Instability with MIst

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

itaboy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 6:24 pm

Instability with MIst

Postby itaboy » Wed May 17, 2017 6:54 pm

Hello guys, I have a Mist with MIDI ports.
I haven't been using it for a while, and now that I have gone back to it, I get a problem which puzzles me.
I have tried changing firmware, from the very latest one going back to 2015... and always copuling the firmware with a core.rbf of the same period.
I have also tried all possible combinations of TOS (1.02, 1.04, 2.06 etc.).
The problem I get is this:
Everything seems to boot as normal. aftte a certain amount of time (sometimes immediately, other times after a minute or so) the Mist goes crazy and starts behaving as if I was pressing the keyboard, refreshing the windows all by itself, and in general not responding anymre to my commands (even pressing F12 most of the times dowsn't work any longer)...

Has any of you expreienced anything like this?

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 471
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Instability with MIst

Postby ericgus » Wed May 17, 2017 7:37 pm

have you tried a different keyboard just for laughs?

itaboy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 6:24 pm

Re: Instability with MIst

Postby itaboy » Wed May 17, 2017 7:49 pm

Yes, I did... changed keyboard and mouse. Actually the problem manifests itself even if I don't touch keyboard and mouse at all... just booting and waiting some time... and after a while everything goes crazy

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Instability with MIst

Postby DanyPPC » Thu May 18, 2017 8:37 am

Have you tried a different USB power supply ?

Most on the market are non very efficient.
I use a Huawey one from a dead smartphone.

itaboy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 6:24 pm

Re: Instability with MIst

Postby itaboy » Thu May 18, 2017 9:53 am

I tried with two different, but will check with more anyway

MetalCruncher
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 6:34 pm
Location: Dk

Re: Instability with MIst

Postby MetalCruncher » Thu May 18, 2017 12:52 pm

It's an overflow that sometimes also happens on a real ST - it's just ten times worse on the MiST.
Cubase, (Mega)ST(e)(fm), TT, Falcon, Jaguar, MiST.

skywalky
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Instability with MIst

Postby skywalky » Mon May 22, 2017 6:50 pm

I have a lot of less overflow with the previous core https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 160129.rbf

itaboy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 6:24 pm

Re: Instability with MIst

Postby itaboy » Mon May 22, 2017 7:37 pm

I'll give it a try. With the latest core the Mist is absolutely unusable

MetalCruncher
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 6:34 pm
Location: Dk

Re: Instability with MIst

Postby MetalCruncher » Sun May 28, 2017 4:14 pm

So, did the core-version do any good?
It's rather seldom on mine; but when it happens, a reset is usually needed - though sometimes holding "backspace"
may clear the buffer. I'm always using my MiST in the "Viking-mode", so I don't know, if it's mode-dependant.

I really can't recall, if there was a patch for this problem. It's been years since I used any of my real Ataris.
Unfortunately the MiST is rather little compatible, less than half of my programs, which do work on STeem,
run on the MiST!
Cubase, (Mega)ST(e)(fm), TT, Falcon, Jaguar, MiST.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests