It's no more a MiSTery

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

solskogen
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:03 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby solskogen » Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:02 pm

I was a bit too fast.
The credit scroll at the end of Systematic Error doesn't really work. The whole screen goes black and F12 doesn't bring up the GUI.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1512
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby slingshot » Thu Jan 23, 2020 1:17 pm

solskogen wrote:I was a bit too fast.
The credit scroll at the end of Systematic Error doesn't really work. The whole screen goes black and F12 doesn't bring up the GUI.

I've noticed that screen is a bit shaking on my monitor. Probably that screen messes with the sync signals (maybe they experimented with an interlace effect?). Did you try on a 15kHz TV? VGAs are very different how they deal with sync-messing-ups.

solskogen
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:03 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby solskogen » Thu Jan 23, 2020 2:09 pm

slingshot wrote:
solskogen wrote:I was a bit too fast.
The credit scroll at the end of Systematic Error doesn't really work. The whole screen goes black and F12 doesn't bring up the GUI.

I've noticed that screen is a bit shaking on my monitor. Probably that screen messes with the sync signals (maybe they experimented with an interlace effect?). Did you try on a 15kHz TV? VGAs are very different how they deal with sync-messing-ups.


No, I haven't tried with other than the monitor that I currently setup with the MiST. Perhaps I should try another one . The monitor I'm using (Benq XL2411T) seems to run everything else I've thrown at it.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1512
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby slingshot » Thu Jan 23, 2020 2:15 pm

solskogen wrote:
No, I haven't tried with other than the monitor that I currently setup with the MiST. Perhaps I should try another one . The monitor I'm using (Benq XL2411T) seems to run everything else I've thrown at it.

Sync signals are usually taboo in the ST world, but some demos are messing with them (maybe because of a bug, maybe with some intention). TVs are more tolerant than the scandoubler/VGA combos.

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3928
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby ijor » Thu Jan 23, 2020 4:37 pm

slingshot wrote:
solskogen wrote:No, I haven't tried with other than the monitor that I currently setup with the MiST. Perhaps I should try another one . The monitor I'm using (Benq XL2411T) seems to run everything else I've thrown at it.

Sync signals are usually taboo in the ST world, but some demos are messing with them (maybe because of a bug, maybe with some intention). TVs are more tolerant than the scandoubler/VGA combos.


A few demos and even a couple of games alter sync. Most of them without knowing. The results on a modern monitor, or even on a not so old CRT TV are unpredictable. I didn't test and don't know if this is the case of this particular demo
Fx Cast: Atari St cycle accurate fpga core

jamesrc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:33 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby jamesrc » Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:17 am

It's 11pm here, but I'll try Systematic Error on my 15khz display tomorrow at some point.

Chris23235
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby Chris23235 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 10:53 am

If someone can give me a link to the demo I can test it as well on a 15 KHz monitor. The MSA version I found didn't work at all after I converted the disc to ST.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1512
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby slingshot » Sun Jan 26, 2020 11:01 am

It needs the git version of the core, otherwise hangs on Microwire access at the beginning.

Chris23235
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby Chris23235 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 11:20 am

Ah okay, thanks for the info.

jamesrc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:33 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby jamesrc » Sun Jan 26, 2020 9:00 pm

I might have to wait for an official release to validate this. I haven't had much luck with the latest from Slingshot's repo.

User avatar
RealLarry
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby RealLarry » Mon Jan 27, 2020 7:26 am

slingshot wrote:It needs the git version of the core, otherwise hangs on Microwire access at the beginning.

Can't get this version (commit 1c194a0) to work, getting a black screen only. OSD works, but that's all.
MiST v1.3, normal VGA
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1512
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby slingshot » Mon Jan 27, 2020 6:43 pm

Did you do a submodule update?

User avatar
RealLarry
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby RealLarry » Mon Jan 27, 2020 7:59 pm

slingshot wrote:Did you do a submodule update?

Oh yes, for sure - everytime I pull this repo :angel:
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:42 pm


User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 900
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby vebxenon » Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:43 pm

Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
rondc
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:59 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby rondc » Sun Feb 09, 2020 5:14 pm

Thanks a Million ! :cheers: :D

jamesrc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:33 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby jamesrc » Mon Feb 10, 2020 3:23 am

Oooh. Looking forward to grabbing this!

jamesrc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:33 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby jamesrc » Mon Feb 10, 2020 4:46 am

solskogen wrote:I was a bit too fast.
The credit scroll at the end of Systematic Error doesn't really work. The whole screen goes black and F12 doesn't bring up the GUI.


Now I have the new core...

Is this the vertical scroller at the end?

It works on my 15khz display, but there's sure some shimmer. It looks like an attempt at an interlacing effect. It might just be my screen doesn't handle the effect very well. :)

Very occasionally, the screen flashes black for a frame or so, too. Don't know if that's the behaviour on original hardware or not.

But overall, it works. It renders. :)

User avatar
RealLarry
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby RealLarry » Mon Feb 10, 2020 5:52 am

jamesrc wrote:
solskogen wrote:Is this the vertical scroller at the end?
Very occasionally, the screen flashes black for a frame or so, too. Don't know if that's the behaviour on original hardware or not.

It must be the scroller at the end of the demo. Same behaviour here at normal VGA. Have to activate my STE which is in my lab for cleaning and expanding with a Gotek.
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.

User avatar
Higgy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby Higgy » Mon Feb 10, 2020 7:50 pm

jamesrc wrote:It works on my 15khz display, but there's sure some shimmer. It looks like an attempt at an interlacing effect. It might just be my screen doesn't handle the effect very well. :)

Very occasionally, the screen flashes black for a frame or so, too. Don't know if that's the behaviour on original hardware or not.

But overall, it works. It renders. :)


@jamesrc - how are you getting this Core to work with 15khz, when I run the Core it seems to go to 30khz?
Does the TOS make a difference or is it some config file? I am running all my other Cores on 15khz CRT.
Thanks

solskogen
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:03 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby solskogen » Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:28 pm

jamesrc wrote:
solskogen wrote:I was a bit too fast.
The credit scroll at the end of Systematic Error doesn't really work. The whole screen goes black and F12 doesn't bring up the GUI.


Now I have the new core...

Is this the vertical scroller at the end?

It works on my 15khz display, but there's sure some shimmer. It looks like an attempt at an interlacing effect. It might just be my screen doesn't handle the effect very well. :)

Very occasionally, the screen flashes black for a frame or so, too. Don't know if that's the behaviour on original hardware or not.

But overall, it works. It renders. :)


Probably due to my monitoring. I can't get to the menu system at the end of the demo.

jamesrc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:33 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby jamesrc » Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:41 pm

Higgy wrote:
jamesrc wrote:It works on my 15khz display, but there's sure some shimmer. It looks like an attempt at an interlacing effect. It might just be my screen doesn't handle the effect very well. :)

Very occasionally, the screen flashes black for a frame or so, too. Don't know if that's the behaviour on original hardware or not.

But overall, it works. It renders. :)


@jamesrc - how are you getting this Core to work with 15khz, when I run the Core it seems to go to 30khz?
Does the TOS make a difference or is it some config file? I am running all my other Cores on 15khz CRT.
Thanks


scandoubler_disable=1 in my mist.ini works for me.

jamesrc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:33 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby jamesrc » Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:43 pm

solskogen wrote:Probably due to my monitoring. I can't get to the menu system at the end of the demo.


Sounds like it. :(

Are you still getting sound out the 3.5mm jack?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1512
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby slingshot » Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:56 pm

solskogen wrote:
Probably due to my monitoring. I can't get to the menu system at the end of the demo.

If the monitor loses the sync, of course you won't get the OSD.

solskogen
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:03 pm

Re: It's no more a MiSTery

Postby solskogen » Tue Feb 11, 2020 7:24 am

slingshot wrote:
solskogen wrote:
Probably due to my monitoring. I can't get to the menu system at the end of the demo.

If the monitor loses the sync, of course you won't get the OSD.


Yes, but the monitor itself doesn't think that it looses sync :-)
But perhaps that's due to the MiST using VGA? If it looses sync with either HDMI or DVI, the small green led becomes red.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests