Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

l0g4n
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 10:43 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby l0g4n » Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:23 pm

onaryc29 wrote:for a 1200p monitor, i use the following custom mode :

Code: Select all

fb_size=2
video_mode=1920,48,32,80,1200,3,6,26,154128


The fb_size shall be 0 (automatic) but there is (were?) a bug not setting it to 2 automatically IIRC.

By the way, i try shadow of the beast 3 (Whdload from smokemonster pack) and after the intro, the game freeze/has garbage graphic. Did someone experience that?


Have you tried turning off cache chipRAM? It works for me.

petarku
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:20 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby petarku » Thu Nov 14, 2019 10:41 pm

rsn8887 wrote:My settings are for a 1920x1080 HDMI monitor with free sync (supports non-standard refresh rates like 51 Hz).

The native resolution you mention is not one of the standard HDMI resolution that mister supports it seems. So I am not sure what you should put in your .ini file.

You could try
video_mode = 8
vsync_adjust = 2
and see if your monitor works with that. That's what works for me.

If that doesn't work for you, you could add
video_mode_ntsc=8
video_mode_pal=9
and see if that helps.


i tried
video_mode = 8
vsync_adjust = 2
and
video_mode_ntsc=8
video_mode_pal=9

and i still have issues with not smooth scrolling in cannon fodder
i am getting in video info 1920x1080 150 mhz 50.5 hz
i am using bilenaer sharp filter
it is getting little better if i set
vscale_mode=1
vsync_adjust = 1

but is scrolling is no smooth .
Thanks anyway for suggestions.

petarku
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:20 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby petarku » Thu Nov 14, 2019 10:44 pm

onaryc29 wrote:for a 1200p monitor, i use the following custom mode :

Code: Select all

fb_size=2
video_mode=1920,48,32,80,1200,3,6,26,154128


The fb_size shall be 0 (automatic) but there is (were?) a bug not setting it to 2 automatically IIRC.

By the way, i try shadow of the beast 3 (Whdload from smokemonster pack) and after the intro, the game freeze/has garbage graphic. Did someone experience that?

thanks for posting your custom mode settings
can I ask you about your other video settings
what you use for
vsync_adjust
vscale_mode
etc

do you use any filters ?

can you post your ini file ?
I tried just with those 2 settings and scrolling is still not smooth on cannon fodder .

Thank you

onaryc29
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:47 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby onaryc29 » Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:22 pm

i use the ascal scaler with hybrid scanline (bright soft in the recent pack).

But what is a scrolling which is not smooth for you? You can try turrican, jim power, the pinball series to test the smoothness of the scrolling. Not every amiga game are 50hz. As far as remember, cannon fooder was not very smooth (as gods, chaos engine, ...)

My ini :

Code: Select all

[MiSTer]
direct_video=0
key_menu_as_rgui=0     ; set to 1 to make the MENU key map to RGUI in Minimig (e.g. for Right Amiga)
forced_scandoubler=0   ; set to 1 to run scandoubler on VGA output always (depends on core).
ypbpr=0                ; set to 1 for YPbPr on VGA output.
composite_sync=1       ; set to 1 for composite sync on HSync signal of VGA output.
vga_scaler=0           ; set to 1 to connect VGA to scaler output.
hdmi_audio_96k=0       ; set to 1 for 96khz/16bit HDMI audio (48khz/16bit otherwise)
keyrah_mode=0x18d80002 ; VIDPID of keyrah for special code translation (0x23418037 for Arduino Micro)
volumectl=0            ; enable audio volume control by multimedia keys
vscale_mode=2          ; 0 - scale to fit the screen height.
                       ; 1 - use integer scale only.
                       ; 2 - use 0.5 steps of scale.
                       ; 3 - use 0.25 steps of scale.
vscale_border=0        ; set vertical border for TVs cutting the upper/bottom parts of screen (1-99)
bootscreen=0          ; uncomment to disable boot screen of some cores like Minimig.
;mouse_throttle=10     ; 1-100 mouse speed divider. Useful for very sensitive mice
rbf_hide_datecode=0    ; 1 - hides datecodes from rbf file names. Press F2 for quick temporary toggle
menu_pal=0             ; 1 - PAL mode for menu core
hdmi_limited=0         ; 1 - use limited (16..235) color range over HDMI
fb_size=2              ; 0 - automatic, 1 - full size, 2 - 1/2 of resolution, 4 - 1/4 of resolution.
fb_terminal=1          ; 1 - enabled (default), 0 - disabled
osd_timeout=30         ; 5-3600 timeout (in seconds) for OSD to disappear in Menu core. 30 seconds if not set.
                       ; Background picture will get darker after double timout

; lastcore - Autoboot the last loaded core (corename autosaved in CONFIG/lastcore.dat) first found on the SD/USB
; lastexactcore - Autoboot the last loaded exact core (corename_yyyymmdd.rbf autosaved in CONFIG/lastcore.dat) first

found on the SD/USB
; corename - Autoboot first corename_*.rbf found on the SD/USB
; corename_yyyymmdd.rbf - Autoboot first corename_yyyymmdd.rbf found on the SD/USB
;bootcore=lastcore    ; uncomment to autoboot a core, as the last loaded core.
;bootcore=SNES_20191019.rbf
bootcore_timeout=10  ; 10-30 timeout before autoboot, comment for autoboot without timeout.

; Option to load the custom font. Format is plain bitmap 8x8.
; Supported sizes of font:
;   768 bytes - chars 32-127 (only alpha + numeric)
;  1024 bytes - chars 0-127
;  1136 bytes - chars 0-141
;  up to 2048 - only chars 0-141 will be used.
; if first 32 chars are empty (for sizes 1024 bytes and more) then they are skipped.
font=font/font.pf

; USER button emulation by keybaord. Usually it's reset button.
; 0 - lctrl+lalt+ralt (lctrl+lgui+rgui on keyrah)
; 1 - lctrl+lgui+rgui
; 2 - lctrl+lalt+del
; 3 - same as 0 (lctrl+lalt+ralt on keyrah)
reset_combo=0

dvi_mode=0             ; set to 1 for DVI mode. Audio won't be transmitted through HDMI in DVI mode.

; 0 - 1280x720@60
; 1 - 1024x768@60
; 2 - 720x480@60
; 3 - 720x576@50
; 4 - 1280x1024@60
; 5 - 800x600@60
; 6 - 640x480@60
; 7 - 1280x720@50
; 8 - 1920x1080@60
; 9 - 1920x1080@50
;10 - 1366x768@60
;11 - 1024x600@60
;
; custom mode: hact,hfp,hs,hbp,vact,vfp,vs,vbp,Fpix_in_KHz
;   video_mode=1280,110,40,220,720,5,5,20,74250
;video_mode=1600,48,32,112,1200,3,4,32,130250
;video_mode=1920,48,32,112,1440,3,4,39,184828
;video_mode=1920,48,32,80,1200,3,6,26,154128
video_mode=8

; set to 1-10 (seconds) to display video info on startup/change
video_info=10

; Set to 1 for automatic HDMI VSync rate adjust to match original VSync.
; Set to 2 for low latency mode (single buffer).
; This option makes video butter smooth like on original emulated system.
; Adjusting is done by changing pixel clock. Not every display supports variable pixel clock.
; For proper adjusting and to reduce possible out of range pixel clock, use 60Hz HDMI video
; modes as a base even for 50Hz systems.
vsync_adjust=2

; These parameters have the same format as video_mode.
; You need to supply both PAL and NTSC modes if you want vsync_adjust to switch between
; predefined modes as a base. This will reduce the range of pixel clock.
video_mode_ntsc=8
video_mode_pal=9

User avatar
rsn8887
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby rsn8887 » Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:43 pm

Turrican should be 100% perfectly smooth. Also: Pinball Dreams during demo (table waiting for players) should scroll up and down perfectly smooth.

petarku
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:20 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby petarku » Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:58 pm

onaryc29 wrote:i use the ascal scaler with hybrid scanline (bright soft in the recent pack).

But what is a scrolling which is not smooth for you? You can try turrican, jim power, the pinball series to test the smoothness of the scrolling. Not every amiga game are 50hz. As far as remember, cannon fooder was not very smooth (as gods, chaos engine, ...)

My ini :

Code: Select all

[MiSTer]
direct_video=0
key_menu_as_rgui=0     ; set to 1 to make the MENU key map to RGUI in Minimig (e.g. for Right Amiga)
forced_scandoubler=0   ; set to 1 to run scandoubler on VGA output always (depends on core).
ypbpr=0                ; set to 1 for YPbPr on VGA output.
composite_sync=1       ; set to 1 for composite sync on HSync signal of VGA output.
vga_scaler=0           ; set to 1 to connect VGA to scaler output.
hdmi_audio_96k=0       ; set to 1 for 96khz/16bit HDMI audio (48khz/16bit otherwise)
keyrah_mode=0x18d80002 ; VIDPID of keyrah for special code translation (0x23418037 for Arduino Micro)
volumectl=0            ; enable audio volume control by multimedia keys
vscale_mode=2          ; 0 - scale to fit the screen height.
                       ; 1 - use integer scale only.
                       ; 2 - use 0.5 steps of scale.
                       ; 3 - use 0.25 steps of scale.
vscale_border=0        ; set vertical border for TVs cutting the upper/bottom parts of screen (1-99)
bootscreen=0          ; uncomment to disable boot screen of some cores like Minimig.
;mouse_throttle=10     ; 1-100 mouse speed divider. Useful for very sensitive mice
rbf_hide_datecode=0    ; 1 - hides datecodes from rbf file names. Press F2 for quick temporary toggle
menu_pal=0             ; 1 - PAL mode for menu core
hdmi_limited=0         ; 1 - use limited (16..235) color range over HDMI
fb_size=2              ; 0 - automatic, 1 - full size, 2 - 1/2 of resolution, 4 - 1/4 of resolution.
fb_terminal=1          ; 1 - enabled (default), 0 - disabled
osd_timeout=30         ; 5-3600 timeout (in seconds) for OSD to disappear in Menu core. 30 seconds if not set.
                       ; Background picture will get darker after double timout

; lastcore - Autoboot the last loaded core (corename autosaved in CONFIG/lastcore.dat) first found on the SD/USB
; lastexactcore - Autoboot the last loaded exact core (corename_yyyymmdd.rbf autosaved in CONFIG/lastcore.dat) first

found on the SD/USB
; corename - Autoboot first corename_*.rbf found on the SD/USB
; corename_yyyymmdd.rbf - Autoboot first corename_yyyymmdd.rbf found on the SD/USB
;bootcore=lastcore    ; uncomment to autoboot a core, as the last loaded core.
;bootcore=SNES_20191019.rbf
bootcore_timeout=10  ; 10-30 timeout before autoboot, comment for autoboot without timeout.

; Option to load the custom font. Format is plain bitmap 8x8.
; Supported sizes of font:
;   768 bytes - chars 32-127 (only alpha + numeric)
;  1024 bytes - chars 0-127
;  1136 bytes - chars 0-141
;  up to 2048 - only chars 0-141 will be used.
; if first 32 chars are empty (for sizes 1024 bytes and more) then they are skipped.
font=font/font.pf

; USER button emulation by keybaord. Usually it's reset button.
; 0 - lctrl+lalt+ralt (lctrl+lgui+rgui on keyrah)
; 1 - lctrl+lgui+rgui
; 2 - lctrl+lalt+del
; 3 - same as 0 (lctrl+lalt+ralt on keyrah)
reset_combo=0

dvi_mode=0             ; set to 1 for DVI mode. Audio won't be transmitted through HDMI in DVI mode.

; 0 - 1280x720@60
; 1 - 1024x768@60
; 2 - 720x480@60
; 3 - 720x576@50
; 4 - 1280x1024@60
; 5 - 800x600@60
; 6 - 640x480@60
; 7 - 1280x720@50
; 8 - 1920x1080@60
; 9 - 1920x1080@50
;10 - 1366x768@60
;11 - 1024x600@60
;
; custom mode: hact,hfp,hs,hbp,vact,vfp,vs,vbp,Fpix_in_KHz
;   video_mode=1280,110,40,220,720,5,5,20,74250
;video_mode=1600,48,32,112,1200,3,4,32,130250
;video_mode=1920,48,32,112,1440,3,4,39,184828
;video_mode=1920,48,32,80,1200,3,6,26,154128
video_mode=8

; set to 1-10 (seconds) to display video info on startup/change
video_info=10

; Set to 1 for automatic HDMI VSync rate adjust to match original VSync.
; Set to 2 for low latency mode (single buffer).
; This option makes video butter smooth like on original emulated system.
; Adjusting is done by changing pixel clock. Not every display supports variable pixel clock.
; For proper adjusting and to reduce possible out of range pixel clock, use 60Hz HDMI video
; modes as a base even for 50Hz systems.
vsync_adjust=2

; These parameters have the same format as video_mode.
; You need to supply both PAL and NTSC modes if you want vsync_adjust to switch between
; predefined modes as a base. This will reduce the range of pixel clock.
video_mode_ntsc=8
video_mode_pal=9


thank your very much for the ini file
I am comparing scrolling in cannon fodder on my mister hdmi on dell u2410 with cannon fodder on amiga that is running on benq702a monitor which can take original 15khz from amiga . dell u2410 can also take 15khz but i would like to use it in hdmi mode.
I will try your ini file and check.
Best Regards

onaryc29
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:47 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby onaryc29 » Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:05 am

Perhaps that the pb come from comparing a lcd and a CRT display for smoothness. A LCD can be smooth but with blur. If you can post a video it could help defining the pb.

You can also post your minimig configuration.

petarku
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:20 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby petarku » Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:30 am

onaryc29 wrote:Perhaps that the pb come from comparing a lcd and a CRT display for smoothness. A LCD can be smooth but with blur. If you can post a video it could help defining the pb.

You can also post your minimig configuration.

I want first to thank you for taking time to help me with the problem.

Will post minimig configuration when I come from work.
I am not sure how visible will be smoothness problem on video that i can shoot from mobile...

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3854
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

cputester for Minimig

Postby ijor » Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:14 pm

I believe I found further bugs in cputester that I would like to confirm. Can somebody please provide me a disk image with the Amiga executable? Being almost Amiga illiterate, it is difficult for me to build it myself from sources. Best to PM and not post in the public thread.
Fx Cast: Atari St cycle accurate fpga core

onaryc29
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:47 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby onaryc29 » Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:12 pm

petarku wrote:I want first to thank you for taking time to help me with the problem.

Will post minimig configuration when I come from work.
I am not sure how visible will be smoothness problem on video that i can shoot from mobile...


Well, i struggle for years to be able to have smooth scrolling on a lcd with winuae and its configuration : at one point i succeed to add a 50hz resolution through the nvidia drivers but then change to an ati card, where i couldn't do the same thing and change back to an nvidia card where the mode sometime disappear/were difficult to add, ...

So i understand your "quest" and with mister, things are far more less complicated, one of its major advantage imho (with inputlag and efficiency regarding the accuracy).

I will try cannon fodder this WE, it has been a long time :)

optiroc
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:19 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby optiroc » Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:25 pm

Cannon Fodder is a “half framerate” game. Sensible Soccer, on the other hand, runs at a full 50 fps (except when all players are visible, iirc, but that was optimized in later versions perhaps?).

Giana Sisters is a good game for testing display frame pacing. The intro screen scrolls sideways at a perfect 50 fps (or 60, it works great in NTSC mode too).

User avatar
rsn8887
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby rsn8887 » Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:27 pm

I suggest use shadow of the beast for testing scrolling.

When it is perfectly smooth you will know. The difference is like day and night.

The ease of use and easy setup is what I love about Mister. Few options, not much fiddling it “just works“ for me.

apolkosnik
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 3:20 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby apolkosnik » Fri Nov 22, 2019 11:28 pm

Just a quick compare of the results from cputester (ignoring the Flag errors) for the cores
From the left: tg68k from MiSTer, m68k (with addx.b/subx.b fix), TG68K.C (from https://github.com/TobiFlex/TG68K.C)

68020_core_comparison.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by apolkosnik on Sat Nov 23, 2019 1:02 am, edited 2 times in total.

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 268
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby kolla » Fri Nov 22, 2019 11:39 pm

And this is cputest of 020 mode, right? :)
-- kolla

apolkosnik
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 3:20 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby apolkosnik » Fri Nov 22, 2019 11:43 pm

kolla wrote:And this is cputest of 020 mode, right? :)
Correct, the green means passing, the red indicates failed tests. In some cases the failures are due to wrong exceptions. I've attached the failed tests to the previous post.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5374
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Nov 23, 2019 2:48 pm

apolkosnik wrote:Just a quick compare of the results from cputester (ignoring the Flag errors) for the cores
From the left: tg68k from MiSTer, m68k (with addx.b/subx.b fix), TG68K.C (from https://github.com/TobiFlex/TG68K.C)

68020_core_comparison.png

So, basically TG68K.C now is the best one?
It's good that TG68K now is in active development stage!

apolkosnik
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 3:20 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby apolkosnik » Sat Nov 23, 2019 3:05 pm

Sorgelig wrote:So, basically TG68K.C now is the best one?
It's good that TG68K now is in active development stage!

Pretty much, since Tobilex is working on it, and Mist, and FPGArcade folks seem to have agreed to follow that path.

sonycman
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 3:33 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby sonycman » Sat Nov 23, 2019 3:44 pm

Hi, guys.
Can somebody give me another little advice on minimig verilog code?

How is exactly work turbo-chip and turbo-kick options?
I thought they`re just enables the cache for corresponding memory ranges, but now I`am not so sure...

Here is the code from cpu_wrapper.v:

Code: Select all

assign ramsel = cpu_req & ~sel_nmi_vector & (sel_zram | sel_chipram | sel_kickram);
...
wire sel_chipram   = !cpu_addr[31:21] && cchip;
...
wire cchip = turbochip_d & (!cpustate | dcache_d);

If turbochip option is disabled (turbochip_d = 0), then cchip wire will be zero, thus sel_chipram will be constant zero too.

But in that case when CPU accesses chip RAM the ramsel will never be activated, so memory access will be blocked.
This is as far as I understand.

But this is impossible, the core would be non functional in that case.

What is wrong in here?
Would appreciate any advice on it :)

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5374
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Nov 23, 2019 3:49 pm

sonycman wrote:But in that case when CPU accesses chip RAM the ramsel will never be activated, so memory access will be blocked.
This is as far as I understand.

If ramsel is 0 then access is going through chipset which is also wired to SDRAM. So access will be with chipset timings.

sonycman
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 3:33 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby sonycman » Sat Nov 23, 2019 4:31 pm

Sorgelig wrote:If ramsel is 0 then access is going through chipset which is also wired to SDRAM. So access will be with chipset timings.

Oh, thanks!
So that direct bus to SDRAM controller from cpu_wrapper is non-existent in the real non-AGA amigas?

Hm, but in case of turbo kickstart disabled, CPU would access kickstart memory region through chipset also?
Did not know, that chipset can read/write such high memory regions...

optiroc
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:19 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby optiroc » Sun Nov 24, 2019 8:18 pm

With the new TG68K.C CPU core these previously non-working WHDL slaves now work

Code: Select all

- BMX Simulator
- Encounter
- Gravity
- Hyperion
- Pinball Brain Damage
- Twylyte
- Wanderer 3D
- Wheels On Fire
- XP8

A mixed bag of 3D deep cuts and "new" Polish titles. :)
I did not check if there are any regressions.

apolkosnik
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 3:20 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby apolkosnik » Sun Nov 24, 2019 8:34 pm

Budbrain megademo still crashes on the TG68K.C (as reported in mist-devel github) , though it runs fine on fx68k.

I guess that some timings might be still too tight as Jim Power - Mutant Planet gets in-game background corruption on both TG68K.C and m68k cores(previously m68k was fine, but something outside the core must be causing it) , no problem with fx68k and AGA

Shaneus
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:07 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Shaneus » Sun Nov 24, 2019 9:58 pm

Small question: I have limited knowledge about Amiga emulation but I've been tinkering with HDFs in WinUAE as well as UAE4All on the Switch and of course Minimig. Is there some configuration I'm missing that seems to hinder the same HDFs working across all three platforms?

My problem is that they never seem to map/appear with the same labels/names, if they even work at all. For example, I have one setup that has a small boot HDF and larger HDF with WHDLoad images, and the larger HDF won't mount in WinUAE or Minimig, but will on UAE4All. Are there more HDF mounting options/flags on Minimig that aren't visible on the GUI that I'm missing?

Apologies if this isn't a question for here, just seems there are a lot of switched on people in this thread who might be able to help :cheers:

User avatar
rsn8887
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby rsn8887 » Sun Nov 24, 2019 11:45 pm

Shaneus wrote:Small question: I have limited knowledge about Amiga emulation but I've been tinkering with HDFs in WinUAE as well as UAE4All on the Switch and of course Minimig. Is there some configuration I'm missing that seems to hinder the same HDFs working across all three platforms?

My problem is that they never seem to map/appear with the same labels/names, if they even work at all. For example, I have one setup that has a small boot HDF and larger HDF with WHDLoad images, and the larger HDF won't mount in WinUAE or Minimig, but will on UAE4All. Are there more HDF mounting options/flags on Minimig that aren't visible on the GUI that I'm missing?

Apologies if this isn't a question for here, just seems there are a lot of switched on people in this thread who might be able to help :cheers:


For large hdf (>1 GB) I had to convert my hdf to rdb format instead of geometry format to make them work in Mister. I did that by copying all files from the old geometry hdf to a new rdb hdf using WinUAE on my PC. I also had to install IDEFIX driver on my system hdf to make secondary master and slave hdf work in Mister.

I sent you a PM with some more info.

For a geometry hdf, whether it works or not on Mister seems to depend on the setting used to create the hdf. For example, the gemoetry hdf I created with "surfaces=2" in WinUAE don't work on Mister. But the geometry hdf I created with "surfaces=1" work on Mister. RDB hdf always works on Mister. UAE4All2 on Switch doesn't support rdb hdf. Because of that, I use different sets of hdf on Switch and Mister now.

Note the Amiga filesystem and OS has a lot of restrictions, so hdf larger than 2 Gb tend to not work correctly or show problems, unless you know exactly what you are doing (installing new filesystem, formatting correctly etc.).

Also note that the Minimig A500 config is quite a bit more compatible than the A1200 config at the moment. So quite a few games work better loading from .adf floppy files using A500 config, instead of using WHDLoad with A1200 config. For example Lionheart monster explosions sound wrong when using WHDLoad version with A1200 config, but sound correct when I load the .adf version using A500 config.

Incidentally, the new rdb versions of my hdf now also work in FS-UAE finally. I think FS-UAE also has problems with "surfaces=2".

Shaneus
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:07 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Shaneus » Mon Nov 25, 2019 4:07 am

Thanks so much, that's exactly the kind of rundown I was hoping for!


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: THaase and 7 guests