Atari ST core/ games question

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

danialbi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:46 pm

Atari ST core/ games question

Postby danialbi » Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:14 pm

Hi
Running ST core:
1) Got some games dump with extension. stm ?? and some .stx. How can I run them? How?
2) Most games are 2 discs; e.g. Millenium 2.2; Run disc1...works, then I am prompted to insert disc B, do it with F12, then press button, nothing happens. How to handle 2 disc games?
2a) Still Millenium 2.2 I have versions with 1-disc-only but they don't work, any suggestion?
3) On ST core F12, save configuration (I want to default to Colour mode)...get cannot create config file...

I use tos 2.06

Thank you

danialbi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: Atari ST core/ games question

Postby danialbi » Wed Oct 03, 2018 4:29 pm

Adding to my post:
I found Millenium 2.2 on ATARI Mist compatibilit list: (Single crack tab)
Core: r189custom (what is it?)
TOS: 1.62 (I tried this uk, german but it does not work don't get to desktop)?
Notes: AU098[lgd]

What does it mean?
Tnx

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 447
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari ST core/ games question

Postby DanyPPC » Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:05 pm

Try a TOS 1.00 or TOS 1.02

darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Re: Atari ST core/ games question

Postby darwinmac » Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:51 pm

As far as the first question, stm and stx flies are copy protected images. I do not think they are supported by MIST. I do not own a MIST myself though.

I would take the suggestion of the previous poster and use an earlier TOS version. 2.06 had compatibility problems with software that made incorrect assumptions.

Bob C

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 449
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Atari ST core/ games question

Postby DrOG » Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:11 am

danialbi wrote:1) Got some games dump with extension. stm ?? and some .stx. How can I run them? How?

Core supports only .st disk images.
2) Most games are 2 discs; e.g. Millenium 2.2; Run disc1...works, then I am prompted to insert disc B, do it with F12, then press button, nothing happens. How to handle 2 disc games?
2a) Still Millenium 2.2 I have versions with 1-disc-only but they don't work, any suggestion?

Disk change works on my MIST... Try another release of the game or another TOS, as suggested earlier.
3) On ST core F12, save configuration (I want to default to Colour mode)...get cannot create config file...

You need to create/copy MiST.CFG on/to the SD card's root directory.
The MiST cannot create the file but it can write to an existing file.

danialbi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: Atari ST core/ games question

Postby danialbi » Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:13 am

Tnx
I understand that .stm .stx are copy protected images so I can only use .st (cracked/unprotected)

I am not able to save config, I created a blank file mist.cfg and also tried the file posted from another user; any suggestion? I use a 2G SD

Millenium 2.2 I have tried many dumps (1 or 2 disc) and TOS combinations but still same issue
Now:
a) Anybody managed to run TOS 1.62 on Mist?
b) Anybody successfully run this game? Consider that I have run it ok on Steem

Ciao
PS. A bit disappointing that it runs ok on STeem, on almost any TOS (but not on 2.06); also the hacked 1-disk dump version runs perfectly on STeem

desin24
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:48 pm

Re: Atari ST core/ games question

Postby desin24 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:13 pm

milllenium 2-2 from here
http://www.planetemu.net/rom/atari-st-g ... isk-1-of-2
http://www.planetemu.net/rom/atari-st-g ... isk-2-of-2
tos
TOS162UK
core
ATARIST_160603
ATARIST_180908
Mist firmware
ATH180912

works flawless inclusive saving and loading

danialbi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: Atari ST core/ games question

Postby danialbi » Fri Oct 05, 2018 10:40 am

Hi desin24,
thanks for the suggestion
Something must be wrong with my setup, I did try tos162uk (3 different versions) but always get a blank screen, no desktop
That's my setup:

Mist 1.3 ATH 180912 (latest)
2G SD
core 180908 (latest)...maybe I should try core 160603?
I can only boot using tos 1.02, 1.04, 2.06

Maybe you can point me to the right tos162uk?
Also I cannot save my config...
Very weird

EDIT:
Something was wrong with my SD card; now I changed to 32G SDHC
Now I can finally boot TOS1.62UK and save config works!
...But Millenium 2.2 still doesn't work
That's what I do:
a) Boot TOS1.62uk to desktop (colour mode)
b) F12 load disk1
c) Run EXEC.TOS - works ok
d) press SPACE; a get "insert disc 2.." blinking
e) F12 load disk2; press a button, nothing

Also I tried to load the 2 disks in drive A: and B: still nok
What should I do differently?

EDIT2:
I made it work!
all I did was to rename Millenium disk1.st to disk_a.st so it gets loaded at boot...(instead of loading with F12 after desktop)
Strange that this makes the difference...does it make sense to you?
Tnx for the help

User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: Atari ST core/ games question

Postby xc8 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 3:51 pm

danialbi wrote:...
all I did was to rename Millenium disk1.st to disk_a.st so it gets loaded at boot...(instead of loading with F12 after desktop)
Strange that this makes the difference...does it make sense to you?
...


I have the impression that the ST core is sometimes is bypassing very quick the floppy boot in favour of the HDD, maybe needs
to add some time delay when an FDD image is being loaded?

danialbi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: Atari ST core/ games question

Postby danialbi » Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:28 pm

I finally found the guilty!
As expected mounting at boot or with F12 at desktop makes no difference

I have always used the 'default' disk_a.st to speed up booting, as suggested in Atari ST wiki:

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/wiki/ ... /disk_a.st

If I remove all the files (in ST desktop) I get a blank disk, still boot time is quick
Not sure what this disk_a.st does (only experts will tell...) at boot but for sure there is an 'auto' folder and some stuff that kills Millenium 2.2 (and maybe other games)
I would be curious to understand what's in this default disk_a...comments welcomed!


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests