Arcade cores

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:31 pm

Discuss about MiSTer ports of different arcade ports.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NML32 » Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:07 pm

@Sorgelig, thank you for porting and adding in-game screen rotation for the Arcade games that require rotating the monitor. :D
Sorgelig MiSTer

@Gehstock, thank you for porting Arcade cores to the MiSTer. :D
Gehstock MiSTer

@Darfpga, thank you for sharing your cores with the community. :D
Darfpga Cores

Grabulosaure
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Grabulosaure » Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:26 pm

Not exactly an "Arcade", but there is a WIP Vectrex core there :
http://temlib.org/pub/mister

An experiment in vector display.

- Due to issues with the DRAM controller, one often need to press the "warm start" button after loading the RBF file. This is the middle button of the three small buttons near the 4 switches on the DE10. Works better directly loading the .SOF file.
- The SDRAM daughterboard is not needed.
- Video output on HDMI, joystick input.
- Sound do not work. I don't know why.
- Some games don't work. Bugs !
- Work in progress.

toromand
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby toromand » Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:52 pm

Great additions! It seems things are getting quite good for MiSTer!

I have tried the Arcade cores and have noticed this:
In Galaga core, there is something wrong with the bullets, especially when you "dock" ships together. The bullets are flying inline instead of parallel, and start somewhere below the ship.

In Crazy Kong the colors *might* be a bit different from what I remember.... What do you think? (using HDMI)

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Oct 25, 2017 11:40 pm

I've just ported cores as-is. I'm not familiar with original arcade schematic and functionality.

you have 2 options if you want it be fixed:
1) fix by yourself and supply your patches.
2) notify Dar(darfpga) about problems - he is original developer of these arcade cores.

toromand
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby toromand » Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:39 am

Sorgelig wrote:I've just ported cores as-is. I'm not familiar with original arcade schematic and functionality.

you have 2 options if you want it be fixed:
1) fix by yourself and supply your patches.
2) notify Dar(darfpga) about problems - he is original developer of these arcade cores.

Yes, I know. I am just providing the information to the other members of the forum. As before, thank you for the great software/hardware and the effort in the cores making /porting.
It is also reported by someone else over in the MIST thread, so it is definitely something with the original core, I guess.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Gehstock » Fri Nov 03, 2017 11:22 pm

Grabulosaure wrote:Not exactly an "Arcade", but there is a WIP Vectrex core there :
http://temlib.org/pub/mister

An experiment in vector display.

- Due to issues with the DRAM controller, one often need to press the "warm start" button after loading the RBF file. This is the middle button of the three small buttons near the 4 switches on the DE10. Works better directly loading the .SOF file.
- The SDRAM daughterboard is not needed.
- Video output on HDMI, joystick input.
- Sound do not work. I don't know why.
- Some games don't work. Bugs !
- Work in progress.




If you use the Pace Source, the Sound is not connected.
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Nov 04, 2017 3:05 am

Post links to interesting arcades you want to see ported.

Follow only 2 simple rules:
1) FPGA source code should be available
2) No requests like "all these arcades". Only really interesting/remarkable arcades are accepted.

Slade
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:02 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Slade » Sat Nov 04, 2017 9:18 am

Let me be the first person to jump in and say: Awesomesauce !

And, how about the classic Robotron !

https://code.google.com/archive/p/robot ... ult/source

I've had a read through the readme.txt and I'm not sure whether the full cpu has been implemented. If it is, and is portable, it does look like it may well support other Williams Arcade games, like Bubbles, Defender an Joust, among others with minimal effort. There are some absolute classic arcades in there that would be fantastic to play on a big screen.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Nov 04, 2017 9:51 am

Slade wrote:Let me be the first person to jump in and say: Awesomesauce !

And, how about the classic Robotron !

https://code.google.com/archive/p/robot ... ult/source

I've had a read through the readme.txt and I'm not sure whether the full cpu has been implemented. If it is, and is portable, it does look like it may well support other Williams Arcade games, like Bubbles, Defender an Joust, among others with minimal effort. There are some absolute classic arcades in there that would be fantastic to play on a big screen.

according to youtube video, this arcade should use the same HW as Defender which is already ported.
I will see if it possible simply to use Robotron ROM in Defender core.

Slade
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:02 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Slade » Sat Nov 04, 2017 10:05 am

Sorgelig wrote:
Slade wrote:Let me be the first person to jump in and say: Awesomesauce !

And, how about the classic Robotron !

https://code.google.com/archive/p/robot ... ult/source

I've had a read through the readme.txt and I'm not sure whether the full cpu has been implemented. If it is, and is portable, it does look like it may well support other Williams Arcade games, like Bubbles, Defender an Joust, among others with minimal effort. There are some absolute classic arcades in there that would be fantastic to play on a big screen.

according to youtube video, this arcade should use the same HW as Defender which is already ported.
I will see if it possible simply to use Robotron ROM in Defender core.


If that does work (holy crap, that's brilliant if it does), then Joust, Sinistar, Splat, Bubbles and Stargate from Williams should also work, as they all use the same hardware.

I found a few arcade cores in a 5 minute google search. I also found a DE1 Gameboy FPGA implementation too, if you're interested ?

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1041
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Newsdee » Sat Nov 04, 2017 11:19 am

Looks promising:
By swapping the twelve program ROMs and the one sound ROM, Robotron 2084 can be made to play Joust, Stargate and Splat without any hardware modification other than to the controls. With a little more work you can add Defender, Bubbles and Sinistar.

Source: https://www.arcade-museum.com/game_deta ... _id=133522

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Nov 04, 2017 11:28 am

Newsdee wrote:Looks promising:
By swapping the twelve program ROMs and the one sound ROM, Robotron 2084 can be made to play Joust, Stargate and Splat without any hardware modification other than to the controls. With a little more work you can add Defender, Bubbles and Sinistar.

Source: https://www.arcade-museum.com/game_deta ... _id=133522

the only problem is how to properly map the ROMs.
if defender's 1-12 ROMs directly maps to robotron's 1-9,a-c ROMs then ok. Otherwise need to know the proper order.

Slade
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:02 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Slade » Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:33 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
Newsdee wrote:Looks promising:
By swapping the twelve program ROMs and the one sound ROM, Robotron 2084 can be made to play Joust, Stargate and Splat without any hardware modification other than to the controls. With a little more work you can add Defender, Bubbles and Sinistar.

Source: https://www.arcade-museum.com/game_deta ... _id=133522

the only problem is how to properly map the ROMs.
if defender's 1-12 ROMs directly maps to robotron's 1-9,a-c ROMs then ok. Otherwise need to know the proper order.


If this helps: Here is the Github for FPGA Robotron. https://github.com/sharebrained/robotron-fpga
It contains links to a memory map, hardware description, and a fair bit more information that may help you (I hope).

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NML32 » Sat Nov 04, 2017 12:52 pm

Does anyone know if the MiST code for Moon Patrol and Frogger are publicity available?
Last edited by NML32 on Sat Nov 04, 2017 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Slade
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:02 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Slade » Sat Nov 04, 2017 1:20 pm

NML32 wrote:Does anyone know if the MiST code for Moon Patrol and Frogger publicity available?


Moon Patrol
https://github.com/Gehstock/Sources/tre ... atrol_MIST

Frogger
https://github.com/Gehstock/Sources/tre ... ogger_MIST

There is source code for most the MiST binaries here: https://github.com/Gehstock/Sources

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:25 pm

after more precise exploring Williams platform, i found that Robotron has many differences from Defender. Defender also misses blitter existing in Robotron. So, direct ROM replacement is not possible. There is blitter in Robotron semi-implemented code. Probably it's possible to add missed 6809 CPU module from Defender, but it needs a lot of work..

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NML32 » Sat Nov 04, 2017 5:25 pm

How about Time Pilot
VHDL for Time Pilot (Konami Arcade Emulator) on Terasic DE10 Lite
https://github.com/whiterocker/time-pilot-vhdl

Darfpga
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Darfpga » Sat Nov 04, 2017 6:02 pm

Sorgelig wrote:I've just ported cores as-is. I'm not familiar with original arcade schematic and functionality.

you have 2 options if you want it be fixed:
1) fix by yourself and supply your patches.
2) notify Dar(darfpga) about problems - he is original developer of these arcade cores.


Fixed : https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpga/files/Software%20VHDL/galaga

Darfpga
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Darfpga » Sat Nov 04, 2017 6:05 pm

NML32 wrote:How about Time Pilot
VHDL for Time Pilot (Konami Arcade Emulator) on Terasic DE10 Lite
https://github.com/whiterocker/time-pilot-vhdl


Am I going to be late?! I am going to release Time Pilot tomorow ...

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Gehstock » Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:17 am

Thank you for your Work, please release it.


Any Chance for the Mist with your Version?
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:12 am



Thanks!
Ported to MiSTer.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:26 am

Darfpga wrote:Am I going to be late?! I am going to release Time Pilot tomorow ...

Please release your version.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Arcade cores

Postby DrOG » Sun Nov 05, 2017 5:26 am

Gehstock wrote:Thank you for your Work, please release it.

Any Chance for the Mist with your Version?

Yes, that would be nice... :roll:

toromand
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby toromand » Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:31 pm

Darfpga wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:I've just ported cores as-is. I'm not familiar with original arcade schematic and functionality.

you have 2 options if you want it be fixed:
1) fix by yourself and supply your patches.
2) notify Dar(darfpga) about problems - he is original developer of these arcade cores.


Fixed : https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpga/files/Software%20VHDL/galaga


Thank you for the fix, it can be played much better now. But, while you are here :), there is some strange behavior also with the single ship fire. It seems to fire TWO bullets together,killing two enemies one behind other. Can you investigate?


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Newsdee and 1 guest