Menu select button changes between cores

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

cacophony
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Menu select button changes between cores

Postby cacophony » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:45 am

I'm currently using a PS3 controller with my MiSTer:

Image

For the Genesis core, I have square=A, x=B, o=C
Image

For the TG-16 core, I have square=II, x=I
Image

Doing this causes the buttons to mapped to their logical places on the gamepad for gameplay.

The problem is that in the TG-16 OSD menu, when I want to select anything it's the x button that acts as select.
And in the Genesis OSD menu, it's the square button that acts as select.

Is there any way to have the menu selection button be consistent across cores?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2884
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Menu select button changes between cores

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:09 am

It is pretty much consistent: first button is select, second is cancel/back.
After almost 2 years of MiSTer existence i didn't find any inconvenience.

cacophony
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Menu select button changes between cores

Postby cacophony » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:36 am

Sorgelig wrote:It is pretty much consistent: first button is select, second is cancel/back.
After almost 2 years of MiSTer existence i didn't find any inconvenience.


So what you're saying is the only way to have a consistent select button in the OSD is to map the gameplay buttons incorrectly for certain cores (ie have buttons in the reverse position from an original controller) ?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2884
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Menu select button changes between cores

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:00 am

I always define first button and second button to the same physical buttons, so i have select/cancel on the same buttons.
While using cores i have no problem to adjust myself to button configs.
It's not a problem for me to shoot by O or X.

cacophony
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Menu select button changes between cores

Postby cacophony » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:07 am

The problem is that in many games (such as Super Mario Bros) when you reverse the buttons it's very difficult to play (at least for me). Instinctively, the left button is fire/run, and the right button is jump. It's just muscle memory at this point :cheers:

cacophony
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Menu select button changes between cores

Postby cacophony » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:41 am

To borrow somebody else's wording:

OK is consistently the left button, and BACK is consistently the right button
This should map across consoles that share a controller format, eg NES, genesis, tg16, etc pretty consistently
So in the case of genesis "A" should be "OK" and "B" should be back
For TG-16, "II" should be OK and "I" should be BACK
For NES "B" should be OK and "A" should be back

Doing those simple translations based on the core would solve this, so maybe something to consider.

User avatar
thgill
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Menu select button changes between cores

Postby thgill » Mon Oct 22, 2018 4:43 am

I too think it should be consistent from core to core and when you map your joystick/game pad that should only be relevant inside the core. But not the OSD itself that way every OSD behaves in the same predictable way.
Like retro computers, game consoles and other obsolete junk? Check out Todd's Nerd Cave on YouTube

witchmaster
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:50 am

Re: Menu select button changes between cores

Postby witchmaster » Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:16 am

thgill wrote:I too think it should be consistent from core to core and when you map your joystick/game pad that should only be relevant inside the core. But not the OSD itself that way every OSD behaves in the same predictable way.

I would also prefer this behaviour, if at all possible. :)

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2884
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Menu select button changes between cores

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:19 am

i will think about it

BitsNStuff
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: Menu select button changes between cores

Postby BitsNStuff » Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:08 am

I'm sure it wouldn't development priority but I think this would definitely improve the user experience for me.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2884
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Menu select button changes between cores

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Oct 31, 2018 4:34 pm

new MiSTer release use OSD navigation keys defined in Menu core.

cacophony
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Menu select button changes between cores

Postby cacophony » Wed Oct 31, 2018 4:52 pm

Sorgelig wrote:new MiSTer release use OSD navigation keys defined in Menu core.


Excellent news, thanks you Sorgelig! Very much appreciated :D

witchmaster
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:50 am

Re: Menu select button changes between cores

Postby witchmaster » Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:57 am

Sorgelig wrote:new MiSTer release use OSD navigation keys defined in Menu core.

Superb! Thanks! :)


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Newsdee and 7 guests