Arcade cores

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

oldgit
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 11:05 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby oldgit » Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:54 pm

Yes I have joust, splat, bubbles and stargate working apart from keys and cmos ram- Sinistar is coming along?
Old enough to remember B&W TV with 2 channels: Young enough to embrace new technology: Stupid enough to try and get it to work.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4881
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Dec 14, 2018 8:53 pm

oldgit wrote:Yes I have joust, splat, bubbles and stargate working apart from keys and cmos ram- Sinistar is coming along?

isn't Stargate just renamed Defender which is already available?

User avatar
BitsNStuff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: Arcade cores

Postby BitsNStuff » Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:43 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
oldgit wrote:Yes I have joust, splat, bubbles and stargate working apart from keys and cmos ram- Sinistar is coming along?

isn't Stargate just renamed Defender which is already available?

Stargate is essentially Defender II depending on when and where you played it, Stargate is the official name but I believe Defender II was often used for commercial reasons.

As the official sequel to Defender it is pretty similar in many ways although it does introduce new ideas and enemies to the game as you'd expect from a sequel.

User avatar
BitsNStuff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: Arcade cores

Postby BitsNStuff » Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:38 am

Robotron 2048 is fantastic, thanks guys. I look forward to the other Williams' classics.

It's really good to see some new arcade developments happening as it's obviously gone a bit quiet on that front which completely understandable with all the really positive progress in other areas It's really good to see the recent developments being applied to the Robotron core too and hopefully to some of the older cores at some point too would be amazing.

@oldgit, out of interest, do all the Williams games that you're working on use the same arcade hardware and that's why you're working on so many at the same time?

oldgit
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 11:05 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby oldgit » Sat Dec 15, 2018 8:43 am

BitsNStuff wrote:@oldgit, out of interest, do all the Williams games that you're working on use the same arcade hardware and that's why you're working on so many at the same time?


The basic hardware is the same -
Defender2/Stargate does not use the bltter and the sound rom is smaller.
Bubbles uses blitter 1 (the faulty one)
Joust also uses blitter 1 and apart from key usage and cmos is identical to the robotron harware
Splat uses blitter 2 (updated)
Sinistar has less main roms but adds speech roms and I believe stereo sound.

I started this many weeks ago having bought the DE10 and made the daughter boards. I wanted Joust, not that its that good but I had played it in the arcades. I could not find code for joust but there were 5 different variations of robotron. I had not programmed an FPGA before but have a basic understanding of electronics and thought I could learn VHDL / Verilog on the go.
Having seen the changes Sorgelig made to the code it just shows me how much I need to learn. He can do in a few hours what would take me a week and it still wouldn't be as good.
Old enough to remember B&W TV with 2 channels: Young enough to embrace new technology: Stupid enough to try and get it to work.

User avatar
SmokeMonster
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:26 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby SmokeMonster » Sat Dec 15, 2018 8:22 pm

Yeah, the new Robotron core is superb. A really impressive game and it runs perfectly right in the first release.

A few people have tried to convert Galaga to Dig Dug and failed. I wonder if one of the FPGA gods here could pull that off? Dig Dug Arcade being the greatest game ever made 8)

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4881
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Dec 15, 2018 9:57 pm

SmokeMonster wrote:A few people have tried to convert Galaga to Dig Dug and failed. I wonder if one of the FPGA gods here could pull that off? Dig Dug Arcade being the greatest game ever made 8)

SNES core has this game.

User avatar
SmokeMonster
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:26 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby SmokeMonster » Sat Dec 15, 2018 10:41 pm

Yeah, Dig Dug is on a bunch of the cores. None of the console versions are very good arcade ports though.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4881
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Dec 15, 2018 11:14 pm

Original Dig Dug Arcade is kind of based on Xevious but is very different. So it's kind of unique hardware according to MAME info.

There is galaxian port of Dig Dug: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kwkSbjKjD2Y
So, with some small changes it looks possible.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4881
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Dec 15, 2018 11:17 pm


User avatar
SmokeMonster
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:26 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby SmokeMonster » Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:03 am

I'm definitely addicted. I own two Dig Dug arcade PCBs, as well as the rare Namco Classic Collection Volume 2 PCB (with Dig Dug, Dig Dug Arranged, Dig Dug 2, etc). I would honestly rather play it on MiSTer though--it's so much easier, has better video quality, and more controller options :D

User avatar
SmokeMonster
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:26 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby SmokeMonster » Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:08 am

People used to convert Dig Dug PCBs to Galaga, but I don't think anyone ever did the reverse. I believe Galaga and Dig Dug are very similar PCBs, with some changes here and there.

That Zig Zag bootleg on the Galaxian PCB is very cool too and would seem more straight-forward for a beginner project.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Gehstock » Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:33 am

Already try it, but can´t find any Info was triggering the Bank switching(Rom3<->Rom4)

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4881
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:44 am

Gehstock wrote:Already try it, but can´t find any Info was triggering the Bank switching(Rom3<->Rom4)

Do you mean Dig Dug or Zig Zag?

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Gehstock » Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:52 am

Zig Zag on Galaxian Hardware

ewok
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 4:15 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby ewok » Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:56 pm

Great the flood of new cores. Thank you very much.

If only Asteroids could be added......please. :wink:

User avatar
SmokeMonster
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:26 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby SmokeMonster » Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:17 pm

What an awesome week it's been for classic arcade fans. Thank you to everyone who brought us all these great new cores 8)

Lodovic
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 2:51 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Lodovic » Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:28 am

Can we put the arcade cores ROMs inside a folder instead of the main SD card ?

breiztiger
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Arcade cores

Postby breiztiger » Mon Dec 17, 2018 7:00 am

Inside bootrom at root

warham
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby warham » Mon Dec 17, 2018 7:13 am

Lodovic wrote:Can we put the arcade cores ROMs inside a folder instead of the main SD card ?



yes, the downloader script from locutus puts them in _Arcade.

User avatar
remowilliams
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:49 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby remowilliams » Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:13 pm

Colony 7 seems to be working well, there is one small line of HDMI 'noise' at bottom of screen in Vert mode (1920x1080@60,vscale_integer=0)

Image

crocky
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:01 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby crocky » Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:00 pm

Thanks for Colony 7, never knew of the game.

User avatar
BitsNStuff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: Arcade cores

Postby BitsNStuff » Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:10 pm

Wow, what a week for new stuff!!!

As always seems to be the way, excellent work from everybody working on the project, it's always good to see new content appearing.

crocky
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:01 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby crocky » Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:12 pm

Is it possible to add Flipping vertically option to Colony 7? My monitor only rotates clockwise and the core vertical output is rotated clockwise as well so I get the image upside down.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4881
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:22 pm

crocky wrote:Is it possible to add Flipping vertically option to Colony 7? My monitor only rotates clockwise and the core vertical output is rotated clockwise as well so I get the image upside down.

This is how original arcade outputs the video.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests