ZX Spectrum Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby albconde » Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:50 pm

when you change video timings you also need to reset the core, but the "reset and apply" option is not activated in the OSD, it is only activated if you change "memory".
Maybe it would be good if it's always visible.
Is there any way to save z80 snapshots in the core?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4748
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:12 pm

Video timing change doesn't require reset.
Reset always available from keyboard as in any other cores RCtrl+RAlt+LAlt.
F11 also resets the GS, so you don't need to issue additional reset.

You cannot save z80.
There is Multiface option providing snapshot save if you mount PlusD formatted disk (MGT/IMG/DSK).

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4748
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:16 pm

Btw, Nether Earth GS doesn't work with GS neither in TSConf, nor in ZX core. So, it's game problem - it also shows artifacts on screen while loading, so may be Disk dump is corrupted.
Use other GS games.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:28 pm

Ah okay. I tried nether earth and venom both don't work.
Didn't try others.....

All the other tips didn't work for the above games (neither Gluk nor Real Commander or starting with run instead of load).Also ALT+F5, or even saving config, reloading core and so on ... nothing worked.

So maybe only a handful of GS games work. Checking others tomorrow.

But it doesn't matter that much for me!
I never had a spectrum and never had GS Sound. I was just curious and wanted to try it for fun. Also I wanted to learn about that system and I got a handful of tipps from you both. Thank you Sorgelig and albconde.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

bakkerboy
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 6:28 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby bakkerboy » Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:32 pm

When I compare the output of the zx spectrum (and the zx81) with other cores I noticed that the output on the hdmi is not sharp and has shadows like I got on my vga crt monitor thirty years ago. Activating the crt lines reduces it a bit, but it still very much worse than other cores. What is causing this? Is it the conversion from 50 to 60Hz?

JanniG
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 10:00 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby JanniG » Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:28 am

This is one of my favorite cores, never had an spectrum before (C64 kid)!

I'm messing around with lots of homebrew lately (ie. castlevania) and most of them working great but i'm having troubles with "OLD TOWER".

http://www.indieretronews.com/2018/11/old-tower-retrosouls-aims-to-impress.html#more

While the title-music is working fine (as intended), the in-game sound is missing notes. Can anyone verify?

I already tried all video-timings (incl. Pentagon) with no luck.

Normaly i wouldn't mention it, but the tune is "Popcorn", so it's kind of important ;)


PS: Here is how it should sound like

http://www.retrosouls.net/zx/online.php?title=OLDTOWER&tap=ot

User avatar
yarko
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 7:19 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby yarko » Sun Nov 18, 2018 12:27 pm

I have the same

Ldaborc
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 3:03 pm

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Ldaborc » Sun Nov 25, 2018 8:45 am

Hi, Sorgelic, Is it possible to make support for NeoGs? With switching from the menu to the usual General Sound?

alfishe
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:24 pm

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby alfishe » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:57 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Btw, Nether Earth GS doesn't work with GS neither in TSConf, nor in ZX core. So, it's game problem - it also shows artifacts on screen while loading, so may be Disk dump is corrupted.
Use other GS games.


Neither earth GS seems to be saved using Scorpion ZS256 snapshot mechanism or similar. Was able to make it work only with Unreal Speccy emulator. Even there splash screen is corrupted with flashing squares.

famiclone
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 12:10 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby famiclone » Thu Jan 03, 2019 12:56 am

Hi, I'm a big fan of this core. I enjoy using it on HDMI and VGA, but here in America I cannot use this particular core (or my real ZX Spectrum) on my old fashioned tube TV that only takes NTSC.

I understand ZX Spectrum was more popular in PAL territories, but there could be a few ways of supporting NTSC:
-Introduce tearing or drop frames for 60hz displays, retaining the correct palette and clock speed of the original PAL systems.
-Timex Sinclair TS2068 support, which featured a different ULA and clock crystals for for NTSC colour carrier signal and CPU speed. There was a compatibility cartridge for running ZX software, but it wasn't perfect and the colours were a bit off. But this would add the ability to run the small library of TS2068 exclusive software.
-Support the NTSC version of the Timex Computer 2048 with these specs, which were supposedly highly compatible with ZX Spectrum software.

Thank you for supporting ZX fans!

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4748
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Jan 03, 2019 2:22 am

There is a trick you can try to use.
Use vga_scaler=1 option in MiSTer.ini. It will output the same resolution as HDMI.
Since your old TV most likely doesn't support 480p60 format, you need to define custom video_mode where you can use parameters for NTSC video (262p60).
I have no numbers, so you need to find it yourself.
You can use Timex video parameters if you know them.

famiclone
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 12:10 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby famiclone » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:35 am

Sorgelig wrote:There is a trick you can try to use.
Use vga_scaler=1 option in MiSTer.ini. It will output the same resolution as HDMI.
Since your old TV most likely doesn't support 480p60 format, you need to define custom video_mode where you can use parameters for NTSC video (262p60).
I have no numbers, so you need to find it yourself.
You can use Timex video parameters if you know them.

This looks promising, but my TV did not not like the different modes I found in this thread with with vga_scaler=1 set. The only mode that almost worked was "video_mode=1440,124,38,114,240,3,4,15,27027" where it syncs for a second and then desyncs. The ZX core also was very thin and quickly desynced. The cable I am using requires ypbpr=1 which I've connected to component. The TV also does not support 480p, only 480i and 240p.

I will continue to experiment. Thanks for the hint!

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4748
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:50 am

That mode is for HDMI standard. It won't work on CRT because it uses large blanking.
You need to set parameters for CRT TV. HDMI probably won't work but VGA should work if you define correct NTSC parameters.

famiclone
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 12:10 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby famiclone » Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:31 pm

Sorgelig wrote:That mode is for HDMI standard. It won't work on CRT because it uses large blanking.
You need to set parameters for CRT TV. HDMI probably won't work but VGA should work if you define correct NTSC parameters.

I'm curious why this isn't correct:

Code: Select all

video_mode=256,6,17,18,192,26,22,29,4800

These values like the above will work on a Raspberry Pi with a similar cable connections, but not MiSTer. I'm not sure why, as I don' t believe they're for HDMI. I've adjusted or translated the values from other sources that seemed to be correct, but nothing syncs. I've also played with this video timing calculator, but still no luck.

As for the exact timing of a Timex model, the closest I came to finding that information was in this book around page 132.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4748
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Jan 05, 2019 12:54 am

These values aren't optimal for VGA.
1) You need to bump horizontal resolution twice as 256px is too small - you will have problems with OSD. So 512px with twice frequency (9200) is better and more compatible.
1a) i suggest to use 320 or 640 visible pixels instead as it's more suitable for 4:3 aspect ratio.
2) HSync and VSync look not correct. HSync must be around 4.7us, VSync is 3 lines. So you need to adjust it together with HBlank/VBlank (due to smaller HSync/VSync).
3) 192 visible lines is not correct for NTSC as well. Many NTSC cores output at least 224 visible lines.

Basically NTSC is 320x240 visible resolution. 240 lines is a little extreme for NTSC, usually maximum real visible resolution is 238 lines.
And i suggest to use twice higher horizontal resolution as many cores output hires video.
P.S.: probably 640x240 won't work well as pixel is not square - you will get squeezed picture. So probably 320x240 you have to go with.

albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby albconde » Sat May 04, 2019 8:43 pm

The sound AY seems broken in the last version.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4748
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri May 10, 2019 8:37 am

albconde wrote:The sound AY seems broken in the last version.

try this version:
ZX-Spectrum.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby albconde » Fri May 10, 2019 2:53 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
albconde wrote:The sound AY seems broken in the last version.

try this version:
ZX-Spectrum.zip

Tested in 10 AY 128 games , works perfect.
Thanks


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest