Amiga OS 3.1.4

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
nightshadowpt
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 5:04 am

Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby nightshadowpt » Sat Oct 13, 2018 11:34 am

Hi,

Has anyone tried Amiga OS 3.1.4 with the MiST?

I understand that you also need to use a different Kickstart as well, and I am unsure if it is compatible with the MiST.

Thanks

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby Gehstock » Sat Oct 13, 2018 2:37 pm

Why not? New Rom in OS 3.1.4 Archive.
IMG_20181013_163520-1040x780.jpg
IMG_20181013_161109-1040x780.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
nightshadowpt
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 5:04 am

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby nightshadowpt » Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:28 pm

That's great to know...

Thank you Gehstock!

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:51 am

I installed the new OS 3.1.4 only on my desktop A1200/030 for now.
I used GlowIcons and an interlaced 64 colors screenmode with optimized palette (Fullpalette patch).

On MiST i use a classic WB 3.1 with MagicWB icons in a PAL 640 x 256 screen, which is very good for MiST.
But thanks for testing ROM 46.143, i will take a look to update my actual 3.1 WB installation.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby Gehstock » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:28 am

I had bought it primarily for my "Projekt Rot", the Glow Icons are looking nice.

kortina
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:14 am

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby kortina » Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:13 am

Have you tried creating additional large (4Gb+) partitions on the SD card?

Then attempted to pass the partitions to the Amiga?

With the support for large partitions, this could be a nice way to work around the 2Gb HDF file (FAT) restrictions

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:16 am

I use only a 4GB (3990MB) hardfile with one partition DH0
This is enough for me for install Workbench, some demo and about 800 prefered WHDLoad games.
In order i have a drawer with classic PD games and others like Road Avenger, Heart of Alien Redux and TimeGal.
If i need more space i can add a second 4GB hardfile partition. Kick 3.1 with updated FastFileSystem support 8GB max.

I never tried to use a partition on SD Card as a real amiga harddrive.
I don't need it, but you can try. With Kickstart 46.143 you have no limit, thanks to the updated scsi.device directly in rom.

AdvancedFollower
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:59 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby AdvancedFollower » Tue Oct 16, 2018 12:51 pm

I was able to test 3.1.4 briefly before my MiST broke.
It works fine. If you're using the BestWB add-on, you have to remove 68020.library to be able to boot.

I was already using a 4 GB HDF formatted with PFS3 plus I had made the entire 32 GB SDCard available with FAT95, so no change there, other than Workbench and the HD Toolbox now displaying the correct size of the partitions.

NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby NegSol » Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:56 pm

AdvancedFollower wrote:If you're using the BestWB add-on, you have to remove 68020.library to be able to boot.

Yes! It works! Thank you - I was wondering what was breaking with the install of BestWB. :cheers:

uchristo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby uchristo » Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:59 am

Which Version (A1200 or A500/A600/A2000) of 3.1.4. did you purchase? Does it contain a new (reliable) Version of FFS? Or shall I stick to pfs3aio?

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby DanyPPC » Thu Oct 18, 2018 8:59 am

Every version of OS 3.1.4 contains new FFS file system.
I purchased the A1200 version.

uchristo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby uchristo » Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:24 am

But wouldn't A600 Version be the better choice because of the scsi.device in the Kick-Rom? IIRC, A600 and A1200 IDE differ :?:

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby Gehstock » Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:52 am

Own both (A500, A600, A2000) and A1200 of them

uchristo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby uchristo » Fri Oct 19, 2018 11:50 am

Gehstock wrote:Own both (A500, A600, A2000) and A1200 of them


So.... ROMs are identically? What's the difference, then? :shrug:

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby Gehstock » Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:34 pm

There are Machine specific Disks in Archive

Unbenannt.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

lips2k15
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4

Postby lips2k15 » Mon Oct 22, 2018 4:06 pm

uchristo wrote:But wouldn't A600 Version be the better choice because of the scsi.device in the Kick-Rom? IIRC, A600 and A1200 IDE differ :?:

nope 600 and 1200 IDE is the same.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests