Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 487
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby ericgus » Mon Jan 30, 2017 7:50 am

Sorgelig wrote:
Newsdee wrote:They had trouble with a partition bigger than 4GB, so this gives them more storage without the hassle :wink:

Minimig has no problem with partitions and drives up to 8GB.
But i think, it's just false assumption that you cannot use primary FAT partition because there is HDF image on this partition. There is no conflicts actually and even primary partition can be mounted as a second HDD while having hdf on the same partition and mounted as primary HDD.

I've looked ad giggledisk before and found it too complicated. And the fact that second HDD can be swapped between FAT and SFS/PFS just adds more mess.
That's why i think PCMCIA support in Minimig could be very helpful.


Oh I agree bout the PCMCIA .. im just trying to see if there is anyway to make it work now with it as it is.. but thanks for the feedback on giggledisk. (I haven't personally tried it yet.. maybe if I am bored ill give it a try)

AdvancedFollower
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:59 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby AdvancedFollower » Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:18 pm

Sorgelig wrote:try 7500MB and see if it will work.
I use 7000MB as second partition. On Minimig i use 1GB of HDF file as a primary boot HDD, and second SD partition as a second HDD. I use SFS for 7GB partition. Works good. Make sure you use quick format. Full format of big partitions may destroy the data.


Hi,
I tried to achieve something similar.
On my 32 GiB (29.72 GB) SD card, I have a ~22.1 GB FAT32 partition containing a 4 GB boot HDF, the actual minimig core etc., then a ~7.62GB empty partition at the end for an SFS/00 partition. This works fine and I can create and use the partition from AmigaOS 3.1 on the Mist (after installing SFS and the scsi.device patch).

However, is there any way I can access the SFS partition directly from the SD-card, e.g. from WinUAE, or directly from Windows (or Linux, if needed)?
Because in order to transfer files to this partition, I have to first copy them into the 4 GB HDF, then put the SD card into the Mist and move the files over to the 7.62 GB partition, which is very time consuming.

I've tried to mount the SD card in WinUAE, but it just sees a big empty 32 GB drive. I think it's because when I create the partition on the MIST, it puts the RDB after the FAT32 partition (at approximately 22.1 GB) but to AmigaOS running on the Mist, this appears to be the beginning of the drive because the Mist only exposes the last ~7.62 GB to Minimig. If I try to create a ~7 GB partition on the SD card in WinUAE, Windows 10 will then see it as one big 29.72GB RAW partition. The ~22 GB FAT32 partition is of course destroyed. The same thing happens if I choose the entire SD Card rather than just Partition 2 from the Mist Hard Drive setup (F12).

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby kolla » Thu Nov 23, 2017 7:05 pm

I only use hdf images on a 32GB card, which then is mounted with fat95 so I can maintain the content from AmigaOS.
-- kolla

AdvancedFollower
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:59 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby AdvancedFollower » Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:48 am

kolla wrote:I only use hdf images on a 32GB card, which then is mounted with fat95 so I can maintain the content from AmigaOS.


Yep, that's the easiest method unless you need more than 4 GB. However it would be very convenient for me to have a ~7.5 GB partition to store a bunch av archives, games, demos, mods etc. (basically most of Aminet between 1994 and 20000 LOL) since the Mist itself doesn't have network connectivity.
Anyway, currently using DirOpus to transfer a couple of gigs from the HDF to the SFS partition. Looks like it's going to take all day but other than that, it works :)

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby kolla » Mon Nov 27, 2017 6:07 pm

AdvancedFollower wrote:Yep, that's the easiest method unless you need more than 4 GB.


I keep storing stuff straight on the one FAT32 partition, use it pretty much like I use any other partition on the "Amiga side", I even run games and other software right from it. Crazy me :)
-- kolla

AdvancedFollower
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2017 4:59 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby AdvancedFollower » Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:50 pm

kolla wrote:
AdvancedFollower wrote:Yep, that's the easiest method unless you need more than 4 GB.


I keep storing stuff straight on the one FAT32 partition, use it pretty much like I use any other partition on the "Amiga side", I even run games and other software right from it. Crazy me :)


The craziest thing is, it doesn't work.

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby kolla » Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:56 am

AdvancedFollower wrote:
kolla wrote:
AdvancedFollower wrote:The craziest thing is, it doesn't work.


Works for me [TM]. What exactly does not work for you?
-- kolla

dBUGBUG
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:07 am

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby dBUGBUG » Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:56 pm

Uhm Kolla, would an example mountlist be possible to get ?

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby kolla » Sat Jun 15, 2019 7:27 pm

Give me a few days, we just moved and all Amiga stuff is still in boxes ;)
-- kolla

Mickoz
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:51 pm

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby Mickoz » Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:17 am

I'm new to the Mister and minimig cores and wonder if anyone can point me at a dummies guide to setting up a 7.5GB hardfile using a Windows PC, using either WinUAE or AmigaForever that I can use on either the software emulation on the PC or hardware emulation on the MiSTer.
I have burned many frustrating hours with PFS3 and SFS 1.84 trying to make a hardfile that works. On the PC it seems easy, but as soon as I transfer to the MiSTer SD card via direct copy or FTP, it shows as non DOS under an A1200 lookalike running ClassicWB 3.1. I've added SFS and PFS AIO to the ClassicWB 3.1 L: directory.

As Catweazle would say "Nuthing works"

My understanding is that either PFS3 or SFS utilise directscsi and don't require a patched scsi.device to achieve up to 8GB partitions.

What am I missing?

Thanks
Nub (Mick)

Mickoz
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:51 pm

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby Mickoz » Sat Jun 29, 2019 6:21 am

Does anyone have a largish HDF they are willing to copy, empty, zip and share? Along with details of the relevant filesystem used?
I really would like to have a HDF that I can store all my WHDload stuff on that I can transfer between WINUAE and MiSTer\Minimig.
Just a single partition as HD1: would be great.

I'm using ClassicWB 3.1 on both devices

Thanks

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby kolla » Sun Jul 07, 2019 7:55 am

Finally got my stuff sorted out of boxes, so here is the mountlist I use for mounting the SD card on the MiST (DEVS:DOSDriver/DS0)...

Code: Select all

/* dos?: fat95 PC file system for IDE 'harddisk', based on:
   $VER: fat95 file system 2.17 by Torsten Jager */

Device          = scsi.device
Unit            = 1
Activate        = 1
FileSystem      = L:fat95
Flags           = 0
MaxTransfer     = 0x1FE00   /* this is slow for safety - increase if you know how */
LowCyl          = 0
HighCyl         = 0
Surfaces        = 1
BlocksPerTrack  = 1
Buffers         = 100
Stacksize       = 4096
GlobVec         = -1
Priority        = 5
Control         = -dD
DosType         = 0x46415401

/*
DosType = 0x46415401    /* find first FAT partition.  Works almost always. */
DosType = 0x46415402    /* second "primary" partition. */
DosType = 0x46415405    /* first "logical drive". */
DosType = 0x46415406    /* second "logical drive" */
DosType = 0x46415407    /* third "logical drive", etc. */
*/

/*
BufMemType      = 1
BootPri         = 0
Control         = "+s -dD"          /* testing: SCSI direct commands */
*/
-- kolla

kortina
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:14 am

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby kortina » Sun Jul 21, 2019 7:29 am

kolla wrote:Finally got my stuff sorted out of boxes, so here is the mountlist I use for mounting the SD card on the MiST (DEVS:DOSDriver/DS0)...

Code: Select all

/* dos?: fat95 PC file system for IDE 'harddisk', based on:
   $VER: fat95 file system 2.17 by Torsten Jager */

Device          = scsi.device
Unit            = 1
Activate        = 1
FileSystem      = L:fat95
Flags           = 0
MaxTransfer     = 0x1FE00   /* this is slow for safety - increase if you know how */
LowCyl          = 0
HighCyl         = 0
Surfaces        = 1
BlocksPerTrack  = 1
Buffers         = 100
Stacksize       = 4096
GlobVec         = -1
Priority        = 5
Control         = -dD
DosType         = 0x46415401

/*
DosType = 0x46415401    /* find first FAT partition.  Works almost always. */
DosType = 0x46415402    /* second "primary" partition. */
DosType = 0x46415405    /* first "logical drive". */
DosType = 0x46415406    /* second "logical drive" */
DosType = 0x46415407    /* third "logical drive", etc. */
*/

/*
BufMemType      = 1
BootPri         = 0
Control         = "+s -dD"          /* testing: SCSI direct commands */
*/


Hi kolla,

Let me know if I have understood this correctly.

You can have a 16Gb FAT32 formatted card, with a 500Mb 'system.hdf'
The Amiga Core can use the 500Mb 'Drive' as the primary.
Then within the OS, you can load this fat95 setup above and treat the entire card as a volume within Workbench?

If this is the case, can you please show me a few more details on setting up fat95 please?

k

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby kolla » Sun Jul 21, 2019 10:55 am

kortina wrote:Hi kolla,

Let me know if I have understood this correctly.

You can have a 16Gb FAT32 formatted card, with a 500Mb 'system.hdf'
The Amiga Core can use the 500Mb 'Drive' as the primary.
Then within the OS, you can load this fat95 setup above and treat the entire card as a volume within Workbench?


Correct.

If this is the case, can you please show me a few more details on setting up fat95 please?


That is essentially what I did when I posted above :)

You find FAT95 here:
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/fat95

Just copy the "fat95/l/fat95" in the archive to L:fat95, save above "code" to "DEVS:DOSDriver/DS0" and you are done, the SD card will be mounted at next reboot.

Oh, and in the MiST disk setup, you just set up "slave" drive to be "SD/MC" or "SD/MC first partition" (something like that), any of those two should work.
-- kolla

uigiflip
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby uigiflip » Sun Jul 21, 2019 8:39 pm

easier to just use exfat on sdcard and then u can beat 4gb barrier of fat32
Replay 2, Mister, FPGA Replay + 68060 Daughterboard

Televicious
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby Televicious » Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:27 am

uigiflip wrote:easier to just use exfat on sdcard and then u can beat 4gb barrier of fat32


MiST doesn't support that, MiSTer.

dBUGBUG
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 8:07 am

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby dBUGBUG » Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:02 pm

KOLLA !!! THANK YOU !! It worked ! :-D The Mountlist !

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Mist Amiga Partitions (noob)

Postby kolla » Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:11 pm

Heh, you are welcome :)
-- kolla


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests