Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 877
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby vebxenon » Fri Sep 13, 2019 11:50 pm

slingshot wrote:Fixed most(all?) reported visual glitches, please try this:

https://github.com/gyurco/SNES_MiSTer/r ... /tag/test2


Now more games are running :D , even some BS games like Kirby Pinball. But I've found that Gods gets stuck in "Licensed by Nintendo" screen :shrug: , I'm using the PAL rom in PAL mode.

Still same issues with NTSC on my monitor. When I change from PAL to NTSC, monitor blinks and try to change the videomode every few seconds. On other cores I don't have this problem.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 877
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby vebxenon » Sat Sep 14, 2019 12:24 am

Another Game: NBA Hang Time. After some minutes in demo Mode, screen gets black. PAL tested.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby squid4 » Sat Sep 14, 2019 3:51 pm

Anyone got Super Mario World working? All others I've tried are working great on test2. Anyone got the joystick_remap for an iBuffalo? Can't seem to get the additional two buttons working. Is it possible to add support for the SMC format, which is very common? Think it's just SFC with a 512byte header

hyperterminal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby hyperterminal » Sat Sep 14, 2019 5:18 pm

squid4 wrote:Anyone got the joystick_remap for an iBuffalo?

Code: Select all

[snes]
joystick_remap=0583,2060,1,2,4,8,10,20,100,200,400,800,40,80

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 424
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby Gehstock » Sat Sep 14, 2019 5:19 pm

No Problems here
IMG_20190914_191533.jpg
IMG_20190914_191520.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby squid4 » Sat Sep 14, 2019 5:38 pm

Thanks for the joystick remap hyperterminal, works great!

Got Super Mario World working, was a HiROM but my detection tool showed it as LoROM. Works fine in HiROM mode.

squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby squid4 » Sat Sep 14, 2019 9:05 pm

Pocky & Rocky 1 has flashing background. Pocky & Rock 2 is fine.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1417
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby slingshot » Sat Sep 14, 2019 11:01 pm

squid4 wrote:Pocky & Rocky 1 has flashing background. Pocky & Rock 2 is fine.

Try test3.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 877
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby vebxenon » Sat Sep 14, 2019 11:47 pm

slingshot wrote:
squid4 wrote:Pocky & Rocky 1 has flashing background. Pocky & Rock 2 is fine.

Try test3.


https://github.com/gyurco/SNES_MiSTer/r ... /tag/test3 Thanks! :cheers: :cheers:

I'll do tests tomorrow.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 877
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby vebxenon » Sun Sep 15, 2019 8:52 am

Still my monitor (NEC MultiSync EA190M) doesn't like NTSC Mode (blinks every few seconds, like when you switch input or video mode), but running on PAL I'm very happy with this core :D.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby squid4 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 10:56 am

Test3 works great with Pocky & Rocky 1, it also fixes FZero graphics and music distortion in Mystical Ninja!

Is SRAM backup saves going to be possible? The SNES uses them extensively in many games.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1417
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby slingshot » Sun Sep 15, 2019 11:09 am

squid4 wrote:Test3 works great with Pocky & Rocky 1, it also fixes FZero graphics and music distortion in Mystical Ninja!

Is SRAM backup saves going to be possible? The SNES uses them extensively in many games.


Maybe. Now there are some hundred free LCs, the backup load/save code is not that huge in Genesis and SMS.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1417
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby slingshot » Sun Sep 15, 2019 11:16 am

vebxenon wrote:Still my monitor (NEC MultiSync EA190M) doesn't like NTSC Mode (blinks every few seconds, like when you switch input or video mode), but running on PAL I'm very happy with this core :D.

Strange, it does the same with scandoubled YPbPr mode on my TV. But my RGB monitor is OK.

SchneiderCPC664
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby SchneiderCPC664 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:50 pm

It's so amazing. All my favorite games are working. :D Thank you very much.

The PAL mode on my TV (VGA) is to dark and to red but I can launch Donkey Kong Country 2 in PAL mode (german game version) and than switch to NTSC mode. :lol:

MIST forever! :cheers:

gtv3000
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 11:57 am

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby gtv3000 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 12:13 pm

Hi all, i'm a new user and Thanks a lot for the MIST core!

the first test version worked very well for me (there were only occasional glitches after loading the roms)

The test3 version gets stuck after a while I play with almost all the roms, except for the Turtles In Time game (used for 40 minutes)

I use the MIST connected with a VGA cable and Monitor 17" LG CRT produced in 2003, the USB peripherals are a Logitech KM400 keyboard and a PAD of the PSX Classic

mapping of my pad to make it equal to the SNES controller: joystick_remap=054C,0CDA,1,2,4,8,100,10,20,200,1000,2000,400,800,40,80


Anyway thanks again for this nice present for the MIST :cheers:

gtv3000
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 11:57 am

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby gtv3000 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 12:14 pm

Hi all, i'm a new user and Thanks a lot for the MIST core!

the first test version worked very well for me (there were only occasional glitches after loading the roms)

The test3 version gets stuck after a while I play with almost all the roms, except for the Turtles In Time game (used for 40 minutes)

I use the MIST connected with a VGA cable and Monitor 17" LG CRT produced in 2003, the USB peripherals are a Logitech KM400 keyboard and a PAD of the PSX Classic

mapping of my pad to make it equal to the SNES controller: joystick_remap=054C,0CDA,1,2,4,8,100,10,20,200,1000,2000,400,800,40,80


Anyway thanks again for this nice present for the MIST :cheers:

squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby squid4 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:47 pm

Maybe this only affects test3 but I find it best to do a hard reset (left button) each time I want to play a new game, otherwise I regularly get corruption issues.

lips2k15
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby lips2k15 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:00 pm

Amazing - I just checked in after a while to find this!!! I love it!

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1417
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby slingshot » Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:23 pm

Well, the SDRAM is a bit "overclocked", so you must have some luck to achieve it stability. It's not a real overclocking (128MHz is in spec), but the ACTIVE-to-ACTIVE period can be 62.5ns instead of a minimum of 66. Maybe attaching a small heatsink can help (the ideal solution would be to use one with a -6 speed grade).

gtv3000
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 11:57 am

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby gtv3000 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:47 pm

squid4 wrote:Maybe this only affects test3 but I find it best to do a hard reset (left button) each time I want to play a new game, otherwise I regularly get corruption issues.


slingshot wrote:Well, the SDRAM is a bit "overclocked", so you must have some luck to achieve it stability. It's not a real overclocking (128MHz is in spec), but the ACTIVE-to-ACTIVE period can be 62.5ns instead of a minimum of 66. Maybe attaching a small heatsink can help (the ideal solution would be to use one with a -6 speed grade).


so reboot every time I want to change game and if it crashes I still open the mist and add a fan

thanks for the advice, I'll do more tests tonight :)

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1417
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby slingshot » Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:46 pm

squid4 wrote:Is SRAM backup saves going to be possible? The SNES uses them extensively in many games.


https://github.com/gyurco/SNES_MiSTer/releases/test4b

squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby squid4 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 5:21 pm

slingshot! 8O :D :cheers:

Televicious
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby Televicious » Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:45 pm

slingshot wrote:
squid4 wrote:Is SRAM backup saves going to be possible? The SNES uses them extensively in many games.


https://github.com/gyurco/SNES_MiSTer/releases/test4b


This one and the test 2 release have huge weird OSD for some reason now, also Test 4b doesn't load Pilotwings at all, will play around with the save function more though to see how well that works.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1417
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby slingshot » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:06 pm

Televicious wrote:
This one and the test 2 release have huge weird OSD for some reason now, also Test 4b doesn't load Pilotwings at all, will play around with the save function more though to see how well that works.


It's big, but size in the FPGA is the half. Pilotwings works for me (LoROM).

Televicious
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: Mister SNES port to MIST possible?

Postby Televicious » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:13 pm

slingshot wrote:
Televicious wrote:
This one and the test 2 release have huge weird OSD for some reason now, also Test 4b doesn't load Pilotwings at all, will play around with the save function more though to see how well that works.


It's big, but size in the FPGA is the half. Pilotwings works for me (LoROM).


Yea I was in lorom mode, it works perfect it test 2 release and even loads in the original release, just not test 4 for some reason, just black screen after loading. Though I was trying ultraman in both test 2 and 4 releases to see the graphics glitches in background were gone. They were gone, but now game is randomly resetting during play. Not sure what would cause that.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests