ao486 Emm386.exe causing errors?

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 538
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

ao486 Emm386.exe causing errors?

Postby NML32 » Sun Jun 03, 2018 1:23 am

Is anyone else having issues with DOS crashing if EMM386 is loaded? :?:
I've tried creating a new DOS 6.22 VHD and installing everything and each time if I load EMM386 DOS crashes and locks up.

I tried installing QEMM 8.0 with the express setup and that doesn't work either.

Before I keep troubleshooting I'm curious if anyone else is experiencing similar issues.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2834
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ao486 Emm386.exe causing errors?

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Jun 03, 2018 4:48 am

i'm using QEMM8 and occasionally have crashes after exiting some apps.

hlide
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:06 pm

Re: ao486 Emm386.exe causing errors?

Postby hlide » Sun Jun 03, 2018 10:15 am

Should the explanation be partially due to GATE A20 hack?

http://www.pcguide.com/ref/ram/logic_HMA.htm

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2834
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ao486 Emm386.exe causing errors?

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Jun 03, 2018 7:38 pm

ao486 core has option in OSD for A20 gate.

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 538
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: ao486 Emm386.exe causing errors?

Postby NML32 » Sun Jun 03, 2018 9:25 pm

Sorgelig wrote:ao486 core has option in OSD for A20 gate.

Where in the OSD?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2834
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ao486 Emm386.exe causing errors?

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jun 04, 2018 5:44 am

Hmm.. Disappeared :)
I will check why it's disappeared.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2834
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ao486 Emm386.exe causing errors?

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:15 am

Ok, i've refreshed my memory :)

The i've added A20 gate control by standard ports described there: https://wiki.osdev.org/A20_Line
Both control through i8042 and through port 0x92 is supported.

@hlide, can you check if it's correct?

glaucon1984
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:23 pm

Re: ao486 Emm386.exe causing errors?

Postby glaucon1984 » Mon Jun 04, 2018 9:42 pm

Hi NML32, these were my findings some time ago: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=117&t=31825&start=450#p325400

As Sorgelig replied below that post, the mapping of resources in BIOS might not be "100% IBM PC Compatible"(TM), but who knows, maybe this A20 gate solves the problems.

Please let us know if you find something interesting.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Poobah and 2 guests