FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

remig
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:04 am

FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

Postby remig » Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:36 pm

Hello,

I'm currently trying so far too install Mint on my newly arrived Mist. I managed to get a working environment with FreeMint 1-19-e82/Terradesk, but problems arrive when I try to install the Unis part.

My working config so far:
- Core 160603
- CPU 68020 (ext2fs tools won't work with a 68000)
- Memory 8 or 14 MB (if I use or not the viking driver)
- Chipset STEROID
- TOS 2.06
- HD Driver 10.03, using hard disk file (I would love to use direct SD, but of I do I need to activate Windows compatibility in HD Driver so my PC can access to the card for file transfer, which forbid me to create RAW or LNX partition type afterward)
- Freemint 1-19-e82 for 68000 (the 1-19-e82 68020 archive on github is missing the mint020.prg)
- Terradesk 4.07b

Now in the Unix part, I followed WongCK excellent tutorial. I created a d: ext2 drive and used the root.zip bundle, and it works fine, except I miss the shell prompt (no big deal). Things start to break when I try to create a Unix like root with sln to use the root+rpm bundle from sparemint.

After using sln, I got a nice FS structure in u:, I use the standard Unix $PATH. and I can browse the FS through GEM or Shell (cd works as expected). But trying to access file trough the sln path (using cat) throws file not found error, as if binaries weren't allowed to go through sln links.

Example:
Without sln set, "/d/bin/cat /d/etc/passwd" works as expected.
With sln set, "cat /etc/passwd", "/bin/cat /etc/passwd" and even "/d/bin/cat /d/etc/passwd" doesn't work, cat is launched but the passwd file is not found.

If I try to use rpm it's even worse I got a READ error popup from XaaeS, and a program not found in the shell (even with rpm in path or explicitely called).

I can reproduce it on freemint 1-16 or 1-17, and I reinstalled on different sd cards, chipset in STE or Mega STE, same behaviour.

Did I miss a security setting somewhere in MINT.CNF? Or is it a compatibility problem with the Mist? Or some hd driver weirdness?

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2291
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

Postby christos » Tue Jun 13, 2017 10:22 am

Is D: a gem drive? If so you could be experiencing an uppercase / lowercase issue.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

remig
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:04 am

Re: FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

Postby remig » Tue Jun 13, 2017 10:42 am

D: is formatted as ext2 drive. Other funny thing, it seems the ext2 access is single process exclusive. I can open a shell (sh or tcsh), but if I try to launch a second one I got the following error

pid 7 (desktop): block_IO (C): bio_readin: RWABS fail (-2))

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11937
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

Postby wongck » Tue Jun 13, 2017 11:44 pm

Don't own a Dung so I am not sure how the environment is like, especially for the SD part.

remig wrote:D: is formatted as ext2 drive. Other funny thing, it seems the ext2 access is single process exclusive. I can open a shell (sh or tcsh), but if I try to launch a second one I got the following error

pid 7 (desktop): block_IO (C): bio_readin: RWABS fail (-2))


I can only think of 2 possibilities of RWABS failure.
1) Bad connectivity to the IDE drive - I resolved my issue with a new IDE cable.
2) Corrupted file structure - the information leads to outside of the proper disk area. Normally a rebuild of the filesystem clears this.

Sure you are not using an IDE cable so that's rules it out.
Not sure if the Disk file stuff is playing havoc on this.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 815
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

Postby jfl » Wed Jun 14, 2017 6:12 am

wongck wrote:Don't own a Dung

A what? 8O
Jean-François
GEMDict – GEMClip

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11937
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

Postby wongck » Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:03 am

jfl wrote:
wongck wrote:Don't own a Dung

A what? 8O

Inventor/developer of the hardware mentioned that it was a German word.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3574
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

Postby joska » Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:38 am

remig wrote:Things start to break when I try to create a Unix like root with sln to use the root+rpm bundle from sparemint.


Can you post your mint.cnf?

remig wrote:Or some hd driver weirdness?


Maybe. Have you tried with another driver? Or have you tried the disk image in an emulator (like Hatari)?
Jo Even

Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

Postby mzry » Wed Jun 14, 2017 12:20 pm

Hey remig, just wondering what kind of resolutions you get out of the Mist in Freemint? I didn't realise it could do a 68020 cpu, very interesting :)

remig
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:04 am

Re: FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

Postby remig » Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:36 am

Tried today on Hatari, same behavior. I can't run two shell simultaneously on the same ext2fs partition.

What other HD driver should I try, I'm now using HD driver 10.03.

remig
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2017 8:04 am

Re: FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

Postby remig » Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:39 am

@mzry 1280x1024 in 2 colors with the viking driver

mzry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

Postby mzry » Sat Jun 17, 2017 12:27 pm

Could you have 1024x768 with more colours?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 11937
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: FreeMint on Mist: OK for GEM, stuck for Unix

Postby wongck » Sat Jun 17, 2017 3:28 pm

Are you using the last dev version or the stable release?
I can always open many bash, with the $home as /root and it shows on the prompt as so.
cat of any /etc files works without any errors.
I have not tried on the new dev release... it's on my FB. But I just moved my Falc out last week so the FB is back in the cupboard.
I only have release versions on my Falc.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63+CTPCI_ATI_RTL8139 14+512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests