Arcade cores

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Feb 10, 2020 10:41 am

New release of Scramble besides the new games includes new experimental feature - picture underlay/overlay. Example of underlay picture is included in Dark Planet as it's almost impossible to play without the picture.
I wonder if anyone can get interesting idea to use the pics for other Scramble games. The format of picture is simple bitmap of 32bits per pixel: [A][B][G][R]. 256x224.
[A] is not really alpha channel, but it shows if pixel behind the arcade video (0) or above (any non 0) - per pixel.

warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby warham » Mon Feb 10, 2020 11:58 am

Sorgelig,
Will discs of tron get the same spinner support as arkanoid?
I can move the paddle in in Arkanoid but not in discs of tron, even when change control to spinner.
I am using a real happ arcade spinner with low resolution optical encoder.


One more thing.. The low/med/high sensitivity setting in arkanoid is not low enough, if its possible to adjust.
The paddle moves too slowly to be playable with arcade hardware.
I can count the encoder slots if it will be helpful. Thank you for discs of tron.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Feb 10, 2020 12:39 pm

Many arcades got spinner support, but it's USB spinner.
I plan to add open source firmware for arduino micro to make USB adapters for spinners and paddles.
With some tweaks of firmware it will be possible to adjust the sensitivity.

I'm using MadCatz Arcade Stick for XBox 360 (USB). It also has low resolution (mechanical) encoder but it has a gear about 4:1.

Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Chris23235 » Mon Feb 10, 2020 12:51 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Many arcades got spinner support, but it's USB spinner.
I plan to add open source firmware for arduino micro to make USB adapters for spinners and paddles.
With some tweaks of firmware it will be possible to adjust the sensitivity.

I'm using MadCatz Arcade Stick for XBox 360 (USB). It also has low resolution (mechanical) encoder but it has a gear about 4:1.


That's great news. Any chace for Trackball support? Centipede would really benefit from trackball support.

djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby djmartins » Mon Feb 10, 2020 2:32 pm

Chris23235 wrote:That's great news. Any chace for Trackball support? Centipede would really benefit from trackball support.


There is Arduino code for both spinners and trackballs out there.
A spinner is basically a single axis trackball....

Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Chris23235 » Mon Feb 10, 2020 3:03 pm

djmartins wrote:
There is Arduino code for both spinners and trackballs out there.
A spinner is basically a single axis trackball....


Oh nice, this means trackball support is already in range.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Feb 10, 2020 6:32 pm

warham wrote:The low/med/high sensitivity setting in arkanoid is not low enough, if its possible to adjust.
The paddle moves too slowly to be playable with arcade hardware.
I can count the encoder slots if it will be helpful.

I don't know your connection. Sensitivity is related only to USB spinner. If you connect the spinner to USER_IO, then it's not controlled as spinner goes (almost) directly to arkanoid logic.
For USB, adjusting to a faster move you will get the paddle not moving but jumping. It won't be playable. It's better to think to replace the encoder to more pulses per rotation.

warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby warham » Mon Feb 10, 2020 6:59 pm

I don't know your connection. Sensitivity is related only to USB spinner. If you connect the spinner to USER_IO, then it's not controlled as spinner goes (almost) directly to arkanoid logic.
For USB, adjusting to a faster move you will get the paddle not moving but jumping. It won't be playable. It's better to think to replace the encoder to more pulses per rotation.[/quote]

I am using usb. Happ arcade spinner connected to Ultimark minipac controller.
Image

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Feb 10, 2020 7:38 pm

I see.. technology of 60x :)
I've counted pules of madcatz, ~160 per rev.
Yours is ~24/rev. So it needs ~8 times more moves per pulse. I will see what can i do.
Basically, comfortable control angle in arkanoid is about 90-120 degree. So it means 6-8 pulses.. So paddle on screen should have only 6-8 positions. Looks unplayable.

warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby warham » Tue Feb 11, 2020 1:43 am

Sorgelig wrote:I see.. technology of 60x :)
I've counted pules of madcatz, ~160 per rev.
Yours is ~24/rev. So it needs ~8 times more moves per pulse. I will see what can i do.
Basically, comfortable control angle in arkanoid is about 90-120 degree. So it means 6-8 pulses.. So paddle on screen should have only 6-8 positions. Looks unplayable.

Thank you Sir.
I was trying to play discs of tron in the cabinet but was using Arkanoid to test since it has working spinner movement function. I built a spinner just for tron discs using same kind arcade encoder wheel because I assumed it was standard arcade hardware.
Image
but now I see that tron had a higher resolution wheel.
Image
Last edited by warham on Tue Feb 11, 2020 11:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby djmartins » Tue Feb 11, 2020 2:08 am

Those look like one could 3d print the wheels (and the rest of the parts except bearings and shaft and electronics)
There are a few arcade spinner projects on thingiverse too.

This one is illuminated and uses and arduino making it USB.
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2021152
I have the parts printed for this one and the code makes it show up as a USB mouse.

Here is one that uses a cheap (under $15 shipped) rotary encoder and an arduino:
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4065881
This one has the Arduino sketch so you can change things as needed.

I made one of these: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1136267
It uses two switches so can be hooked up using the cheap switch interfaces and is easily setup.
It feels pretty decent and is very sturdy.

So if you have a 3d printer or a friend with one a spinner could be put together fairly cheaply.

User avatar
BitsNStuff
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: Arcade cores

Postby BitsNStuff » Tue Feb 11, 2020 1:40 pm

Sorgelig wrote:New release of Scramble besides the new games includes new experimental feature - picture underlay/overlay. Example of underlay picture is included in Dark Planet as it's almost impossible to play without the picture.
I wonder if anyone can get interesting idea to use the pics for other Scramble games. The format of picture is simple bitmap of 32bits per pixel: [A][B][G][R]. 256x224.
[A] is not really alpha channel, but it shows if pixel behind the arcade video (0) or above (any non 0) - per pixel.

That's interesting, is this maybe something that would come to other cores at some point as I know there were a few games that had background images? I know it's a little different for Dark Planet as it is needed there rather than just being decoration as it is in some others.
I think the only feedback I can offer is that the size of the image is obviously much smaller than the original version, I appreciate that it's down to how the images are used being very different. Originally they would have just been a print so detail wouldn't have been lacking but here they're digital so need to fit into the 256x224 resolution.
That is understandable though.

warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby warham » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:54 am

Sorgelig wrote:I see.. technology of 60x :)
I've counted pules of madcatz, ~160 per rev.
Yours is ~24/rev. So it needs ~8 times more moves per pulse. I will see what can i do.
Basically, comfortable control angle in arkanoid is about 90-120 degree. So it means 6-8 pulses.. So paddle on screen should have only 6-8 positions. Looks unplayable.


Is it easy/possible to do something like:
In the menu or .ini or .mra can there be a selection option something like 5 4 3 2 1 0 1 2 3 4 5
If 0 is selected direct spinner pulse is read.
When > 0 selected the # of pulse read is multiply x 1.25 or 1.5 or 2 etc.... some number multiple
When < 0 selected the # of pulse read is division / 1.5 or 2 etc......

Ikari warriors: ~12
Happ spinner joystick: ~24
Arkanoid: supposedly 486
Tempest: 72
Discs of tron encoder wheel ~140:
Image

Groovy game gear USB push/pull spinner has 1200 division per revolution:
https://groovygamegear.com/webstore/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=311
Image

ewok
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 4:15 pm

MrSpinner usb adapter

Postby ewok » Sun Feb 16, 2020 5:20 pm

Hi,

What is this official usb adapter for Spinners? Mr.Spinner?

Thanks!

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Feb 16, 2020 6:52 pm

ewok wrote:What is this official usb adapter for Spinners? Mr.Spinner?

yes, it's open source USB adapter

LewisD
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:17 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby LewisD » Sun Feb 16, 2020 7:22 pm

What is needed to get the cassette support working in Journey?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Feb 16, 2020 7:25 pm


hyperterminal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby hyperterminal » Sun Feb 16, 2020 7:26 pm

LewisD wrote:What is needed to get the cassette support working in Journey?

Aside from using the latest MCR3 core and Journey.mra files you need to download the sample file journey.zip from here and place it inside a subfolder called "sound" (/media/fat/_Arcade/sound/).

LewisD
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:17 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby LewisD » Sun Feb 16, 2020 7:33 pm

hyperterminal wrote:
LewisD wrote:What is needed to get the cassette support working in Journey?

Aside from using the latest MCR3 core and Journey.mra files you need to download the sample file journey.zip from here and place it inside a subfolder called "sound" (/media/fat/_Arcade/sound/).


Thanks!

Shaneus
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:07 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Shaneus » Mon Feb 17, 2020 5:19 am

Sorgelig wrote:yes, it's open source USB adapter

Are there any official references or documents on it yet? Best I can find is the reference in the master repo to "MiSTer PD/SP v1" but I can't find anything else. Probably looking in the wrong place.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Feb 17, 2020 10:31 am

it's here:
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Retro-C ... rollersUSB
Pin map is inside .ino
I didn't write readme yet.
It's basically adapter for 2 potentiometers and 2 rotary encoders (100-300 ppr).

djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby djmartins » Mon Feb 17, 2020 2:01 pm

Sorgelig wrote:it's here:
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Retro-C ... rollersUSB
Pin map is inside .ino
I didn't write readme yet.
It's basically adapter for 2 potentiometers and 2 rotary encoders (100-300 ppr).


Nice!
I might mod this to interface a trackball and a spinner.

Shaneus
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:07 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Shaneus » Mon Feb 17, 2020 9:09 pm

Sorgelig wrote:it's here:
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Retro-C ... rollersUSB
Pin map is inside .ino
I didn't write readme yet.
It's basically adapter for 2 potentiometers and 2 rotary encoders (100-300 ppr).

Great, thanks! Don't stress about readme, I'm sure it can be deciphered :wink:

werpu
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 4:31 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby werpu » Tue Feb 18, 2020 5:51 pm

Tried Arkanoid yesterday with an ultimarc high res spinner, works fine...

I have another question. Joust simultaneous two players, is there a way to map the second player input?
The game setup seems to support only one joystick.
I have not tried with two gamepads yet (i have a self built two player arcade controller to lift this off), but it seems to me that it is not supported.

alanswx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:34 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby alanswx » Tue Feb 18, 2020 7:23 pm

werpu wrote:Tried Arkanoid yesterday with an ultimarc high res spinner, works fine...

I have another question. Joust simultaneous two players, is there a way to map the second player input?
The game setup seems to support only one joystick.
I have not tried with two gamepads yet (i have a self built two player arcade controller to lift this off), but it seems to me that it is not supported.


I think we are going to redo joust. I was wondering about the controls. Keep a watch for the new version.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests