Maximum SD card size for MiSTer ?

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sefirosu
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 5:35 pm

Maximum SD card size for MiSTer ?

Postby Sefirosu » Sun Jul 01, 2018 10:35 pm

Hello,

Is there a limitation on the SDcard size that can be used with MiSTer at the moment ? Right now anything 64gb and above gives me a black screen here, haven’t tried with a 32gb yet as mine are all used at the moment. But the included 8gb in the DE10 package works along with a 4gb I used.

Thanks.

User avatar
diwou
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:56 am

Re: Maximum SD card size for MiSTer ?

Postby diwou » Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:08 am

I use a Sandisk 64GB without problems as the first SD card in the Nano Board. Set up according to the instructions in the wiki.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4747
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Maximum SD card size for MiSTer ?

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jul 02, 2018 6:20 am

There is no known SD card limit. Most likely something was wrong in process of SD card preparation.

Sefirosu
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 5:35 pm

Re: Maximum SD card size for MiSTer ?

Postby Sefirosu » Mon Jul 02, 2018 10:11 am

Well, I’m an idiot.

Turns out I used FileZilla to get the main MiSTer files and menu.rbf from my running MiSter install to transfer to the new SDcard but it decided to use ASCII instead of binary when downloading which corrupted the files. Redownloaded by forcing transfers to binary instead of automatic and it works fine now.

:shrug:

blacklistedcard
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:06 am

Re: Maximum SD card size for MiSTer ?

Postby blacklistedcard » Mon Dec 24, 2018 6:41 pm

I just tried to use a 256gig SD card. It does not boot on the Mister. I used the SD manager and it completed the format and installation successfully?
No errors. But when I try to boot. I just get very dimly lit leds on the board.

My original 8gig is fine. No issue...

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 802
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: Maximum SD card size for MiSTer ?

Postby JimDrew » Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:50 am

128GB cards work fine. That is all I have been using.
I am the flux ninja

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Maximum SD card size for MiSTer ?

Postby BBond007 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:52 am

So far my Samsung 256GB : MB-ME256GA/AM works.

It's less than half full though. I Maxed out my 64GB card.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: apolkosnik, CruelTott, hernan43, MonsterDunk and 6 guests