ao486 Core with Win95 ?

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5108
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:44 pm

New release of ao486 with vmm32.vxd error fixed. You need to update MiSTer binary as well!

JackZielke
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:11 am

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby JackZielke » Thu Apr 26, 2018 1:10 am

Outstanding!

silverfox0786
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 3:19 pm
Location: Slough, UK
Contact:

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby silverfox0786 » Mon May 07, 2018 10:58 am

can i ask how i would mount a cd rom image to load win 95/98. i can only mount floppy images and win 98 does not come in floppy format on 95

thanks

JackZielke
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:11 am

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby JackZielke » Mon May 07, 2018 12:06 pm

The first post covers that a bit. You do not mount the drive in MiSTer, you mount it on a regular OS and copy the CD contents to the virtual drive. You can do this in Linux using the partx command, or in any OS using VirtualBox. Does that help?

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby kolla » Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:42 pm

https://youtu.be/j3DQzr8VVY8

Is there a video of Win98 booting on the MiSTer somewhere, for comparison? :)
-- kolla

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 642
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby NML32 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 9:46 pm

kolla wrote:https://youtu.be/j3DQzr8VVY8

Is there a video of Win98 booting on the MiSTer somewhere, for comparison? :)


Here you go.
https://youtu.be/cdMd4kKhCh0

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby kolla » Mon Aug 06, 2018 12:39 pm

NML32 wrote:
kolla wrote:Here you go.

Thanks, cheers!
-- kolla

PiddlyD
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby PiddlyD » Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:43 am

So, I got ao486 set up and loading Windows 95 and I've managed to get a couple of games copied over to the .vhd...

Wing Commander 1 works with the mouse if I launch it from within Windows, and actually performs decent... but Windows will not see the attached joysticks, and in DOS mode, neither the joysticks, the mouse or himem are recognized.

Is there a solution to this? Do I just need a boot disk with properly configured mouse.sys and himem.sys? But even then, how would I go about loading a driver for the USB controllers? It seems like there must be something between MISTer and the core interpreting USB as a gameport in order for an old PC to see a modern USB controller as a joystick? Is this right?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5108
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:27 am

there is no joystick support in ao486.
Although you may remap the joystick buttons to keyboard if you still want to use the joystick.

PiddlyD
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby PiddlyD » Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:29 am

Has anyone gotten this to work:

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki/Internet-and-console-connection-from-supported-cores#ppp-connection-in-windows-95-on-ao486

I downloaded the Winsock 3.0 image, opened it in a Virtualbox and copied it to a 2nd .vhd. I then copied the second .vhd over to the MIST, mounted it as a second drive, and I can see the folder and files - but when I click setup, it fails, "unable to copy temporary files." it makes a temporary directory.

Maybe the setup script expects the files to be at the path a:\ ?

Are there blank floppy images, 3.25" - that will work with A0486? I could copy the files from the drive back to a floppy on A0486 and see if that fixes things.

PiddlyD
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby PiddlyD » Tue Feb 19, 2019 2:26 am

So, this is what I find.

I copied a known good boot disk in 1.44mb format as blank.img to my AO486 directory. There I mounted it, and changed the boot order to HDD/FDD. I booted into Windows, and when I try to access A: in any manner, ao486 hangs with an hourglass. The hourglass will not move, the core freezes and requires a complete reboot.

So, I tried again, but I rebooted into DOS from Windows 95. When I try to access the A: drive, the same thing happens.

So, I changed the boot order to FDD/HDD and boot from the blank.img disk. That worked fine. Once there, I changed to C:\, and that worked fine. From C:\ I executed

a:\format a: <RETURN>

And formatted the A: disk. After the format was complete, I did a directory on A: and verified it was now blank and formatted by ao486.

I rebooted, as A: was not a boot disk, it booted from C: and in Windows Explorer I tried to access the A: drive again. Same thing, it hangs hard with an hourglass.

Basically, if I boot from Windows, any attempt to access any media in A: seems to hang the entire core.

PiddlyD
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby PiddlyD » Tue Feb 19, 2019 5:12 am

I've had some more progress, but it is too late to write it all here - at the same time, I seem to have had a disaster. My .vhd may be dead.

I got into a loop where I added a second .vhd and now I can't get rid of having a second drive. There is no option to set the second drive to OFF or to select NONE for the image. Is there some way to do this that I am missing? I tried shutting down ao486, renaming the second drive image, then rebooting ao486 - and that just made windows startup fail to load completely.

Hewhoisred
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby Hewhoisred » Tue Feb 19, 2019 6:06 am

The backspace key will unmount or select none. This goes for floppies and HDs on various cores.

PiddlyD
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: ao486 Core with Win95 ?

Postby PiddlyD » Wed Feb 20, 2019 4:14 am

Hewhoisred wrote:The backspace key will unmount or select none. This goes for floppies and HDs on various cores.


Thanks. I'll give this a shot. I don't see an unmount option in the ao486 core. I thought there was one, but I couldn't find one last night. I may have been tired.

I finally got it sorted, and now have an ao486 core that can get out to FTP sites and even browse the web. :)


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests