Arcade cores

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

User avatar
BitsNStuff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: Arcade cores

Postby BitsNStuff » Sun Sep 22, 2019 6:56 pm

Wonderful work, MrX8B.

Thank you so much for the work that you're doing. :)

djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby djmartins » Sun Sep 22, 2019 9:07 pm

BlockABoots wrote:Trying to compile the RallyX core but seem to be getting loads of red text error messages in the dos window....

Image

any ideas, what type of Mame romset is supposed to be used? (Merged, Non-Merged or Split)


Sure, look for the link to the archive.org romset posted here.
That is what I used and it worked fine.

djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby djmartins » Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:56 am

Jin had a garbled screen on HDMI in vertical mode and in horizontal had glitches.
Just updated and it works fine in vertical mode!
:cheers:

BlockABoots
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby BlockABoots » Sat Sep 28, 2019 11:33 am

djmartins wrote:
BlockABoots wrote:Trying to compile the RallyX core but seem to be getting loads of red text error messages in the dos window....

Image

any ideas, what type of Mame romset is supposed to be used? (Merged, Non-Merged or Split)


Sure, look for the link to the archive.org romset posted here.
That is what I used and it worked fine.


Thanks!

What about River Patrol, as there required rom doesnt appear to be in the Archive.org list?

User avatar
gaz68
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 11:10 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby gaz68 » Sat Oct 05, 2019 12:35 pm

I just released a couple of new arcade cores - Super Cobra and Tazz-Mania. You can get them from here:

https://github.com/gaz68

If you find any issues then let me know on here.

Enjoy!

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 646
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NML32 » Sat Oct 05, 2019 1:15 pm

gaz68 wrote:I just released a couple of new arcade cores - Super Cobra and Tazz-Mania. You can get them from here:

https://github.com/gaz68

If you find any issues then let me know on here.

Enjoy!

Thank you!!

hyperterminal
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby hyperterminal » Sat Oct 05, 2019 2:07 pm

I want to report a bug in the Donkey Kong core.
Image

The screenshot was edited by me to better illustrate the bug. On the top left corner you can see the life indicator. The first row of Marios is the one shown initially by the core. The colour of Marios feet is wrong. They are supposed to always be blue, the same colour as Mario's hair and Mario's shirt (compare the last row of Marios I copied over from Mame to show how Mario is supposed to look like).

When you move to the "How high can you get?" screen, Mario's feet change to another wrong colour, this time beige, the colour of Donkey Kong's skin (see the second row of Marios I copied over from another MiSTer screenshot).

My guess is that that the core has a problem with the colour palette initialisation. Mario's feet colour changes when a new screen is loaded. Each time one of the colours that is loaded for the screen is also taken for Mario's feet colour. In the first screen it is the colour of the ladders and in the next screen it is Donkey Kong's skin colour.

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 646
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NML32 » Sat Oct 05, 2019 4:01 pm

gaz68 wrote:I just released a couple of new arcade cores - Super Cobra and Tazz-Mania. You can get them from here:

https://github.com/gaz68

If you find any issues then let me know on here.

Enjoy!

Thank you for porting Super Cobra and Tazz-Mania to the MiSTer. :cheers:

I'm having an issue with Tazz-Mania and it may be the ROM I'm creating since it doesn't have the same MD5 value that is listed in the ini file.
Every ROM I've created so far has a MD5 value of 93599bbdb47df01c5a0c386e2077d740 and your build_rom.ini MD5 says it should be cb06e6325e7c707fb979fd1b9996338e
With the ROMs I've used the core starts up and everything looks good but when the game starts you instantly win each level. :shrug:
Could you give me any suggestions maybe the MAME version of the ROM?

Thanks

User avatar
gaz68
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 11:10 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby gaz68 » Sat Oct 05, 2019 4:25 pm

hyperterminal wrote:I want to report a bug in the Donkey Kong core...


I came across this issue while working on my Donkey Kong Junior core (coming soon). The problem was much more evident in that core. I can provide a quick fix for this issue. Keep an eye on my GitHub repo. I'll try to get the fix added to the main repo too.

https://github.com/gaz68

User avatar
gaz68
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 11:10 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby gaz68 » Sat Oct 05, 2019 5:23 pm

NML32 wrote:Thank you for porting Super Cobra and Tazz-Mania to the MiSTer. :cheers:

I'm having an issue with Tazz-Mania...
...Could you give me any suggestions maybe the MAME version of the ROM?

Thanks


You're welcome. I believe the ROM I'm using is from MAME version 0.20. I've rechecked the MD5. Which version are you using?

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 646
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NML32 » Sat Oct 05, 2019 5:56 pm

gaz68 wrote:
NML32 wrote:Thank you for porting Super Cobra and Tazz-Mania to the MiSTer. :cheers:

I'm having an issue with Tazz-Mania...
...Could you give me any suggestions maybe the MAME version of the ROM?

Thanks


You're welcome. I believe the ROM I'm using is from MAME version 0.20. I've rechecked the MD5. Which version are you using?

I sent you a PM.

User avatar
gaz68
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 11:10 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby gaz68 » Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:25 pm

NML32 wrote:I sent you a PM.


Replied.

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 646
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NML32 » Sat Oct 05, 2019 6:48 pm

gaz68 wrote:
NML32 wrote:I sent you a PM.


Replied.

Still not working. :(
Update: The keyboard controls seem to work but not the joystick except for the bonus rounds.

https://youtu.be/wNwZ5D6BNXg

NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 326
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NegSol » Sat Oct 05, 2019 8:12 pm

I have the same issue with Tazmania as NML32. Whenever I move the joystick in any direction the level is an instant win. Joystick buttons can be pressed and work without winning :)

Thanks for the great cores though! :mrgreen:

User avatar
gaz68
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 11:10 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby gaz68 » Sat Oct 05, 2019 8:55 pm

NegSol wrote:I have the same issue with Tazmania as NML32. Whenever I move the joystick in any direction the level is an instant win. Joystick buttons can be pressed and work without winning :)

Thanks for the great cores though! :mrgreen:


Wow. Weird! I'll look into it.

I've fixed the MD5 values in the build script now. Thanks NML.

User avatar
gaz68
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 11:10 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby gaz68 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 12:53 pm

I found this in the MAME source code:

When "Cabinet" is set to "Upright", press any player 2 joystick direction to end current level
(code at 0x38dd). This trick does NOT work in bonus rooms though.


Joystick 1 and Joystick 2 were wired together, hence the problem. I've released a new binary. This now should be fixed. Only the player 1 joystick is now used in Cabinet mode.

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 646
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NML32 » Sun Oct 06, 2019 12:55 pm

gaz68 wrote:I found this in the MAME source code:

When "Cabinet" is set to "Upright", press any player 2 joystick direction to end current level
(code at 0x38dd). This trick does NOT work in bonus rooms though.


Joystick 1 and Joystick 2 were wired together, hence the problem. I've released a new binary. This now should be fixed. Only the player 1 joystick is now used in Cabinet mode.

Confirmed working with Arcade-TazzMania_20191006.rbf :cheers:
Thank you.

Marauder66
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:33 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Marauder66 » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:19 pm

Gaz68, what is the internal mister name of your arcade cores. I'm trying to edit mister.ini to change the vsync mode for my LCD TV as they have sync issues, and tried [Arcade-SuperCobra] and [SuperCobra] and it doesn't work. I changed the main vsync to 0 and they work fine, but not when 1 or 2.

Thanks.

brunosilva
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby brunosilva » Tue Oct 08, 2019 9:03 pm

Marauder66
run core and press f12 to open osd
check the core name in the left (vertical text)

Marauder66
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:33 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Marauder66 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:18 am

Thanks, those 2 are working now.

Zeosstud
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:33 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Zeosstud » Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:40 pm

gaz68 wrote:
hyperterminal wrote:I want to report a bug in the Donkey Kong core...


I came across this issue while working on my Donkey Kong Junior core (coming soon). The problem was much more evident in that core. I can provide a quick fix for this issue. Keep an eye on my GitHub repo. I'll try to get the fix added to the main repo too.

https://github.com/gaz68



Can not wait to check out the DK Jr. Core, along with Tempest and Tron, for sure one of my favorites that have not made it into Mister just yet

User avatar
SmokeMonster
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Arcade cores

Postby SmokeMonster » Fri Oct 11, 2019 3:52 am

Truly great work, everyone.

If anyone is looking for a fun project, Alan spent a lot of time porting a big chunk of Lisper's Food Fight arcade core. It just needs someone to swoop in and finish it up.
https://github.com/alanswx/arcade-foodfight

alanswx
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:34 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby alanswx » Sat Oct 12, 2019 12:50 pm

SmokeMonster wrote:Truly great work, everyone.

If anyone is looking for a fun project, Alan spent a lot of time porting a big chunk of Lisper's Food Fight arcade core. It just needs someone to swoop in and finish it up.
https://github.com/alanswx/arcade-foodfight


I didn’t do too much other than fixing a bug in the joystick control.

Zeosstud
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:33 pm

Core Specific Default Controller

Postby Zeosstud » Sat Oct 12, 2019 3:00 pm

Hello,
I have searched until I can no longer keep things straight so I will just ask here..

The default button mappings for Joust are very different from most other cores,
a=left
s=right
f=flap

I have had zero luck mapping buttons for this game and having it remember anything, I assume I just do not get it, I am using an
IPAC2 for my controls and at this point only Joust is giving me an issue, I did find that if I change the mode to Joystick1 game plays like I would expect it to.

My question is - Is there a setting in the mister.ini I could use so that when I play Joust I do not have to hit scroll lock to cycle into Joystick mode

or

any other suggestion that might help this newbie out,

Thanks

elvisa
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:17 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby elvisa » Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:45 am

Hi all,

I've knocked together a DAT file that can help you use tools like ClrMAMEPro or RomVault to pre-audit and/or repair/rebuild your MAME ROM sets so that they can be used cleanly with either the build_rom .bat/.sh files included with the MiSTer arcade cores, or self_slaughter's build scripts.

https://github.com/danmons/datfiles

Requires knowing how DAT files and ROM managers work, however it might help some folks figure out why their MiSTer arcade ROM sets aren't building properly.

There's 4 ROM sets that result in incorrect builds, however the final checksums match those documented independently by Smokemonster.

I'll try to keep these up to date as new arcade cores appear.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Billdr and 7 guests