https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

ikilby
Atarian
Atarian

Is a Dreamcast core possible

Postby ikilby » Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:01 pm

Question as above really.

Does the DE-10 Nano have the meat to run a Dreamcast core?

Is anyone working on such a thing?

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari

Re: Is a Dreamcast core possible

Postby PhantombrainM » Wed Oct 24, 2018 8:04 pm

I don't think its possible.
I'm not a programmer but I looked at some specs myself.
As far as I know the MISTer Cyclone can have up 50Mhz and someone said it may be pushed up to 100Mhz by doubling it somehow.

The Dreamcast has far higher speeds.
Maybe a Hybrid Core can be made. In Theory.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Oct 24, 2018 8:22 pm

PhantombrainM wrote:I don't think its possible.
As far as I know the MISTer Cyclone can have up 50Mhz and someone said it may be pushed up to 100Mhz by doubling it somehow.

up to 50MHz? where you get this nonsense? ;)
50MHz input clock doesn't mean it's the only frequency possible. Even PC has something like 50MHz clock generator on board which is not preventing CPU to run at 4GHz :)

There is such thing like PLL which can multiply/divide input clock in wide range. There are several PLLs inside FPGA.

As for Dreamcast - it has 3D graphics which may require a lot of logic - probably more than MiSTer's FPGA has.

Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God

Postby Newsdee » Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:12 pm

We're not even done with 8bit and 16bit systems... and as far as I know there aren't many 32bir+ systems on the works. Torlus was looking at Jaguar long ago but I think he didn'r publish his sources (just a video showing preliminary work).

eris
Atariator
Atariator

Postby eris » Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:26 am

Sorgelig wrote:
PhantombrainM wrote:I don't think its possible.

up to 50MHz? where you get this nonsense? ;)