Atari 2600 / VIC 20

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby slingshot » Sat Jan 25, 2020 12:45 am

SegaSnatcher wrote:Someone is possibily rewriting the TIA for 7800 development, so 2600 core will likely get a nice upgrade.

What's the problem with the current TIA?

SegaSnatcher
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:34 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby SegaSnatcher » Sat Feb 01, 2020 9:58 am

slingshot wrote:
SegaSnatcher wrote:Someone is possibily rewriting the TIA for 7800 development, so 2600 core will likely get a nice upgrade.

What's the problem with the current TIA?


A quote from the developer in question, out of respect I won't name them just so people don't bother them with questions about 2600/7800 core.

"I am rewriting the 2600 core, since the TIA and RIOT implementations both have serious flaws
which I need for 7800."

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby slingshot » Sat Feb 01, 2020 10:18 am

SegaSnatcher wrote:
"I am rewriting the 2600 core, since the TIA and RIOT implementations both have serious flaws
which I need for 7800."


That's not really an answer. What are those serious flaws? I'm not aware of any any game, which is broken because of the TIA. Nobody reported any issues BTW.
The RIOT is a very very simple device, but maybe the timer is still not perfect. Not a hard job to fix with an appropriate test case.

SegaSnatcher
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:34 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby SegaSnatcher » Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:09 am

slingshot wrote:
SegaSnatcher wrote:
"I am rewriting the 2600 core, since the TIA and RIOT implementations both have serious flaws
which I need for 7800."


That's not really an answer. What are those serious flaws? I'm not aware of any any game, which is broken because of the TIA. Nobody reported any issues BTW.
The RIOT is a very very simple device, but maybe the timer is still not perfect. Not a hard job to fix with an appropriate test case.


Well this person is pretty talented and I'm gonna take their word for it, plus 2600 core haven't really seen much love in awhile.

Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby Chris23235 » Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:17 am

SegaSnatcher wrote:
slingshot wrote:
SegaSnatcher wrote:plus 2600 core haven't really seen much love in awhile.


Maybe because it simply works as intended?

I would love to see a 7800 core, so I wish him best luck on his endeavors, but right now I treat this an unproven rumour, because you don't provide us with any source, which can mean there is nothing to show yet or there is nothing to show at all.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby slingshot » Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:27 am

SegaSnatcher wrote:Well this person is pretty talented and I'm gonna take their word for it, plus 2600 core haven't really seen much love in awhile.

I more like to believe in my eyes and experience. But if you think there are "serious issues" why didn't you report them?

SegaSnatcher
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:34 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby SegaSnatcher » Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:59 am

Chris23235 wrote:
SegaSnatcher wrote:
slingshot wrote:


Maybe because it simply works as intended?

I would love to see a 7800 core, so I wish him best luck on his endeavors, but right now I treat this an unproven rumour, because you don't provide us with any source, which can mean there is nothing to show yet or there is nothing to show at all.


From what I understand it doesn't work as well as some think. It doesn't even have a framebuffer which Kevtris himself insists a 2600 FPGA core really needs to operate properly and why he implemented it in his own 2600 core. Trust me the person in question is very credible. They have done lots of work on the MiSter platform.

slingshot wrote:
SegaSnatcher wrote:Well this person is pretty talented and I'm gonna take their word for it, plus 2600 core haven't really seen much love in awhile.

I more like to believe in my eyes and experience. But if you think there are "serious issues" why didn't you report them?


Because I'm not the one who said the TIA has issues, the developer did, hence why that same developer has rewritten the TIA and Riot from scratch. Just be happy that there is a good chance you'll be getting both a improved 2600 core and a new 7800 core possibly this year.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby slingshot » Sat Feb 01, 2020 12:23 pm

SegaSnatcher wrote:
Because I'm not the one who said the TIA has issues, the developer did, hence why that same developer has rewritten the TIA and Riot from scratch. Just be happy that there is a good chance you'll be getting both a improved 2600 core and a new 7800 core possibly this year.


I still wonder what will be improved in A2600. I don't even know what _should_ be improved. No facts, just "serious issues".

SegaSnatcher
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:34 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby SegaSnatcher » Sat Feb 01, 2020 12:27 pm

slingshot wrote:
SegaSnatcher wrote:
Because I'm not the one who said the TIA has issues, the developer did, hence why that same developer has rewritten the TIA and Riot from scratch. Just be happy that there is a good chance you'll be getting both a improved 2600 core and a new 7800 core possibly this year.


I still wonder what will be improved in A2600. I don't even know what _should_ be improved. No facts, just "serious issues".


Oh crap, I just realized I posted this in the Mist thread, I meant to post all this in the MiSter forum, sorry about that. Anyways, I checked the 7800 thread on the MiSter forum and people have already outted the developer, so I won't feel bad in saying Rysha is the developer in question.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby slingshot » Sat Feb 01, 2020 12:31 pm

SegaSnatcher wrote:
Oh crap, I just realized I posted this in the Mist thread, I meant to post all this in the MiSter forum, sorry about that. Anyways, I checked the 7800 thread on the MiSter forum and people have already outted the developer, so I won't feel bad in saying Rysha is the developer in question.


Hehe, that explains why nobody has seen those issues here (no issues, or nobody uses the core?)

SegaSnatcher
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 12:34 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby SegaSnatcher » Sat Feb 01, 2020 12:32 pm

slingshot wrote:
SegaSnatcher wrote:
Oh crap, I just realized I posted this in the Mist thread, I meant to post all this in the MiSter forum, sorry about that. Anyways, I checked the 7800 thread on the MiSter forum and people have already outted the developer, so I won't feel bad in saying Rysha is the developer in question.


Hehe, that explains why nobody has seen those issues here (no issues, or nobody uses the core?)


Yeah sorry about that, and from what I can tell the Mist and Mister 2600 cores are at a different level of compatibility, so please ignore my previous comments. I apologize for the confusion.

Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby Chris23235 » Sun Feb 02, 2020 4:37 am

slingshot wrote:
SegaSnatcher wrote:
Oh crap, I just realized I posted this in the Mist thread, I meant to post all this in the MiSter forum, sorry about that. Anyways, I checked the 7800 thread on the MiSter forum and people have already outted the developer, so I won't feel bad in saying Rysha is the developer in question.


Hehe, that explains why nobody has seen those issues here (no issues, or nobody uses the core?)


I use it for my monthly Cosmic Arc and Reactor fix ;)

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby DrOG » Sun Feb 02, 2020 9:16 am

I use this core to play my favourite games consecuticely: Seaquest, River Raid, Gopher, Keystone Kapers...

squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby squid4 » Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:41 pm

On Space Invaders anyone else see the player is twice as wide as it should be? i.e. compared to emulators and screenshots, don't have an original 2600 to compare. Everything else looks OK.

https://imgur.com/jR2opP5

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 670
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby NML32 » Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:48 pm

squid4 wrote:On Space Invaders anyone else see the player is twice as wide as it should be? i.e. compared to emulators and screenshots, don't have an original 2600 to compare. Everything else looks OK.

https://imgur.com/jR2opP5

In the OSD try switching P1 difficulty to B

squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby squid4 » Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:37 pm

Thanks NML32 that fixed/resolved it!

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby vebxenon » Tue Feb 25, 2020 10:00 am

Atari 2600 core updated :cheers:

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... ores/a2600

A2600: replace audio module
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby DrOG » Tue Feb 25, 2020 1:40 pm

Thanks! :cheers:

FrankNStein
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2020 5:47 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby FrankNStein » Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:00 pm

Hi to all!
I am new here and have a question about the VIC20 core. I have a MISTICA and when I mount a floppy and write something to it from the VIC20 it is corrupt afterwards - is that normal?
Am I doing something wrong or is this impossible?
Example:
I wrote a little program:
10 PRINT "HELLO"
20 GOTO 10

...and saved it with SAVE"TEST",8 or SAVE"TEST",8,1.
After that is my mounted disk defect...

Any help is appreciated!

Frank

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby slingshot » Wed Feb 26, 2020 8:24 am

There's a very stupid bug, I'll fix it ASAP. But strange that nobody noticed it for 2 years (including myself).

FrankNStein
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2020 5:47 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby FrankNStein » Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:40 pm

Hi Slingshot,

thank you very much for your response! (I was beginning to doubt myself...)
Looks like I'll be the first to save anything.

Thank you very much for your effort - your core is otherwise really great!

Frank

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby DrOG » Wed Feb 26, 2020 6:01 pm

slingshot wrote:There's a very stupid bug, I'll fix it ASAP. But strange that nobody noticed it for 2 years (including myself).

I assume not many of us are programming in V2.0 BASIC on VIC-20...

Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby Chris23235 » Wed Feb 26, 2020 9:57 pm

Can only speak for myself, I love playing Gridrunner and Matrix on the VIC-20, but not many of the games for the machine saved something to disc or tape. It were mostly the Scott Adams Text Adventures, but these are much more pleasant to the eye on a 40 characters per line machine ;)

On the 2600 update. Is the new audio module closer to the original? Just curious.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby slingshot » Thu Feb 27, 2020 8:38 am

Chris23235 wrote:On the 2600 update. Is the new audio module closer to the original? Just curious.

Well, why don't you listen yourself? In theory it should be. At least Pitfall! is not silent :)

Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Postby Chris23235 » Thu Feb 27, 2020 8:57 am

slingshot wrote:
Chris23235 wrote:On the 2600 update. Is the new audio module closer to the original? Just curious.

Well, why don't you listen yourself? In theory it should be. At least Pitfall! is not silent :)


Oh nice! Just tried some other games and they sounded not different (hard to tell if I try to listen for differences I tend to hear them even if they aren't there). But I didn't tried Pitfall!, great news.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests