Genesis Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

arit
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2019 9:18 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby arit » Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:51 am

JamesF wrote:@arit
I've tested Landstalker and I don't have the issues in your screenshots.
Some noob questions, are you running in PAL mode or with CPU Turbo?


Like I said, the text box issue has been fixed since the 0617 release.
Currently I can spot the issue when changing screens in form of status bar flickering(minor) and that sprites get drawn beyond the normal bottom frame. How this manifests can be influenced by the overclock where with normal settings there a two scanlines beyond the bottom border and (mostly) just one on high, medium lets the second scanline flicker.
I have tested this with with video modes 0 and 8 and for both with vsync_adjust 0 and 2.

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby JamesF » Sat Jul 13, 2019 2:01 pm

Sorry I misunderstood your post.
Can you please try in BlastEm emulator, which the core based on.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby slingshot » Sun Jul 14, 2019 3:38 pm

arit wrote:Landstalker really must be doing some dirty things :?
2. Some defect where it draws sprites 2-3 scanlines beyond the background tiles.



Seems a good example that DE off should affects sprites, too (like previously).

breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Genesis Core

Postby breiztiger » Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:14 am

hi

this demo crash on genesis core

https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=81513

EDIT : Partially corrected on release 20190820

uigiflip
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby uigiflip » Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:57 pm

tried 20 08 genesis core with normal hdmi and no longer picture, new snes still has picture
Replay 2, Mister, FPGA Replay + 68060 Daughterboard

trashuncle
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby trashuncle » Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:49 pm

uigiflip wrote:tried 20 08 genesis core with normal hdmi and no longer picture, new snes still has picture


Same issue. Tried changing from low lag to match display frequency, still no picture. Any other ideas or is there something else going on here?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4926
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:57 pm

for me it works on 1080p vsync_adjust=2

PsyFX
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:51 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PsyFX » Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:36 pm

Sorgelig wrote:for me it works on 1080p vsync_adjust=2

works for me, same settings.

trashuncle
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby trashuncle » Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:50 pm

Sorgelig wrote:for me it works on 1080p vsync_adjust=2


Tried this, black screen. Nothing I have done will rectify it. This is just since the latest build.

Matching to core frequency gets the display to show, but it will flash black intermittently.
Last edited by trashuncle on Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:52 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4926
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:51 pm

try this version:
Genesis.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

trashuncle
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby trashuncle » Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:56 pm

Sorgelig wrote:try this version:
Genesis.zip


This one worked for me! No issues at all on either Low Latency, Match Console, or Match Display Frequency.

Thanks!

User avatar
Xtro
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Xtro » Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:04 pm

Tried this release of the Genesis core and still shows 8 errors in VDP FIFO Testing, MiST core shows right now only 1 error. The errors are DMA based, could this be sorted on MiSTer?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4926
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:19 pm

MiSTer uses the same VDP code. Probably it's originally tweaked for MiST which uses SDRAM for VRAM. MiSTer uses BRAM for VRAM.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby slingshot » Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:01 pm

Sorgelig wrote:MiSTer uses the same VDP code. Probably it's originally tweaked for MiST which uses SDRAM for VRAM. MiSTer uses BRAM for VRAM.

Those failing DMA tests are from the unused bits reading the VDP status register.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4926
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:10 am

slingshot wrote:Those failing DMA tests are from the unused bits reading the VDP status register.

what you mean? is it outside of VDP?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby slingshot » Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:23 am

Sorgelig wrote:
slingshot wrote:Those failing DMA tests are from the unused bits reading the VDP status register.

what you mean? is it outside of VDP?


This is how it's done in MiST:
https://github.com/mist-devel/fpgagen/b ... .vhd#L1481
And NO_DATA is definitely not an LFSR.

But I think we discussed this last year :)

SegaMan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby SegaMan » Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:51 am

Picture Quality on latest core is not good anymore.

Have a slight flicker in the picture. Good to see on static screens. Menu on Genesis core is somehow out of focus.

My Benq says Resolution is 1921*1080

Zorlac
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Zorlac » Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:42 am

I keep losing HDMI signal with latest build as well.

trashuncle
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby trashuncle » Thu Aug 22, 2019 8:43 am

Zorlac wrote:I keep losing HDMI signal with latest build as well.

Did you update to the build uploaded yesterday?

It seems to fix the issue that was happening with the previous build.

Zorlac
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Zorlac » Thu Aug 22, 2019 5:12 pm

Yes, I have the build from 08/21/2019.

User avatar
Xtro
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Xtro » Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:15 pm

Latest Genesis core passes 121 from 122 tests in VDP FIFO Testing, thanks for VDP fixes :cheers:

Piacenti
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:26 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Piacenti » Fri Aug 23, 2019 9:10 pm

Genesis sound is messed up and with HDMI the game sometimes does not load, giving me a black screen on vsync_adjust 2. All updated.

kikusui
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:45 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby kikusui » Fri Aug 23, 2019 10:28 pm

I'm also having issues with the Genesis core, updated tonight (23rd August build). I get sound from HDMI but no video. Tried the Snes core and that seems ok for me as does the main menu so I think it's isolated to the Genesis core.

As a side affect, upon rebooting the Mister/DE-10 I don't get a picture from the MiSTer. Then switching to any TV channel I get sound and no picture and have to power down the TV and then turn it back on again. It's a Sony Bravia which I know has been mentioned somewhere on this forum previously as exhibiting the odd issue with MiSTer which is solved by a CEC Less HDMI adapter (can't find the thread at the moment). It seems as if the MiSTer Genesis core is giving out a signal that the TV doesn't like, and to get a picture back (either with MiSTer, normal television or anything else) I have to power down the TV and then power on again (full TV powerdown). I'm set up to use MiSTer at 1080p over HDMI. I'm not using the new analogue over HDMI that's recently been implemented.

(Just providing as much info as I possibly can!)

JamesF
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby JamesF » Sat Aug 24, 2019 1:56 pm

Seems like HDMI output is broken in the last 23rd August release.
On my display it looks like the r,g,b pixels are misaligned.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4926
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Aug 24, 2019 4:01 pm

I think it should be fixed in today's release


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: apolkosnik, JBeau and 6 guests