Scaler

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

ghogan42
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:27 pm

Re: Scaler

Postby ghogan42 » Sat Sep 07, 2019 5:12 am

PsyFX wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:MiSTer is not a computer..
What is essential for PC, is not easy on MiSTer.


How about using scripts to make MiSTer.ini changes ?
Ex:
(VGA Script / Details or Specific Monitor Model, etc)
Set vga_scaler=1
Set forced_scandoubler=1
Set 4 - 1280x1024@60
Reboot


It's easy enough to have scripts just switch out whole ini files. That's how I used to do it.

With something like this in a "mister_LCD.sh" and another for CRT settings:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

/bin/cp -f /media/fat/config/MiSTer.ini.lcd /media/fat/config/MiSTer.ini
echo "LCD Mode Enabled"

PsyFX
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:51 pm

Re: Scaler

Postby PsyFX » Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:12 pm

ghogan42 wrote:
PsyFX wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:MiSTer is not a computer..
What is essential for PC, is not easy on MiSTer.


How about using scripts to make MiSTer.ini changes ?
Ex:
(VGA Script / Details or Specific Monitor Model, etc)
Set vga_scaler=1
Set forced_scandoubler=1
Set 4 - 1280x1024@60
Reboot


It's easy enough to have scripts just switch out whole ini files. That's how I used to do it.

With something like this in a "mister_LCD.sh" and another for CRT settings:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

/bin/cp -f /media/fat/config/MiSTer.ini.lcd /media/fat/config/MiSTer.ini
echo "LCD Mode Enabled"


Thanks! ghogan42, I'll have serious go at this once I get some time :)

BlockABoots
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: Scaler

Postby BlockABoots » Sat Sep 28, 2019 1:09 pm

Has the LCD effect shader been alter as it not longer looks correct when using with the Gameboy core?

ghogan42
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:27 pm

Re: Scaler

Postby ghogan42 » Sat Sep 28, 2019 7:02 pm

BlockABoots wrote:Has the LCD effect shader been alter as it not longer looks correct when using with the Gameboy core?


The scaler which hasn't been changed in a while and the LCD effects are the same too

Whether or not the LCD filters look good depends on your resolution adn whether you're getting interger scaling. What resolution are you at? Do you have vscale_mode=1 enabled (it would help if you were are 1080p)? And does your TV have overscan settings that are now wrong?

I don't know of any other way you could be getting bad output (well newly bad output) from those filters.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5248
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Scaler

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Sep 28, 2019 7:20 pm

I will fix Gameboy. No relation to scaler.

paulbnl
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:43 am

Re: Scaler

Postby paulbnl » Fri Oct 11, 2019 9:38 pm

This part is a timing bottleneck: https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Menu_MiSTer/blob/c103be9225dfabfea58244e1245a0961809a0e04/sys/ascal.vhd#L1712-L1713

Code: Select all

Line 1712
o_hburst<=(o_ihsize * (to_integer(o_format(2 DOWNTO 0)) - 2) +
                 N_BURST - 1) / N_BURST;


Changing it to below increases the Fmax of pll_hdmi from 84Mhz to around 150Mhz.

Code: Select all

SIGNAL o_ihsize_temp, o_ihsize_temp2 : natural RANGE 0 TO 32767;

o_ihsize_temp <= o_ihsize * to_integer(o_format(2 DOWNTO 0) - 2);
o_ihsize_temp2 <= (o_ihsize_temp + N_BURST - 1);
o_hburst <= o_ihsize_temp2 / N_BURST;

bhamadicharef
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:31 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Scaler

Postby bhamadicharef » Sat Oct 12, 2019 12:13 am

In other words ... pipelining a design ... excellent !
Brahim HAMADI CHAREF:: Singapore


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests