Vectrex vhdl

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby Gehstock » Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:25 pm

need Feedback(4 Firebuttons supported),

@Sorgelig, Core supports BIN Files also you can add File Extension to the MiSTer Core
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby DrOG » Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:12 am

Hi!

The modded core seems to be defective: the title screen is corrupted, and cannot start any ROMs I tried (i.e. Frogger, which works great with previous release).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby Gehstock » Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:33 am

Change only 4 lines on the Joystick Inputs

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby DrOG » Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:21 am

Will try it again as soon as I get home, perhaps the problem is with my SD card, or the file corrupted during the copy process.

Did anyone else test the new core?

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby DrOG » Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:26 pm

Hi!

Tried it again, and the title screen still looks corrupted, but the games I tried work nice (i.e. Frogger).

Perhaps the problem was during my last attempt some "garbage" in the memory of the device, this time I tried it with cold boot from the same SD card as the previous release.

The new core is smaller than the last (Total Commander shows 251,79 kB vs. 253,07 kB).

Now can anyone recommend me a 4-button game to test?

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby Gehstock » Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:46 pm

DrOG wrote:Will try it again as soon as I get home, perhaps the problem is with my SD card, or the file corrupted during the copy process.

Did anyone else test the new core?



Mist FPGA is Really Death

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby DanyPPC » Fri Apr 20, 2018 6:57 pm

I always use MiST and Mistica clone, but Vectrex core is not of my interest.
I can test it, but i don't know what are 4-button games to make some test.

This is what i get:
Vectrex.jpg


Tested some games, no success.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby DrOG » Sat Apr 21, 2018 3:54 am

DanyPPC wrote:...
Tested some games, no success.


Try after a cold restart (power off-wait-power on cycle)!

The same corruption on title screen as on my device.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Apr 21, 2018 9:38 am

Same results DrOG, nothing change.

But i remember the old core works well.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby vebxenon » Sun Apr 22, 2018 4:58 pm

Gehstock wrote:
DrOG wrote:Will try it again as soon as I get home, perhaps the problem is with my SD card, or the file corrupted during the copy process.

Did anyone else test the new core?



Mist FPGA is Really Death


Not dead, too many active users. But I'm unable to test MiST until tomorrow night and well, this update hasn't been published on the very active MiST Facebook group.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby vebxenon » Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:42 pm

DrOG wrote:Hi!

The modded core seems to be defective: the title screen is corrupted, and cannot start any ROMs I tried (i.e. Frogger, which works great with previous release).


Same happens to me. Just tested.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

desUBIKado
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby desUBIKado » Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:48 pm

Hi there. This core version don't work, and I can see the same bad screen.

Kujako
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:14 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby Kujako » Fri Apr 27, 2018 4:37 pm

But do we have the colored film to tape to our monitors like the good ol' days?

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1142
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby Newsdee » Sun Apr 29, 2018 5:07 am

I'd imagine the core could load overlays like MAME? It might require work on the video side though (to add a framebuffer and so on)

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby Gehstock » Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:06 pm

New Build need Feedback

Change Keyboard Mapping for 2 Players
Player1
W,A,S,D and 1,2,3,4
Player2
Arrow Keys and NUM,/,*,-

add some changes from MiSTer Core
vectrex_MiST.rar
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:56 pm

This is what i get on my MiST, no key acts for operation with the emulator (F11, F12):
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby DrOG » Mon Apr 30, 2018 4:20 am

Hi!

On my MiST+BenQ BL912 combo it works flawless, albeit the picture is a bit off-centered to the right (see screenshot #1).
Video output is unusual 640x500@57Hz (screenshot #2), which ruins compatibility with most monitors.

Thanks for your continuous effort to make this core better!!! :cheers:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Apr 30, 2018 6:32 am

So the core use a different frequency.

I have tested it in 15Khz mode on a standard PAL Philips 8833mk2 monitor, it seems to work but the screen is offset vertically.

Thanks anyway for the improvements !

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby DrOG » Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:04 am

I think it's a '31kHz only' core (I couldn't switch to interlaced mode pressing long the middle button - didn't try to edit mist.ini yet).

Everett1954
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:51 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby Everett1954 » Wed May 02, 2018 5:39 pm

I want to try this out once I get my new mist but after reading, I am not sure:

1) Can I use Vectrex .bin files?

2) you cannot select different ROM files through OSD/F12?

Thanks

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby Gehstock » Wed May 02, 2018 9:05 pm

Is funny to develop without a working Mist and this big Feedback(thanks to the 3 Guys)

No one should be surprised if soon there are no more updates on any Core

1.Yes
2.You can
Last edited by Gehstock on Sun May 06, 2018 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby DrOG » Thu May 03, 2018 3:46 am

Perhaps it's because the Vectrex was not so popular and marketed only in small quantity (no one knows exactly, but certainly under 500000 pieces were sold, see details here: http://atariage.com/forums/topic/59575-vectrex-numbers/ ).

Only a few people owned this console, and have nostalgic memories about it.

It's rather a unique piece of hardware with it's vector graphic, and a curiosity instead of being a true mass product.

Your work is highly appreciated, and it's value cannot be measured with the numbers of replies! It's about preserveration of a small piece of the gamer history, and valuable for the future generations.
Last edited by DrOG on Thu May 03, 2018 7:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby DanyPPC » Thu May 03, 2018 6:29 am

Old core works well on my TV/Monitor LED.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby Gehstock » Thu May 03, 2018 10:55 am

If I only ported what interests me, it would only 1-2 cores

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Vectrex vhdl

Postby ericgus » Fri May 04, 2018 3:18 am

Gehstock wrote:Is funny to develop without a working Mist and this big Feedback(thanks to the 3 Guys)

No one should be surprised if soon there are no more updates on any Core

1.Yes
2.Yes


Have you tried to email him directly at lotharek@lotharek.pl and see if he can repair your mist? (mind you he mentioned he was going on vacation this week) .. but try to email him.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests