Using an X-Arcade Tankstick with the Mist?

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

vattari
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:57 pm
Location: Victoria, Australia

Using an X-Arcade Tankstick with the Mist?

Postby vattari » Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:32 am

Has anyone had any luck using an X-Arcade Tankstick with their Mist?

It connects via USB but is seen as a USB or PS/2 keyboard rather than a joystick. I’ve used the USB test feature in one of the cores to get the PID/VID values and the codes for each of the buttons. An entry in mist.ini only seemed to break other joystick functionality (strangely, the joystick works fine on the Core menus - up/down/select - without any mappings).
  • Mega STE/4, Monster board, 40GB IDE, CosmosEx
  • Mega ST4, Monster board, 8GB CF, Gotek
  • TT4/16, SCSI2SD
  • Falcon 14MB, 8GB CF, Falcon Speed, CosmosEx
  • Falcon 14MB, 8GB SD, Gotek
  • 130XE/myIDE2; 800XL/Supermon; XEGS/SIO2SD; 800XL/SIO2SD; 130XE/SIDE2
  • 1040STE/4MB, Monster board (8GB SD, RTC)
Work-in-progress: Mega ST4/Matrix M110 video; Mega ST2/Titan Reflex video; TT 2/16MB; 1200XL UAV; 400 UAV/Audio; 800

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Using an X-Arcade Tankstick with the Mist?

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Oct 30, 2018 12:04 pm

vattari wrote:(strangely, the joystick works fine on the Core menus - up/down/select - without any mappings).


Because this is a standard keyboard function.

User avatar
nightshadowpt
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 5:04 am

Re: Using an X-Arcade Tankstick with the Mist?

Postby nightshadowpt » Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:22 pm

vattari wrote:It connects via USB but is seen as a USB or PS/2 keyboard rather than a joystick.


And that's exactly how it is supposed to be, because all X-Arcade joysticks "announce" themselves to the computer as being a Keyboard.
That's how they are built.

If you want it to be seen as a joystick, your best bet is to get a pair of "Zero Delay" USB input boards, and rewire the joystick. It's not hard and it will make it compatible with a lot more devices.

vattari
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:57 pm
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: Using an X-Arcade Tankstick with the Mist?

Postby vattari » Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:05 pm

Thanks for the replies. I was hoping for an off-the-shelf hardware adapter or Mist keystroke-to-joypad mapping (restricted by vendor) solution remapping the codes below would be possible. I think the X-Arcade crew might have a hardware solution - I'm currently looking into it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
  • Mega STE/4, Monster board, 40GB IDE, CosmosEx
  • Mega ST4, Monster board, 8GB CF, Gotek
  • TT4/16, SCSI2SD
  • Falcon 14MB, 8GB CF, Falcon Speed, CosmosEx
  • Falcon 14MB, 8GB SD, Gotek
  • 130XE/myIDE2; 800XL/Supermon; XEGS/SIO2SD; 800XL/SIO2SD; 130XE/SIDE2
  • 1040STE/4MB, Monster board (8GB SD, RTC)
Work-in-progress: Mega ST4/Matrix M110 video; Mega ST2/Titan Reflex video; TT 2/16MB; 1200XL UAV; 400 UAV/Audio; 800


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests