Amstrad CPC Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

nico24
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby nico24 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 7:05 pm

Eventually it would be good to implement PLUS type hardware support, since there were hardware sprites and scrolling. As fascination of capturing the technology of the day it would certainly be interesting. Who knows maybe one day I may even know enough about Verilog to try it myself! (I can try - doesn't mean I'll succeed)...

nico24
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby nico24 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 7:05 pm

Eventually it would be good to implement PLUS type hardware support, since there were hardware sprites and scrolling. As fascination of capturing the technology of the day it would certainly be interesting. Who knows maybe one day I may even know enough about Verilog to try it myself! (I can try - doesn't mean I'll succeed)...

User avatar
thelatestmodel
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby thelatestmodel » Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:28 pm

A few more bugs that I came across when playing around with the CPC core. Just in the name of constructive feedback...

Thunder Blade - screen layout is incorrect. The title bar with the pilots should be at the bottom. I notice that the display seems to flicker before getting into the game, perhaps the core is changing screen mode or something like that?

Bad Cat - graphical corruption on the floor of the first level (see screenshot)

Pit FIghter - the drums in the title music are missing

Batman the Caped Crusader - music is missing the drum / bass and there is a lot of background noise

Fighter Pilot - the title music background drumbeat is missing

As always, someone else may wish to test just in case it's my hardware or something :shrug:
Last edited by thelatestmodel on Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby slingshot » Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:46 pm

thelatestmodel wrote:
Bad Cat - graphical corruption on the floor of the first level (see screenshot)


I wonder about this, because it was one of the test games for the floppy driver. Try the original release from cpc-power.com (and turn on original timing for the FDC).

User avatar
thelatestmodel
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby thelatestmodel » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:15 am

slingshot wrote:
thelatestmodel wrote:
Bad Cat - graphical corruption on the floor of the first level (see screenshot)


I wonder about this, because it was one of the test games for the floppy driver. Try the original release from cpc-power.com (and turn on original timing for the FDC).


You know what, just using that release fixed it. Thank you! The other games still have the same issues though, even with images from CPC Power.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby slingshot » Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:00 am

thelatestmodel wrote:
You know what, just using that release fixed it. Thank you! The other games still have the same issues though, even with images from CPC Power.


I tried Thunder Blade, it's using some obscure refresh rate, it only worked well on a TV for me (15 kHz RGB output).

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby DanyPPC » Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:09 am

Yes, I confirm, this is one game which works well only on old 15Khz PAL crt.

User avatar
thelatestmodel
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby thelatestmodel » Fri Feb 01, 2019 12:03 pm

Very interesting, thanks guys. So that just leaves the various sound issues...

breiztiger
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby breiztiger » Sat Feb 02, 2019 10:23 am

hi

for thunder blade

http://www.cpc-power.com/index.php?page=detail&num=2224

cpc-power admin say it can be related with crtc r4 and r7

some emulators have this bug too

for bad cat

what version have you test

cpc-power say that some version have this probs and crack version on cpc-power site is ok

http://www.cpc-power.com/index.php?page ... ps&num=351

User avatar
thelatestmodel
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby thelatestmodel » Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:18 am

Yup as I already mentioned Bad Cat is fixed, that was just a bad disk image. I don't care about Thunder Blade if it's using some weird refresh rate, it's a rubbish game anyway!

I think the main issue with the CPC core right now is the sound, more often than not the music is missing elements (mainly drums). I'll continue testing.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4880
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:24 am

May be your TV outputs only one audio channel?
I don't think there is real problem with audio.

breiztiger
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby breiztiger » Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:33 am

i haven't ear sound probs at all

just my tv probs that have no sound at Amstrad core start but if i swap sound entry i have sound

i think it's a level probs witch is to low to be detected like eltego recoding

User avatar
thelatestmodel
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby thelatestmodel » Sat Feb 02, 2019 3:59 pm

Sorgelig wrote:May be your TV outputs only one audio channel?
I don't think there is real problem with audio.


Appreciate the response, thanks! I'm using a 3.5mm cable to external speakers. The MiSTer is in DVI mode.

So are the games I mentioned (FIghter Pilot, Pit FIghter, Batman) sounding correct for you guys? You get drums in the soundtrack and everything?

Might be my hardware in that case... it is weird though because I get correct audio in all the other cores. For example Turbo Outrun on C64 had issues until recently but with the very latest release it's absolutely spot on. However with the Amstrad games I mention it's very wrong :shrug:

breiztiger
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby breiztiger » Sat Feb 02, 2019 4:35 pm

hey you are right drums is missing in pit fighter and fighter pilot almost :cheers:

User avatar
thelatestmodel
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby thelatestmodel » Sat Feb 02, 2019 6:43 pm

Awesome, good to get confirmation I'm not crazy! :cheers:

breiztiger
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby breiztiger » Mon Feb 04, 2019 4:12 pm

Sorgelig,

Can you make new scaler part of Amstrad CPC core ?

Thanks in advance

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4880
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Feb 04, 2019 5:21 pm

I will.
Scaler still have issues, so i'm not rushing to update every core.

breiztiger
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby breiztiger » Mon Feb 18, 2019 8:23 pm

Hi

No body to check why drums are missing in game ? Is part of the AY-3-8912 that is faulty ?

:cheers:

User avatar
thelatestmodel
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby thelatestmodel » Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:23 pm

breiztiger wrote:Hi

No body to check why drums are missing in game ? Is part of the AY-3-8912 that is faulty ?

:cheers:


I'm sure it will be looked at eventually, there's clearly lots to do :wink:

If I was any sort of coder at all I would try and help with MiSTer, but sadly I don't have those skills. All I can contribute is money and QA testing.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4880
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:41 pm

i'm busy by other things. Probably drums are missing because of slightly different phases on different voices add them to silence?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4880
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Feb 19, 2019 6:47 pm

i've tried pit-fighter. Yes, it's odd. The noise part of drums is absent. Currently i have no idea how they make the drums - it's probably some trick used. The noise itself is working.
I've tried completely different YM2149 implementation which works the same. So, there is some trick or feature used in this game i'm not aware of.

breiztiger
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby breiztiger » Tue Feb 19, 2019 8:03 pm

in pit-fighter drums seem to be on channel A

perhaps probs with high frequency ?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4880
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:52 pm

i found where is the problem

breiztiger
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby breiztiger » Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:22 pm

Sounds problems seems to be solve

Is there ay model error ?

Thanks for scandoubler integrated

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4880
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:15 pm

breiztiger wrote:Is there ay model error ?

yes. i've fixed it.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests