[MiST] [ST Core] Is there any way to slow down the mouse speed?

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
iceman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:03 pm

[MiST] [ST Core] Is there any way to slow down the mouse speed?

Postby iceman » Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:41 am

Any mouse I plug in flies around the screen like it's on crack. Is there any way I can reduce the sensitivity of the mouse?
Atarian since 1989. Atari 1040STFM, 4MB 520STe with UltraSatan and Unitor N, A dodgy 1 MBSTe that bombs out after a few minutes, and a 14MB 48MHz Falcon 030 with NetUSBee and Soundpool 8 channel DAC. Plus my new MiST!

User avatar
fury23
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 2:08 pm

Re: [MiST] [ST Core] Is there any way to slow down the mouse speed?

Postby fury23 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:00 pm

iceman wrote:Any mouse I plug in flies around the screen like it's on crack. Is there any way I can reduce the sensitivity of the mouse?

Gaming mouse with low DPI adjustment will work fine.
I have https://www.asus.com/us/ROG-Republic-Of-Gamers/ROG_Sica/ with DPI set to 150 DPI and it works perfect.

bernouilli
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: [MiST] [ST Core] Is there any way to slow down the mouse speed?

Postby bernouilli » Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:08 pm

Interesting. How do you set the dpi? Using a software?

User avatar
fury23
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 2:08 pm

Re: [MiST] [ST Core] Is there any way to slow down the mouse speed?

Postby fury23 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:36 pm

bernouilli wrote:Interesting. How do you set the dpi? Using a software?

Yes, by provided software with mouse. It can be set from 50 DPI.
Only on small number of the gaming mice DPI can be set very low.
Image

User avatar
iceman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: [MiST] [ST Core] Is there any way to slow down the mouse speed?

Postby iceman » Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:35 am

I'm not buying a new mouse. This should work with a standard mouse, because they're... well... standard.

FYI Someone else has recently opened an issue on the github repo:

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/issues/49
Atarian since 1989. Atari 1040STFM, 4MB 520STe with UltraSatan and Unitor N, A dodgy 1 MBSTe that bombs out after a few minutes, and a 14MB 48MHz Falcon 030 with NetUSBee and Soundpool 8 channel DAC. Plus my new MiST!

User avatar
nightshadowpt
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 5:04 am

Re: [MiST] [ST Core] Is there any way to slow down the mouse speed?

Postby nightshadowpt » Sun Apr 08, 2018 12:23 pm

I bought on purpose an ASUS Cerberus because it has a physical DPI button to cycle between DPI settings.

This way you don't even need to connect the mouse to another PC to change configuration. I highly recommend it.

Although the connection is standard, the DPI settings are not and reality is that today's mice are built to work with much higher resolutions, resulting in a nearly unusable mouse in the old machines.

Good luck!


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests