SDRAM board

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

SDRAM board

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:46 pm

This thread is about SDRAM board only.

Post your questions and suggestions here.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SDRAM board thread

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:58 pm

SDRAM_rev board will become obsolete and incompatible when 4.0+ I/O board will be released.

The main SDRAM board design is SDRAM_uni v3.1U or older SDRAM v3.1.

Horizontal inward direction won't be supported if you will need new I/O board.

jcw
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2017 8:03 pm
Location: Houten, NL

Re: SDRAM board thread

Postby jcw » Sun Oct 15, 2017 9:20 pm

I'm just starting out on MISTer. Have assembled an V3.1R board today (horiz-inwards IIUC).

Is there any public information about your plans for the future V4 io-board at this stage?
I'm not asking for a timeline, just trying to gauge in what direction things will be g(r)o(w)ing...

(with a big thanks for all sharing all your efforts!)

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SDRAM board thread

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:43 pm

Latest I/O Board is v5.2. Newer version of I/O board includes features of older versions. So there is no plans to develop v4.x anymore as it's superseded by v5.x

jcw
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2017 8:03 pm
Location: Houten, NL

Re: SDRAM board thread

Postby jcw » Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:57 pm

Ah, of course - I've been reading up on the other threads. Ok, all clear now.

And the SDRAM board is working perfectly here at 140 MHz.
Thanks also to the excellent beginner's guide on the GitHub wiki.
Enough for some beginning MiSTer core explorations. Great!

TorsteinP
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: Norway

Re: SDRAM board thread

Postby TorsteinP » Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:25 am

jcw wrote:I'm just starting out on MISTer. Have assembled an V3.1R board today (horiz-inwards IIUC).

Is there any public information about your plans for the future V4 io-board at this stage?
I'm not asking for a timeline, just trying to gauge in what direction things will be g(r)o(w)ing...

(with a big thanks for all sharing all your efforts!)

Just a quick note: Inward SDRAM wount work with new I/O board 5.2. It covers the area used by SDRAM board.

jcw
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2017 8:03 pm
Location: Houten, NL

Re: SDRAM board thread

Postby jcw » Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:02 am

Yes, found out after I had placed the order at OSH-park. No prob.
Plenty to try out - I'll probably hand-wire an SD card to try the other cores.
Thanks for the heads up.

toromand
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:36 am

Re: SDRAM board thread

Postby toromand » Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:41 pm

Strange thing. I have decided to try to salvage and resolder my faulty(the first one I have tried to make some time ago) that couldn't pass the high speed tests. After resoldering, it passes the 150MHz test (at least the 30min I have tried as I write this), but it does not work with the cores that use it.
Any thoughts?
My other board is working fine.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SDRAM board thread

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Oct 27, 2017 6:28 pm

I never encountered such problem. Have no idea...


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: zamp and 1 guest