Overscan worse with some MiSTer Modes

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 489
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Overscan worse with some MiSTer Modes

Postby NML32 » Sat Apr 14, 2018 4:34 pm

I've been trying out different video Modes in the MiSTer.ini and noticed some are displaying outside of my TV's boundaries. I see one of the Menu backgrounds displays a box around the screen that shows overscan. I'm hoping this can be adjusted or tweaked.
I'm mostly interested in Modes 720x48 and 640x480. I think this might help with the overscan I was seeing when displaying on my 4:3 CRT TV.
https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=_DFcNxaS4G0

1920x1080


1280x720


720x480


640x480
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2033
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Overscan worse with some MiSTer Modes

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Apr 14, 2018 5:04 pm

If you use HDMI output, then there is nothing to tweak. It's digital interface where 0 is exactly 0 and 1920 is exactly 1920.
If you pixels go beyond visible area then either bezel of monitor covers the pixels, or scaler inside the monitor has errors in scaling.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 489
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Overscan worse with some MiSTer Modes

Postby NML32 » Sat Apr 14, 2018 5:12 pm

Sorgelig wrote:If you use HDMI output, then there is nothing to tweak. It's digital interface where 0 is exactly 0 and 1920 is exactly 1920.
If you pixels go beyond visible area then either bezel of monitor covers the pixels, or scaler inside the monitor has errors in scaling.

Thanks, I figured it was just wishful thinking. :(


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests