MiSTery core

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

goran
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:17 pm

MiSTery core

Postby goran » Sun Aug 18, 2019 1:29 pm

Anyone compiled MiSTery core?
It's in gyurcos repo: https://github.com/gyurco/MiSTery

Best regards,
Goran

jamesrc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:33 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: MiSTery core

Postby jamesrc » Sun Aug 18, 2019 5:15 pm

Looks like this is the ongoing ST work (as mentioned in my thread about ST demos, below).

I also figure that if he wanted anyone playing with it right now, he'd say so, so I'm leaving it alone. ;)

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1398
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiSTery core

Postby slingshot » Sun Aug 18, 2019 6:38 pm

It's work in progress, but will released soon. Needs a firmware upgrade anyway.

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 682
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: MiSTery core

Postby DrOG » Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:03 am

Thanks for the effort to everyone who is still improving MiST on firmware/core level! :cheers:

sebdel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: MiSTery core

Postby sebdel » Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:20 am

slingshot,
It's amazing what you and Till are doing for the ST core right now. I see you are targetting tricky demos like closure or Froggies over the Fence that needs crazy accurate emulation of basically everything, but there are also older demos that won't start because of RAM size miscalculation. I'm sorry I don't have specific examples in mind right now, but do you plan to support 1MB or even 512KB setup on this core?

Bonus question, is there any way to reward you for your work?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1398
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiSTery core

Postby slingshot » Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:19 am

512K-1M-2M settings were there in the firmware and the original core since the beginning, just they were disabled for some reason. I've re-enabled them silently :)

I've spent way too much free time (and work time, too, just don't tell my employee) on this to have some realistic compensation. So it is the best to let it a hobby which I do until I enjoy it or found interesting. But thanks for thinking about that.

jamesrc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:33 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: MiSTery core

Postby jamesrc » Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:30 am

slingshot wrote:512K-1M-2M settings were there in the firmware and the original core since the beginning, just they were disabled for some reason. I've re-enabled them silently :)

I've spent way too much free time (and work time, too, just don't tell my employee) on this to have some realistic compensation. So it is the best to let it a hobby which I do until I enjoy it or found interesting. But thanks for thinking about that.


It may not be fully rewarding you for your efforts, but if you set up a tip jar, I'd be at the front of the line to chip in.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1325
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiSTery core

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:05 pm

The 512k to 2mb settings were never really correct. The mmu was always configured by tos as it would be for 4mb. This was more like a set of defective chips in a 4mb setup with only 512k working properly.

This needs some more thinking so that the ram behaves like the different ram configurations on a real ST incl. the different mmu configurations so the initial ram test configures the mmu appropriately.

This may be totally irrelevant and no software may ever notice that... but this is imho needed for a 'perfect' ST replica.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1398
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiSTery core

Postby slingshot » Thu Aug 22, 2019 7:11 am

Here the MMU config registers are implemented as in the original STe. That has a bit of difference from the ST, because bit 0 and 1 are not used. But I didn't see any problem with <4 MB modes.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MiSTery core

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Oct 27, 2019 8:43 pm

For me this core has syncho screen problems respect old MiST core for ST.

It doesn't display even on a PAL monitor 8833mk2.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MiSTery core

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Oct 28, 2019 7:42 pm

Ok, it works on YPbPr in 50i mode (scandoubler_disable=1) = Stable image.

How to rename the games dir ? (mistery or what ?)

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1398
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiSTery core

Postby slingshot » Mon Oct 28, 2019 8:43 pm

Currently it goes to the root dir only.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MiSTery core

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Oct 28, 2019 8:45 pm

Ok, so this core on my video setup hates 50p (progressive mode) :)

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MiSTery core

Postby DanyPPC » Wed Oct 30, 2019 8:44 am

What differenze there is in this core between 50i and 50p mode ?
Why does the core prefer 50i mode (at least on my display) ?

Thanks Slingshot for your attention.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1398
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiSTery core

Postby slingshot » Wed Oct 30, 2019 8:52 am

DanyPPC wrote:What differenze there is in this core between 50i and 50p mode ?

Use of the scandoubler (and separate sync in scandoubled mode, composite in 15kHz).

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MiSTery core

Postby DanyPPC » Wed Oct 30, 2019 9:40 am

Ah, ok. Now I undestand.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1398
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiSTery core

Postby slingshot » Wed Oct 30, 2019 9:51 am

DanyPPC wrote:Ah, ok. Now I undestand.

From the pinout of the monitor in this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=17498
I assume you need different cables for composite/separate sync.
And I don't understand how this monitor could work in 31 kHz (the 50p mode - scandoubler enabled), it's 15kHz only.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MiSTery core

Postby DanyPPC » Wed Oct 30, 2019 2:31 pm

I refer to my LCD Samusung display wired to MiST via YPbPr/Component cable.

Old Atari ST core works well in 50p/60p mode.
MiSTery accept only 50i mode, but for now is more compatible with some games.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MiSTery core

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Nov 03, 2019 7:31 pm

MiStery is superb, but Super Hang-On has always graphic glitches.

Anyway, thanks for this fantastic Atari ST core :cheers:


EDIT: Is it possible to simulate jagpad to play R0X Zero (STE) ?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1398
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiSTery core

Postby slingshot » Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:04 pm

DanyPPC wrote:EDIT: Is it possible to simulate jagpad to play R0X Zero (STE) ?

Yes, adding the STe control port is planned.

breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: MiSTery core

Postby breiztiger » Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:07 pm

hi

is there someone try to port this core to MiSTer ? :?:

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MiSTery core

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:58 pm

slingshot wrote:
DanyPPC wrote:EDIT: Is it possible to simulate jagpad to play R0X Zero (STE) ?

Yes, adding the STe control port is planned.


WoW ! Great news !

NONETE
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:49 pm

Re: MiSTery core

Postby NONETE » Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:37 pm

DanyPPC wrote:MiStery is superb, but Super Hang-On has always graphic glitches.

Anyway, thanks for this fantastic Atari ST core :cheers:


EDIT: Is it possible to simulate jagpad to play R0X Zero (STE) ?


Try this version of Super Hang On:

https://atari.8bitchip.info/SCRSH/suphng.html

Tell me if have no graphic glitches, please

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MiSTery core

Postby DanyPPC » Wed Nov 06, 2019 8:26 am

Same problems, only Steem emulator on PC plays the game without graphic errors.

Anyway game is playable, and it's most important part :wink:

User avatar
fury23
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 2:08 pm

Re: MiSTery core

Postby fury23 » Sun Dec 01, 2019 3:56 pm

NONETE wrote:
DanyPPC wrote:MiStery is superb, but Super Hang-On has always graphic glitches.

Anyway, thanks for this fantastic Atari ST core :cheers:


EDIT: Is it possible to simulate jagpad to play R0X Zero (STE) ?


Try this version of Super Hang On:

https://atari.8bitchip.info/SCRSH/suphng.html

Tell me if have no graphic glitches, please

It seems that Super Hang On on latest version of MiStery don't have graphic glitches.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rondc and 3 guests