I/O Board

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2072
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jun 11, 2018 4:57 pm

Note:
for new GPIO connector functioning, you need to solder pins in P7 connector. If you use 2x20 header with long pins, then you can use cut pins as pins for P7 header.

20180612_005804.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

THaase
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: I/O Board

Postby THaase » Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:37 am

Dear Sorgelig,

at the moment I'm preparing a new batch of 5.2 boards (SMD parts are mostly soldered), but I've already ordered all (more or less) parts for the new 5.5 - so next batch after will be based on 5.5 (until there will be nothing newer when I'm ordering :D ).

Some short question:
- LED4 is similar to LED1? (I guess yes)
- Any hint for the USB3.0? (LCSC doesn't have the right ones as far as I can see - and Digikey is quite expensive (1.73€ for a USB3 connector is not cheap I think :-) )
Edit: Does this fit?
Type 1
or
Type 2
Thanks a lot for your great work!

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2072
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:34 am

THaase wrote:- LED4 is similar to LED1? (I guess yes)

I'm using the same as LED1.
LED1 may be both 3mm and 5mm. LED4 is supposed to be a 3mm LED (may be 5mm will fit as well - i didn't test). Make sure it's bright enough to make TOSLink work. Would be better if you will try it first. I cannot give an exact part number as i'm using no-name LEDs i've ordered in big bucket of many colors from Aliexpress long time ago.
I believe any red LED with 90mcd and up should work.

THaase wrote:Edit: Does this fit?
Type 1
or
Type 2

Both are looking compatible. It's surprising that lcsc has no USB3 sockets.

THaase
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: I/O Board

Postby THaase » Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:47 am

Thanks for the fast reply.
LCSC has USB3 but nothing 90 degree

THaase
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: I/O Board

Postby THaase » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:19 am

Dear Sorgelig,
sorry to bother you again, but I'm having a 'problem' with the dimension of R32 (Resistor for the SPDIF LED).
In the schematics you say: 200R

And you say:
Sorgelig wrote:I believe any red LED with 90mcd and up should work.


I'm not using the Würth mentioned in the Wiki (that only have 35mcd), but this one from LCSC LED

Mentioned as:340-480mcd@20mA
Forward Voltage is: 2.2V (as usual) if I calculate this with 200R and 3.3 I'm getting 5.5mA ....

For 20mA it should be 56R and for 3mA Leds it should be about 390R ....
For sure its not needed to go for the full 20mA .... but wouldn't a value of 100R (11mA) more suitable?

Thanks for your help.

User avatar
cvenditti
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:45 am

Re: I/O Board

Postby cvenditti » Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:53 pm

THaase wrote:Thanks for the fast reply.
LCSC has USB3 but nothing 90 degree

What about this one:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/50pcs-U ... autifyAB=0

or

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/30Pcs-H ... autifyAB=0

Cyril

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2072
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Jun 13, 2018 3:16 pm


they also look compatible.


THaase wrote:I'm not using the Würth mentioned in the Wiki (that only have 35mcd), but this one from LCSC LED

Mentioned as:340-480mcd@20mA
Forward Voltage is: 2.2V (as usual) if I calculate this with 200R and 3.3 I'm getting 5.5mA ....

For 20mA it should be 56R and for 3mA Leds it should be about 390R ....
For sure its not needed to go for the full 20mA .... but wouldn't a value of 100R (11mA) more suitable?

Generally speaking, resistor value depends on used LED. 20mA is too much for FPGA output so, don't expect such current. Use 4mA as a target. 340mcd look insane to me but with 4-5mA it will provide enough light to make TOSLink work.

mattsoft
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:11 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby mattsoft » Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:27 am

Quick question about the Ext LEDs header on the IO board: I'm looking at the schematics, but not knowing a lot about electronics, I'm trying to understand if LEDs attached to the Ext LEDs header still need R21, R22, and R23 soldered in place? Thanks!

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2072
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:38 am

Nope.
External LEDs need to use resistors externally together with LEDs depending on supplied voltage.
For example A1200 LEDs are double LEDs and may require 5V with specific resistors to work.
A600 LEDs are single LEDs and should be powered by 3.3V. You can check the A600 LED board - it may include resistors already - though they are for 5V.
You also need to check how those LEDs are soldered. A1200/A600 use common cathode while MiSTer requires common anode. So you just need to desolder the LEDs and solder back in opposite direction.

mattsoft
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:11 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby mattsoft » Sun Jun 24, 2018 2:10 am

Sorgelig wrote:Nope.
External LEDs need to use resistors externally together with LEDs depending on supplied voltage.
For example A1200 LEDs are double LEDs and may require 5V with specific resistors to work.
A600 LEDs are single LEDs and should be powered by 3.3V. You can check the A600 LED board - it may include resistors already - though they are for 5V.
You also need to check how those LEDs are soldered. A1200/A600 use common cathode while MiSTer requires common anode. So you just need to desolder the LEDs and solder back in opposite direction.


Thanks Sorgelig - very helpful! I got some 2.2V LEDs working with a 300 Ohm resistor inline using the Ext LEDs header. It looks like the A600 are indeed 3.3V, so if the IO board is 3.3V, then I don't need a resistor inline to drop the power. The Tynemouth board uses a 220 Ohm resistor, which makes sense because it's a 5V USB device and needs to drop down to 3.3V for the LEDs. I may try this without any resistors...wish me luck!

EDIT: it works! turned the LEDs around on the A600 keyboard so they have a common anode and power, HDD, and FD access lights all work with minimig core. Thanks Sorgelig!

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2072
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:11 am

do not use LEDs without resistors!
It's not about voltage. Resistors limit the current on LEDs. Without resistors current will be too high. You may fry either LED or FPGA chip! Even if it looks like working - it may damage both components in long usage.
A600 doesn't use 3.3V. It's 5V computer.
I suggest to use at least 200 Ohm resistors.

mattsoft
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:11 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby mattsoft » Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:49 pm

Sorgelig wrote:do not use LEDs without resistors!
It's not about voltage. Resistors limit the current on LEDs. Without resistors current will be too high. You may fry either LED or FPGA chip! Even if it looks like working - it may damage both components in long usage.
A600 doesn't use 3.3V. It's 5V computer.
I suggest to use at least 200 Ohm resistors.


Yup, I have some 220 Ohm resistors wired in just in case. :)

cvtof
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 6:25 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby cvtof » Mon Jun 25, 2018 11:01 am

Hello, I have a card I / O, question:
On choice of core, my VGA out is monochrome Normal? (on the games too)

Thank you !

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2072
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:13 pm

Compare to HDMI output. If it is also monochrome then it's normal.
Some cores are monochrome.

cvtof
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 6:25 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby cvtof » Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:56 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Compare to HDMI output. If it is also monochrome then it's normal.
Some cores are monochrome.

no in HDMI the colors are good :) in VGA signal is GREEN... (as monochrome)

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2072
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:46 pm

check if I/O board is connected correctly and sits firmly. Check if components on I/O board aren't damaged.
And of course make sure your monitor supports non-standard video modes, as VGA connector often outputs TV frequencies instead of true VGA.

eris
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:32 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby eris » Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:33 pm

Is one of the primary reasons for the IO board to circumvent the one hour timeout on the HDMI and scaler IP from Altera? I believe the other one is that the HDMI IP also takes a lot of space and compile time.

I guess I could also just plug into my monitors VGA autoscaler port... not many have those today.

Maybe someone could try using a free HDMI core?

Eris

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2072
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:35 pm

There is no timeouts on HDMI. It works as long as you want.

eris
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:32 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby eris » Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:42 pm

Sorgelig wrote:There is no timeouts on HDMI. It works as long as you want.

Oh ok.

In the core porting doc it says there is a timeout if you don't have the full development license.

Also, does HDMI still take a long time to compile?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2072
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:07 pm

You mess different thing and jump from topic to topic.
You've asked about time out in released cores - i've said there is no timeouts there.
Compilation and licenses are completely different things. End user should not worry about this.

eris
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:32 pm

Re: I/O Board

Postby eris » Mon Jun 25, 2018 5:13 pm

Sorgelig wrote:You mess different thing and jump from topic to topic.
You've asked about time out in released cores - i've said there is no timeouts there.
Compilation and licenses are completely different things. End user should not worry about this.


Ok. I failed to mention I was reading the porting guide.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests