Genesis Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:12 am

I have to confirm this and it's unfortunatly a major bug since in A LOT of Games white flashes occur, when the screen resets and new content comes in.

You can see it in Micro Machines.. after the Sega Logo the screen flashes white, then the title screen appears.
And I saw it in a lot of other games to when refreshing or switching to a new screen.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5371
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Nov 28, 2018 11:43 am

PhantombrainM wrote:A LOT of Games

I already know your "a lot". Please stop to meaningfully exaggerate your problem. Be more specific and then there is A LOT more chances to get it solved.

Can you at least check in which exactly release it start to happen?
Or even this simple task i have to do myself as well?

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:00 pm

Sure I can and I wanted to do it. I experienced it yesterday untill midnight while I was checking a lot of games and saw that flashing here and there.
I wanted to tell you some games and where it occured and also checked micro machines with an emulator yesterday but then went to bed!

Now I'm at work.
Since I read I am not the only one (see the comment before) I thought I confirm it quickly and mention Micro Machines, PAL, which I checked and its easy and fast tosee than the Aladdin description before.

But sure!
I can (and wanted to) give you specific releases, when and where and a video too, but I'm at work for the next 9 hours so please see my previous post just as a quick confirmation. It was not to bother someone / you. :angel:

I come back to this topic later!
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby cacophony » Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:09 pm

I just tried prior versions of the Genesis core (11/25, 11/18, and 11/16) and did observe some white flashes on Aladdin in all three, though perhaps to less of an extent. I didn't try rolling back my MiSTer binary though.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Wed Nov 28, 2018 8:09 pm

Yeah I experience the same with Micro Machines (UE) (C)(!).md -> Initializing white flash -> Purple Codemasters Logo -> white flash -> title screen game... and all previous Versions of Genesis.

Now I feel a little bit sorry for Sorgelig and I'm ashamed I said its a major bug because its affecting so many games...

But I haven't noticed it before and its also sometimes in Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (W) (Rev01).md -> Sega Logo -> Title Screen -> Level Name -> short white flash -> Splitscreen Level

So I will now also check older MISTer Files. Maybe its the new scaling filter engine or something like that. I'm testing further!
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

ShootTheCore
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:17 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby ShootTheCore » Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:20 pm

The quick white flashes are supposed to happen in Aladdin. If you swing your sword at the same time a guard does, you "clash" off of each other, and you get the screen flash along with a "ting" sound.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5371
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:48 pm

Yes, i see small part at the bottom flashes white quickly in Micromachines and Sonic 2. It's not like flashing constantly during play. It's just one time between screens. And as you've said it's there long time already. I don't see a big problem with this. May be it even presents in original HW but not so visible.

cacophony
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:14 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby cacophony » Wed Nov 28, 2018 11:31 pm

ShootTheCore wrote:The quick white flashes are supposed to happen in Aladdin. If you swing your sword at the same time a guard does, you "clash" off of each other, and you get the screen flash along with a "ting" sound.


Interesting, I never noticed that before!

brunosilva
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby brunosilva » Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:29 pm

Hi

I was looking @ Indigo operating system

http://www.sega-16.com/forum/showthread ... ing-system
https://github.com/sikthehedgehog/indigo

it boots but it doesn't detect my usb mouse... its something that should be on indigo part or some config I must make in Mister?

Thanks

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5371
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:52 am

brunosilva wrote:it boots but it doesn't detect my usb mouse... its something that should be on indigo part or some config I must make in Mister?

Of course mouse doesn't work. Because Genesis core doesn't know the mouse.
I need technical description of Sega mouse protocol.

User avatar
Chol
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:53 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Chol » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:48 am

There does not seem to exist a technical description. But I found some reverse engineering attempt at http://gendev.spritesmind.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=579 with sample code at http://forums.sonicretro.org/index.php?showtopic=30385 that made it into the Open Source SDK at https://github.com/Stephane-D/SGDK/blob/master/src/joy.c.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5371
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:51 pm

New release supports the mouse.
It works in indigo, although doesn't work in games. So it's just preliminary support.

brunosilva
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby brunosilva » Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:00 pm

@Sorgelig - i've tried two different mouses, and different usb ports (i have the usb hub board) and mouse doesn't work...

should i do any specific configuration?

Thanks

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5371
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:05 pm

Choose the port for mouse in OSD.

brunosilva
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby brunosilva » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:33 pm

f**k yeahhhh! :) works like a charm :)

it's possible to make the keyboard work? :) to write in terminal? :)

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5371
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:39 pm

Read the indigo readme. keyboard is not implemented.

brunosilva
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby brunosilva » Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:50 pm

ok... will try to talk indigo creator :)

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:04 pm

Thank you for updating the Genesis Core.
Binary is much smaller now. It's saving DSP resources isn't it? What are the other benefits of the new scaler?

Sonic 2 two player interlace mode looks funky now. (See Demo). PAL and NTSC. All Rev's.
(I'm using Guassian Sharp 07 + Internal Scanlines 50%, HDMI).

Other than that everything looks fine.

The white flash in Micro Machines is gone! :)
Sonic 1 seems not to stutter so strong anymore while running and performing a jump. (There was a small screen freeze/drop before). :D

Thanks,
PhantombrainM
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

mikealbert
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:10 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby mikealbert » Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:30 am

Hi,

Thanks for all your work on the Genesis Core. I just updated to the latest release (Genesis_20181205.rbf) and started testing Streets of Rage 2. At the end of Stage 1, I noticed some vertical bars appeared on the screen over the text of the stage score. Those bars persisted into Stage 2 at the top of the screen.

I'm new to the board and not sure if this is the best way to report issues, but let me know if you need anymore info.

Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5371
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:00 am

PhantombrainM wrote:Sonic 2 two player interlace mode looks funky now.

i don't understand what is funky.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5371
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:04 am

mikealbert wrote: I just updated to the latest release (Genesis_20181205.rbf) and started testing Streets of Rage 2. At the end of Stage 1, I noticed some vertical bars appeared on the screen over the text of the stage score. Those bars persisted into Stage 2 at the top of the screen.

It doesn't present in new release.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5371
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:06 am

brunosilva wrote:ok... will try to talk indigo creator :)

I don't see any evidence of Megadrive keyboard presence. So i think it's possible only with some custom implementation which is not present on real console.

ghogan42
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:27 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby ghogan42 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:45 am

mikealbert wrote:Hi,

Thanks for all your work on the Genesis Core. I just updated to the latest release (Genesis_20181205.rbf) and started testing Streets of Rage 2. At the end of Stage 1, I noticed some vertical bars appeared on the screen over the text of the stage score. Those bars persisted into Stage 2 at the top of the screen.

I'm new to the board and not sure if this is the best way to report issues, but let me know if you need anymore info.

Thanks!


I saw that problem one time a few weeks ago and then I never saw it again even though I've played through that stage a bunch of times. It seems like it will be hard to track down because it happens rarely.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:30 am

Sorgelig wrote:
PhantombrainM wrote:Sonic 2 two player interlace mode looks funky now.

i don't understand what is funky.


Here you see Genesis 20181126 which is okay (last picture)

And the new genesis 20181205 which looks special.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5371
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:29 am

If you mean some jagged edges on moving interlaced video, then it's because new scaler processes interlace a little differently. Yes, it uses simpler de-interlace technique but it occupies 1/10 resources of VIP scaler and it's open source.
As far as i know there are only 2 games in Genesis using interlace mode: Sonic 2 (and only in split screen mode!) and some other game i forgot the name. So it's definitely not a reason to keep a bulky VIP scaler.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bigrussian and 8 guests