 header to work correctly.
Code is in my latest commit.

vanfanel wrote:-Zeruda no densetsu, the japanese FDS version of Zelda, is behaving strangely.
It's skipping the tittle screen very fast, without any button to be pressed,
-Mario All Stars hack is missing the crowd screams on the tittle screen when the character pass by.
https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2422/


Hold select if you want to delay the disk swap for FDS games.

Expansion (Cart) Sound is not currently implemented for MMC5.

GreyRogue
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:50 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby GreyRogue » Sun Nov 18, 2018 11:25 pm

Added expansion (cart) audio to MMC5 mapper by reusing code from the APU.
--Tested with Just Breed. It works, but graphics are still corrupted.
In my latest commit.

jft
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 12:07 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby jft » Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:56 am

Not sure if anyone else is having this issue... While I can get my USB controllers (which consist of a Mayflash PS2 adapter, an 8bitdo SN30 Pro, and a Generic Saturn-knock-off USB) to work in any other core, I can't get them to work with most games on the NES core. The keyboard inputs respond.
The only games I have been able to work (out of what I have tried so far) are Contra and Life Force. Games that do not respond to my USB controllers are ones like Astyanax, Super Mario 2 and 3, Legend of Zelda, Shadowgate, Gradius...
Is this a known issue or am I the only one? :) The only thing I havent tried is a different USB hub, but I have doubts as all other cores work.

kitrinx
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby kitrinx » Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:58 am

try turning swap joysticks on, they seem to start backwards for NES

jft
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2018 12:07 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby jft » Wed Nov 21, 2018 2:36 am

Wow, I didn't even notice that option. I tried it and that was exactly the problem. It was that simple haha.
Thanks!

PhantombrainM
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:32 pm

Why do some games not always start the first time you load them?

For example Ball**n Fight (USA). It has a blackscreen in 80% of the cases after selecting the rom. Reset never helps.
But every now or then the title screen shows up and it runs perfectly!!

It reminds me of a real NES where you blew into the cartridge and re-inserted it :lol:
So very authentic! :mrgreen:

Is it a timing thing?
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

cacophony
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby cacophony » Thu Nov 22, 2018 2:47 am

PhantombrainM wrote:Why do some games not always start the first time you load them?

For example Ball**n Fight (USA). It has a blackscreen in 80% of the cases after selecting the rom. Reset never helps.
But every now or then the title screen shows up and it runs perfectly!!

It reminds me of a real NES where you blew into the cartridge and re-inserted it :lol:
So very authentic! :mrgreen:

Is it a timing thing?


I saw similar behavior with Contra where it had a black screen on first load attempt, but I tried a different rom and then came back to Contra and it worked the second time.

barbaro00
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:34 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby barbaro00 » Thu Nov 22, 2018 3:36 pm

Would be great play crisis force on this core.
Thank You foto the job!!

whiskeyrunnerone
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:41 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby whiskeyrunnerone » Thu Nov 22, 2018 4:53 pm

I cannot get the roms to play in the NES core. After I select the core, I push f12 to get the menu and select a rom. After the rom is selected I get screen resolutions displayed in the upper left corner and a black screen. The rom never starts. I am using rom packs from smokemonster. Other cores and roms work OK. Can someone point me in the right direction to start troubleshooting?


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests