[Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

ManuFerHi
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby ManuFerHi » Fri Mar 02, 2018 11:03 am

nightshadowpt wrote:And just tested the MSX core... gettint the "This core does not support SDHC cards." message. Was this not supposed to have been corrected on the previous version? (I may have my facts wrong :))


MSX don´t support SDHC cards, only SD and 2Gb max.
The core of Archimedes I have not spent much time, I tried 3 or 4 games and they worked fine at 140mhz without flickering, to solve those problems the creator of the core should do it, I do not have time to study in the core, I just tried to do fix for the boot in mist that did not work.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DrOG » Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:34 pm

Archimedes games have often extraordinary video resolutions, i.e. 720x400, which is perhaps not so widely supported by modern monitors/TVs.

User avatar
nightshadowpt
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 5:04 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby nightshadowpt » Sat Mar 03, 2018 9:39 am

ManuFerHi wrote:MSX don´t support SDHC cards, only SD and 2Gb max.


Crystal Clear... I'll have to get one then. Thanks

ManuFerHi wrote:The core of Archimedes I have not spent much time, I tried 3 or 4 games and they worked fine at 140mhz without flickering, to solve those problems the creator of the core should do it, I do not have time to study in the core, I just tried to do fix for the boot in mist that did not work.


And I am hugely grateful for what you have done. At least your version of the core boots in my MiST. Did not want to come out as ungrateful for your support.

DrOG wrote:Archimedes games have often extraordinary video resolutions, i.e. 720x400, which is perhaps not so widely supported by modern monitors/TVs.


This does not seem to be the problem. Even during boot the screen flickers (and sometimes it does not, so screen compatibility does not seem to be the issue).

There seems to be a stability issue with the core, because each time I reboot the MiST, I sometimes have flicker and other times not. weird.

seastalker
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby seastalker » Fri Aug 24, 2018 6:29 pm

Maybe this is working TOO well now: anyone have trouble getting the MSX to 'let go' of a game?? I got it to boot to the MSX3 screen, and in the blue DOS (?) screen I type "dir" and then "cd \roms" and then "romload frogger". If I hit f12 to the menu and select 'save and reset' then it loads Frogger... all the time though. Even if I power off the MiST and restart the MSX core. Seems if in the options I mess with Slot 1 and 2 ("Sl1:" and "Sl2:"), I can get back to the blue DOS screen. Still, if I toggle back the MSX plays the same game as if I 'burned' it into a virtual eprom cart represented by one of the toggle selections below.

SLOT 1 toggle options:
NONE
ESE-SCC 1MB/SCC-I
MegaRAM


SLOT 2 toggle options:

NONE
ESE-SCC 1MB/SCC-I
ESE-RAM 1MB/ASCII8
ESE-RAM 1MB/ASCII16

I did homework on the MSX and see that SCC means 'Sound Creative Chip" (with SCC-1 just being a revised chip) so when trying to load a title and get a no sound device found error, select "ESE-SCC 1MB/SCC-I" in one of your two slots.

Megaram, the MSX expansion, made in Brazil gives computers with only 64kb to read games with 128kb, 256kb, 512kb, of size.... I selected this before knowing it was SMALLER than the other two 1MB options found in Slot 2 options.

So can anyone familiar with the MSX suggest or elaborate on these Sl1/2 settings? Does the SCC add 1MB of ram along with sound? What is ASCII8 vs ASCII16 and why choose one over the other?

seastalker
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby seastalker » Fri Aug 24, 2018 6:34 pm

Sorry for the double reply but this just in:
https://www.msx.org/news/en/nishi-is-wo ... ration-msx

"Kazuhiko Nishi posted on his personal website (post #143) that they are developing the next generation MSX. According to him, the CPUs are ARM and R800. He made it the same size as Raspberry Pi, with hardware that can be programmed to anything on the FPGA. He likes to announce it this year. The machine name is still undecided."

The original creator of the platform is making a new version? How cool! Why not call it the MSX3? I never understood why the bios screen shows MSX3 when there is only a MSX and MSX2 and a turbo version of MSX2 (Maybe the + sign in MSX2+ means the Turbo?). If the OneChipMSX counts as the "3" somehow, then who knows. I'll be glad to see it.

hyperterminal
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby hyperterminal » Sat Aug 25, 2018 6:42 am

seastalker your problem has nothing to do with the MSX core but with the romloader. The behaviour you described even happens on a real 1ChipMSX.

You need to user a better romloader like mglocm.com (included in the OneChipMsx OCM-PLD Pack: https://gnogni.altervista.org/).

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Aug 25, 2018 7:05 am

The ESE-SCC Ram and MegaRam are expansions for original MSX, emulated on the MSX OCM Core.
One of the use of these expansion is the possibility to load software/games in their memory, as the main memory of the system may not be sufficient.

To load games you have various tool available:

- ROMLOAD
- EXECROM
- MGLOAD
- LOADROM

or use a software with a gui like SOFIA.

Roms are of various kind and some work with a specific tool, some need a MegaFlashRom which is not emulated on OCM Core for the MiST.

Really this CORE needs a big update. Nobody has done an update anymore.
That's a pity because the MiST hardware is good for this core.

seastalker
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby seastalker » Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:10 pm

Thanks hyperterminal. I will try that. Like many of us, we likely had one major computer we grew up with (Atari 8 bit for me), so I hope my documentation of problems will help other noobs who are getting used to the other computers they never had. :)

So of the slot 1 and slot 2 settings, anyone suggest a "set it and forget it" combo or do you change things out a lot? Thanks on the tool list as well. I will research them. So if I use mglocm.com, would I then use MGLOAD to access the romloader instead of ROMLOAD? Will look up SOFIA gui as well. It sounds like with that I may have WHDLoad equivalent of loading software.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 607
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby vebxenon » Mon Aug 27, 2018 5:44 am

DanyPPC wrote:Really this CORE needs a big update. Nobody has done an update anymore.
That's a pity because the MiST hardware is good for this core.


That's the point...
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

rittwage
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby rittwage » Sat Sep 29, 2018 2:11 am

Does the MSX core work for anyone anymore?

I can get it to boot, but F12 results in no menu items displayed except "exit".

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 423
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DrOG » Sat Sep 29, 2018 3:48 am

Press F12 again! This core has it's own menu structure (just like the PCE and the earlier Genesis cores), accessible with a second 'menu' pushing.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests