MSX core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 815
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MSX core

Postby DanyPPC » Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:56 pm

You can choose to store disk games in a "dsk" directory, such as rom games in a "msx1" and "msx2" directories.

nico24
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby nico24 » Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:13 am

Dany - thanks for your help on Ianna!!

Trying it out unfortunately I get "This Megarom file does not support 1Chip-MSX"!! so maybe not possible.

I might still be able to get it working on my real msx though...

nico24
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby nico24 » Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:22 pm

So has anyone got Sword of Ianna working on the MiSTer? I'm not sure Dany was referring to that.

bitfan2011
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby bitfan2011 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:16 pm

hey all

what am i doing wrong with the MSX core, i can't get 240p out of VGA. i have to enable the scanlines to get the doubled rez, then the video will display. i also get nothing over HDMI now :[

who is actually behind this core? is it basically a straight port from MIST right now?

cheers

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 815
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MSX core

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:08 am

nico24 wrote:So has anyone got Sword of Ianna working on the MiSTer? I'm not sure Dany was referring to that.


I played it on old MSX-Core and new MSX-Core (ported from MiSTer) on my MiST without problems,

Actual MSX Core should be the same on both MiST and MiSTer, or I wrong ?

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: MSX core

Postby vanfanel » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:24 pm

DanyPPC wrote:
nico24 wrote:So has anyone got Sword of Ianna working on the MiSTer? I'm not sure Dany was referring to that.


I played it on old MSX-Core and new MSX-Core (ported from MiSTer) on my MiST without problems,

Actual MSX Core should be the same on both MiST and MiSTer, or I wrong ?


The Sword of Ianna DOES work great on the MiSTer, just do this:
-Set 2nd slot to "MegaRAM ASCII-16K 2MB"
-mgload ianna.rom /S02
-enjoy an awesome game!!

@sorgelig: there's this MSX DISPLAY.COM utility that switches between NTSC and PAL display modes on the MSX, by issuing an VDP command. It does not work on HDMI. Since there is a lot of PAL-only MSX software, could it be made to work?
https://www.msx.org/forum/msx-talk/soft ... 50-to-60hz

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6092
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MSX core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:40 am

What you mean by "doesn't work on HDMI"? Does it switch the core itself between PAL/NTSC?
HDMI PAL/NTSC is controlled by MiSTer.ini. Or you have to use vsync_adjust=1 if you want HDMI to follow core's frame rate.

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: MSX core

Postby vanfanel » Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:45 pm

Sorgelig wrote:What you mean by "doesn't work on HDMI"? Does it switch the core itself between PAL/NTSC?
HDMI PAL/NTSC is controlled by MiSTer.ini. Or you have to use vsync_adjust=1 if you want HDMI to follow core's frame rate.


What the DISPLAY.COM (and HERTZ.COM, included with MSX-DOS latest version) is set VDP to PAL or NTSC. That does not happen on this core using the HDMI display.

bitfan2011
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby bitfan2011 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:51 am

I dunno if this helps at all, but here's what my OSSC shows when i hook up some real MSXs vs. the current MiSTer core w/ default .ini

MSXs were connected by RGB SCART and the MiSTer via VGA
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by bitfan2011 on Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

bitfan2011
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby bitfan2011 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:52 am

sorry, if you hover over you can see the image names

strogen
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 8:49 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby strogen » Sat Feb 02, 2019 6:34 pm

I can't get sdcreate to work properly. I create vhd and launch sdcreate from command prompt administrator rights. It runs, it has a message that says ### CRITICAL ERROR: THE TARGET DRIVE IS NOT FOUND!

I created the vhd properly, windows recognize it. But when createsd runs my drive space become allocated and I need to format again.

I am using windows 7.

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 671
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MSX core

Postby NML32 » Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:24 pm

strogen wrote:I can't get sdcreate to work properly. I create vhd and launch sdcreate from command prompt administrator rights. It runs, it has a message that says ### CRITICAL ERROR: THE TARGET DRIVE IS NOT FOUND!

I created the vhd properly, windows recognize it. But when createsd runs my drive space become allocated and I need to format again.

I am using windows 7.

I'm not sure if this YT video will help since it was recorded on a Win10 PC.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RbhOqqawslE

strogen
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 8:49 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby strogen » Sat Feb 02, 2019 8:09 pm

I was following the video..... I think I need to install Windows 10.

Is there a way to do this by just putting the files on the VHD and moving that over to the SD Card?

Doe's this core require a second SD Card slot (IO Board)?

bitfan2011
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby bitfan2011 » Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:28 pm

Can someone please help me get 240p out of the VGA port for this core? thanks

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: MSX core

Postby vanfanel » Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:00 pm

Do you guys know how to set up a keyboard layout for the MSX2 core? It seems to be "part of the firmware" according to KdL himself, but does that mean it's impossible to set up an spanish keyboard layout without a core rebuild?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1589
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby slingshot » Thu Feb 07, 2019 4:58 pm

vanfanel wrote:Do you guys know how to set up a keyboard layout for the MSX2 core? It seems to be "part of the firmware" according to KdL himself, but does that mean it's impossible to set up an spanish keyboard layout without a core rebuild?

Yes, it's hardcoded in the core.

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: MSX core

Postby vanfanel » Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:17 pm

slingshot wrote:
vanfanel wrote:Do you guys know how to set up a keyboard layout for the MSX2 core? It seems to be "part of the firmware" according to KdL himself, but does that mean it's impossible to set up an spanish keyboard layout without a core rebuild?

Yes, it's hardcoded in the core.


So, would I be able to simply change a line on the core's sources, rebuild and that's all? (When the core is ported to the open-source scaler, because right now I would need the expensive altera tools to build a full version with the IP scaler if I'm not mistaken..)

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1589
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby slingshot » Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:28 pm

vanfanel wrote:
slingshot wrote:
vanfanel wrote:Do you guys know how to set up a keyboard layout for the MSX2 core? It seems to be "part of the firmware" according to KdL himself, but does that mean it's impossible to set up an spanish keyboard layout without a core rebuild?

Yes, it's hardcoded in the core.


So, would I be able to simply change a line on the core's sources, rebuild and that's all? (When the core is ported to the open-source scaler, because right now I would need the expensive altera tools to build a full version with the IP scaler if I'm not mistaken..)


More like replace a keymap.vhd file with a keymap.spanish.vhd (just an example), somewhere in the peripherals directory.

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: MSX core

Postby vanfanel » Fri Mar 08, 2019 11:45 am

@Sorgelig: I have seen you have applied an ym2149 noise fix to the ZX Spectrum and CPC cores:
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/ZX-Spec ... 61ef03c0b7

Could this be applied to the MSX core, too? Some games like "Invasion of the Zombie Monsters" have missing percussions, and this could be related.

Glaurung
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: MSX core

Postby Glaurung » Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:27 am

Amazing!
Playing my favorite game
Playing Maze of galious with NO INPUT LAG.
The emulators,had an horrible INPUT LAG (0,2-0,5 seconds when hit the sword)
The sound is much better than emulators too,

Awesome! thanyou! :cheers:

Glaurung
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: MSX core

Postby Glaurung » Fri Apr 05, 2019 10:02 am

I have been playing around with this core. I can play 95% of games, it's near perfect. Much better than playing with raspi.

But I have noticed a very strange bug, In fact it's strange because it happens with another fpga (ZX-uno), in MSX core.
The thing is related to the keyboard, (I have tested in 2 diferent keyboards)

When you press this 3 keys (Left arrow+up arrow+space bar) paying in any game, doesn't work.
I.E the typical arcade game, you can't shot or jump or whatever if you press this 3 keys.It doenst work,its blocks.
Any other comnination (right arrow+up arrow+space bar) works good.

I'ts annoying because its a typical key combination when you play something.

Maybe its may fault, but I don't know what I'm doing wrong.
Anyone happens this?

GoingDown
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2019 7:20 am

Re: MSX core

Postby GoingDown » Fri Apr 05, 2019 2:44 pm

Glaurung wrote:When you press this 3 keys (Left arrow+up arrow+space bar) paying in any game, doesn't work.
I.E the typical arcade game, you can't shot or jump or whatever if you press this 3 keys.It doenst work,its blocks.
Any other comnination (right arrow+up arrow+space bar) works good.


This might be caused by keyboard rollover: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rollover_(key)
If it is possible, try mapping different jump key (instead of space) - or map direction keys to somewhere else

Glaurung
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: MSX core

Postby Glaurung » Fri Apr 05, 2019 4:43 pm

GoingDown wrote:
Glaurung wrote:When you press this 3 keys (Left arrow+up arrow+space bar) paying in any game, doesn't work.
I.E the typical arcade game, you can't shot or jump or whatever if you press this 3 keys.It doenst work,its blocks.
Any other comnination (right arrow+up arrow+space bar) works good.


This might be caused by keyboard rollover: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rollover_(key)
If it is possible, try mapping different jump key (instead of space) - or map direction keys to somewhere else


It's not a "kyboard rollover".
Any other kind of 3 keys combination when playing with spacebar works.
The only combination key that doenst work its left+up+spacebar. In every game. I have tried with another diiferent keyboard with the same results.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6092
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MSX core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:03 pm

what keyboard do you use?

Glaurung
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: MSX core

Postby Glaurung » Fri Apr 05, 2019 6:04 pm

Sorgelig wrote:what keyboard do you use?


acer usb normal standard keyboard kb75211
dell usb keyboard

If someone can tellme that he doens't have this strange bug, I will asume that something very odd is happening with my 2 keyboards+fpga.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gratte and 13 guests