ZX Spectrum Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Dirk
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:44 am

ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Dirk » Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:18 pm

The ZX Spectrum core release 20180711 don´t load txz files correctly.
It starts loading but crashes while loading. Fast or slow loading makes no difference.
With release 20180706 loading is possible.

PhantombrainM
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:39 pm

That's true. For example Paperboy TXZ. Maybe it can be improved like the CPC Tapes? :D

They are loading fine in an emulator so the files itself are okay.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

PhantombrainM
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:02 pm

By the way, the extension .tap and .dsk, ... is shown in zxspectrum file GUI. Can you remove it?

In CPC for example its not shown and it's not needed either.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Aug 23, 2018 7:51 pm

Why tap and dsk should be removed? I didn't get it.
If you mean extension is shown in file names, then it's standard feature of file lister. If more than one extension are requested then extensions are shown to distinguish the file types. If only single extension is requested, then it's not shown as all files have the same extension.

PhantombrainM
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:40 pm

Yes, i meant the file extension but I didn't know that its only visible, when multiple extensions exist.

I've got seperate folders (TAP, TZX,...) and so on, so I don't need the extensions visible in lister, but I get the idea now!
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:45 pm

It's shown not because multiple extensions exist in folder, but because multiple extensions are requested.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:57 pm

Dirk wrote:The ZX Spectrum core release 20180711 don´t load txz files correctly.
It starts loading but crashes while loading. Fast or slow loading makes no difference.
With release 20180706 loading is possible.

What TZX game is working in 20180711 and doesn't work in latest version?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:03 pm

PhantombrainM wrote:That's true. For example Paperboy TXZ. Maybe it can be improved like the CPC Tapes? :D

They are loading fine in an emulator so the files itself are okay.

I've tried Paperboy TZX (perfect version from WoS). It loads fine in fast mode.

Sometimes tape loading put on pause after first part like this paperboy. Just press F1 to continue tape playback.
Unfortunately ZX Spectum has no tape motor control, so it's difficult to detect the tape start/stop.
CPC has motor control, so tape control is easy to automate.

PhantombrainM
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Fri Aug 24, 2018 4:53 pm

oh.... you are right Sorgelig.
I didn't know that the tape stops while loading without showing something on the screen.

Now all the games I tried work! For me it's perfect now!
Thank you so much for the hint!

regards,
PhantombrainM
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

PhantombrainM
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Fri Aug 24, 2018 7:29 pm

Okay, now I went through a lot of tapes and finally found one which is really not working! ;)

Starstrike II (tzx) resets the system.
So I don't know If its tape related or not but the .tap is working, so I think its not a system problem...
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

albconde
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby albconde » Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:07 pm

Hi
Is there any option to assign a key to a button on the joystick in the core?
for games that need two buttons.
Another question,Has anyone tried target renegade trd with gs sound? The sound effects work, but the music don't.

Thanks

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:47 pm

albconde wrote:Hi
Is there any option to assign a key to a button on the joystick in the core?
for games that need two buttons.
Another question,Has anyone tried target renegade trd with gs sound? The sound effects work, but the music don't.

Thanks


You cannot assign keyboard button to joystick. By the way, Kempston joy has 2 buttons.
Target renegade works fine with both effects and music on GS. Use set 512KB RAM for GS for better compatibility (and reset).

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:02 pm

PhantombrainM wrote:Starstrike II (tzx) resets the system.
So I don't know If its tape related or not but the .tap is working, so I think its not a system problem...

custom tape loaders may have very specific access to tape and can fail which happens to this game. It also may have specific protection making it fail. Won't be fixed. Use other working version.

albconde
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby albconde » Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:31 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
albconde wrote:Hi
Is there any option to assign a key to a button on the joystick in the core?
for games that need two buttons.
Another question,Has anyone tried target renegade trd with gs sound? The sound effects work, but the music don't.

Thanks


You cannot assign keyboard button to joystick. By the way, Kempston joy has 2 buttons.
Target renegade works fine with both effects and music on GS. Use set 512KB RAM for GS for better compatibility (and reset).

The problem is that the games only use one joystick button, and the second is mapped on the keyboard, for example in cabal or rtype.
In the zxuno the solution was to create a new interface with maped keys "OPQA Space M" many of the games with two fire buton let you redefine the keys.
In target renegade GS, you're right, with the configuration
Video timings: Pentagon
General Sond: 512kB
Memory: Pentagon 1024k
Works.
Thanks

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:30 am

With new MiSTer release you can assign temporary keyboard keys to Joystick.
You even can play games not supporting the joystick originally if you assign the proper keys.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1199
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Newsdee » Mon Sep 10, 2018 10:33 am

Sorgelig wrote:With new MiSTer release you can assign temporary keyboard keys to Joystick.
You even can play games not supporting the joystick originally if you assign the proper keys.

Wow, that's a great feature!

albconde
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby albconde » Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:20 am

Tested in cabal for spectrum and prohibition for amstrad and works perfectly .
Just a comment, if you map the directions of the joystick to keys, you can not use them later in the osd until you reset the core, but you can use the cursor keys instead.
Thanks

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:15 pm

I will fix it.

albconde
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby albconde » Tue Sep 11, 2018 12:18 pm

tested with the latest change and now works in OSD.
Thank you very much for this feature.

PhantombrainM
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:17 pm

How can I use General Sound?

I can't see a dedicated setting in OSD just how much megabyte I have to assign (1MB default).
Wasn't there a special entry? I just have SAA Sound and Kempston.
I've tried all Spectrums and ULA's.

I enter TR DOS, load a .trd with load"boot" and select the GAME GS entry from boot menu.

Title screen is flickering with colored blocks (I tried different games) (Youtube videos demonstrating this games dont have graphical artifacts) and a small "bar fills" with GS-512.

But I can't hear anything, just normal sound fx.

Broken core or my fault?
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

albconde
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby albconde » Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:28 pm

To hear the GS sound I use the configuration:

Video timings: Pentagon
General Sound: 512kB
Memory: Pentagon 1024k

works with software prepared for GS like "fernando martin", "chase HQ" and "target renegade"

PhantombrainM
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:43 pm

Thank you for your reply.

I've tried your settings. But still no sounds and graphical problems.
I tried different GS Games...all have problems in loading screen. This shouldn't be normal either?

I made a YT Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5i-z_vBwcE
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

albconde
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby albconde » Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:57 pm

I load the trd with gluk, insert the disk in the OSD, f11 and select p.c. option. and boot

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:02 pm

I confirm, something weird happens with ZX core.
I don't know yet what's the problem. GS stopped to work for me too. Even 20180820 release doesn't work while it worked before.

Regardless this problem, TSConf is better for GS. You even can play Amiga mods there directly from Wild Commander.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ZX Spectrum Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:21 pm

ok. I found most games/utils for GS require video timings: Pentagon.
Press Alt-F5 in latest ZX release to switch to Pentagon 128K mode.

Instead of typing LOAD "boot", simply type RUN. Or use F11 to enter Gluk menu and then choose "GLUK BOOT" option - you will get the list of files to choose to boot.
For best compatibility keep GS memory 512KB as default. Don't forget to reset after switch the GS memory.

P.S.: Alternative ROM includes Real Commander instead of Gluk which shows the disk content at start.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BBond007, knc, leejsmith and 8 guests