SDRAM board

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2013
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SDRAM board

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:44 am

Try all caps 1uF and all caps 0.1uF.

THaase
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: SDRAM board

Postby THaase » Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:50 am

Thanks for the hint.
0.1uF I've used (as this are the recomended values).

I'll give 1uF a try (but it will take till monday).
I'll report back.

cu
Thomas

THaase
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: SDRAM board

Postby THaase » Tue Apr 24, 2018 10:11 am

Dear Sorgelig,
using 1uF as blocking capacity (all of them) does the job.
XS Module with Winbond is now running fine @160MHz.

Thanks a lot.

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: SDRAM board

Postby JimDrew » Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:56 pm

I found that I had to use a variety of different caps on the same board in order for them to pass at 167MHz. I use two .1uf, two 1uf, and one each of 4.7uf and 10uf. If I use any other combination, then 167MHz fails. The Winbound chips much be really sensitive to bus noise.
I am the flux ninja

User avatar
cvenditti
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:45 am

Re: SDRAM board

Postby cvenditti » Wed Apr 25, 2018 4:21 pm

I have a 3.1U Winbond (it passes the 167mhz - with 0.1uF).
I have no issue running the 800XL core.

But something weird happen with the ZX spectrum core (part of my testing routine).
When I tried the first time I choose the "128 basic" option, type "run" command, I got "RAM failure on top" error. Reboot, I tried again same error.
The third time and since when I boot the ZX core it directly goes to the "48 basic" instead of going to the boot ZX menu (no error on the run command).
I tried with different boards I always have the ZX menu after the boot, only this one does that.

Does the ZX core have a memory test at boot to detect if the memory is bad?
I will try with other core tonight. Which core used the most of SDRAM memory module (beside the 486)? it is the Amiga?

Thank you
Cyril

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2013
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SDRAM board

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Apr 25, 2018 5:42 pm

ao486 doesn't use SDRAM. It uses DDR3.

Minimig uses almost the whole SDRAM, but it's hard to test the memory with such core as you won't be able quickly test the whole memory.
ZX probably has a simple memory test upon startup.

User avatar
cvenditti
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:45 am

Re: SDRAM board

Postby cvenditti » Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:14 pm

I tried the Minimig (24MB) with my "defective" SDRAM board yesterday for 3 hours with no issue.
Now, I have to find a Amiga program to test the whole memory.

Sorgelig you can please point me, when you have a chance, to where is the code which test the memory on the ZX core? I spend little bit of time yesterday to look at the code but I could not find anything :shrug:

Thank you
Cyril

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2013
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SDRAM board

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Apr 26, 2018 3:35 pm

It's not in core code. It's inside ZX ROM. But i'm not 100% sure it really does memory check. I only remember something like this back in ~25 years ago.

User avatar
cvenditti
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:45 am

Re: SDRAM board

Postby cvenditti » Thu Apr 26, 2018 3:36 pm

Ok, I will do some research on the ZX Rom.

# Edit
I will try tonight: ZX Spectrum Diagnostics (Tape Version)
https://github.com/brendanalford/zx-dia ... Tape-Tests
# End Edit

Thank you
Cyril

THaase
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: SDRAM board

Postby THaase » Fri Apr 27, 2018 6:59 am

Hi Cyril,

I've had one SDRam board (that I've send out :-( - the guy got a new one)) that was having a strange effect.
SDRam Test was passing 140MHz without errors.
But lower frequency tests failed - don't ask me why!

So maybe it's worth trying the SDRam Test manually on lower frequencies.

User avatar
cvenditti
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:45 am

Re: SDRAM board

Postby cvenditti » Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:22 pm

THaase wrote:Hi Cyril,

I've had one SDRam board (that I've send out :-( - the guy got a new one)) that was having a strange effect.
SDRam Test was passing 140MHz without errors.
But lower frequency tests failed - don't ask me why!

It is an Alliance Memory or a Winbond?
Did you also try it with a core before shipping (ZX, 800XL or Minimig)?
I alwyas do that because :
Sorgelig wrote:I remember what memtest doesn't check - byte access! It only check full 16bit read/write.
So, check DH/DL (DQMH/DQML) signals - they are on arduino 3-pin header.


THaase wrote:So maybe it's worth trying the SDRam Test manually on lower frequencies.

That is weird but I will give it a shot tonight with my "ZX defective" SDRAM board. thank you for the suggestion.

Cyril

THaase
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: SDRAM board

Postby THaase » Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:43 pm

Was an Alliance.
Not tested with core as I wasn’t expecting any problems as test was passed.

User avatar
cvenditti
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:45 am

Re: SDRAM board

Postby cvenditti » Fri Apr 27, 2018 1:17 pm

THaase wrote:Was an Alliance.
Not tested with core as I wasn’t expecting any problems as test was passed.

Do you have the board back? if so can you please try the old test at 140Mhz?
Cyril

THaase
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: SDRAM board

Postby THaase » Fri Apr 27, 2018 1:27 pm

No, was going to Canada ( I‘m in Germany).
Wasn’t so important for me so I‘ve just send a new one.
Btw. Only used new test in automatic mode.
But could be also a soldering problem (had some problems with this shitty ROHS).

User avatar
cvenditti
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:45 am

Re: SDRAM board

Postby cvenditti » Fri Apr 27, 2018 1:50 pm

THaase wrote:No, was going to Canada ( I‘m in Germany).
Wasn’t so important for me so I‘ve just send a new one.
Btw. Only used new test in automatic mode.
But could be also a soldering problem (had some problems with this shitty ROHS).


I can imagine that was annoying :|

I'm always using the old test.
cvenditti wrote:Yesterday I tried the new memtest for the first time with a batch of new boards, the results are not consistent with the old memtest. I had lots of errors with the old memtest_167MHz and memtest_160MHz just after 1 minute but I had none with the new memtest even after 15 min at 167MHz.
Can someone else please do the same test and see if they have the same results?


Sorgelig wrote:New memtest uses variable memory frequency so, code is different and thus produces slightly different result than single-freq memtest. 150MHz pass is more than enough. There are no cores using frequency higher than 128MHz.


I start with the 160MHz test, usually you see right away if you will have a problem with the board. All the board should at least pass the 140MHz test or I don't sell them.
After I use the ZX Spectrum core (128 basic only now after the issue that I had with the "ZX defective one") I do couple "run" command.

I hope that can help you find bad one in the future.

Cyril

THaase
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: SDRAM board

Postby THaase » Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:12 am

cvenditti wrote:I can imagine that was annoying :|

The annoying thing was: It was my last board - and the new parts have been in customs - therefore he has had to wait for 2 weeks before I was able to send him a new one.
This was the last from first batch ....

User avatar
cvenditti
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:45 am

Re: SDRAM board

Postby cvenditti » Sun Apr 29, 2018 5:13 pm

I spend time trying to diagnose the issue with my "ZX Defective" SDRAM Board.

first I re-ran the SDRAM tests (old (150Mhz) and new 20min) no issue:
IMG_20180426_203651077.jpg


I ran a Amiga memory test (on 26.5 MB - 20 rounds)(I have absolutely no issue so far with the Minimig core) no issue:
https://github.com/keirf/Amiga-Stuff
IMG_20180426_200335816.jpg


I ran the ZX test first that pass, other times failed (when the tape is not crashing):
https://github.com/brendanalford/zx-dia ... Tape-Tests
IMG_20180426_204721662.jpg

IMG_20180427_215747090.jpg


At this point I don't know what is the issue. I don't really care about the board my goal is not to fix it (I will be more happy trash it at this point) but I think it can be useful for improving the SDRAM Test.
Sorgelig or anyone else (I will pay for the shipping), I can send it your way if you think you can improve the SDRAM test with it.

Let me know
Cyril
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2013
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SDRAM board

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Apr 29, 2018 8:46 pm

It's possible this module will work OK to me. Every DE10-nano board is unique in terms of FPGA consistency. That's why sometimes big core like ao486 works ok on one DE10-nano board and has issue on other.
Did you test it only on one DE10-nano board?

User avatar
cvenditti
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:45 am

Re: SDRAM board

Postby cvenditti » Wed May 30, 2018 3:22 pm

I can only find the 1x3 (3 Pos.) Male Pin Header (PRPC040SBBN-M71RC) at Digi-Key, I try LCSC without luck. Did someone find an equivalent?

Thank you
Cyril

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2013
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SDRAM board

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 30, 2018 6:36 pm

you can order 40pin L header and cut it by 3pins.

User avatar
cvenditti
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:45 am

Re: SDRAM board

Postby cvenditti » Wed May 30, 2018 6:53 pm

Sorgelig wrote:you can order 40pin L header and cut it by 3pins.

PRPC040SBBN-M71RC is little bit longer than a regular 40pin L header.

A PRPC040SBBN-M71RC is 6mm * 6mm
https://www.digikey.com/products/en?key ... 21EC-40-ND
Contact Length - Mating 0.230" (5.84mm)
Contact Length - Post 0.220" (5.58mm)

A regular 40pin L header have one side shorter: 6mm * 3mm
https://datasheet.lcsc.com/szlcsc/Shenz ... 124366.pdf

So do you think a regular 40pin L header might work?

Thank you
Cyril

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2013
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SDRAM board

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 30, 2018 8:11 pm

I cannot tell for sure, but you can trim the length. Basically you need only one side of the header - so you can try either side to choose more suitable and then solder and trim the other side.

THaase
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: SDRAM board

Postby THaase » Sat Jun 02, 2018 3:49 pm

Hi Cyrill,

the normal headers work, but you have to solder them in place as the pins do not completely goes through the holes.

User avatar
cvenditti
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:45 am

Re: SDRAM board

Postby cvenditti » Sat Jun 02, 2018 9:40 pm

THaase wrote:the normal headers work, but you have to solder them in place as the pins do not completely goes through the holes.

Yes, I tried, but I still ordered the PRPC040SBBN-M71RC at Digi-key (I had other stuff to buy anyway).

I did 2 Winbond XS SDRam. I had the same issue that you had previously. I ordered some 1uF caps, I hope that will solve the issue. I think it depend on the batch of Winbond because the first order work fine with the 0.1uF.

Thank you

Cyril


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests