[Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:57 pm

slingshot wrote:Is it dark on VGA or 15kHZ? I actually just changed minimal things in the upstream core, to be more compatible with the MiST framework, the video signal is unchanged. So it should be the same as with the OCM (maybe it has a different DAC at the end).


It could be the screen position too far to the left, hiding some graphic.
It happens on 15Khz Pal too.

Confirm, second button now works.

From my tests, the lower the vhd image size, the less problems you have with ghost keys, that are not pressed.
For now i test a standard 256MB vhd file.

MGLOCM supports only some mappers.
There are many roms, expecially 64k roms which require ODO or others in LinearC format which are not supported at all.
These work only on my MSX2 with MegaFlashRomSCC+ 512 whch support LinearC too with OPFXSD command.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:49 am

MSX OLD Core, the screen is near centered:
MSX_MIST_OLDCORE.jpg


MSX NEW Core, the screen is a bit darker and moved to the left:
MSX_MIST_NEWCORE.jpg


Here a SCREEN 1, Width 32 example with new core, i cannot center the screen with the controls of my TV, the regulation is already at the maximum:
MSX_MIST_NEWCORE_2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby slingshot » Mon Nov 12, 2018 9:49 am

Probably its a common behavior for TMS9918 and derivates, the Mega Drive with the original hsync positions was also too close to the active area.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:14 am

Sometime the white color is wrong, near to a yellow. I have to reboot or switch Input on my TV to ensure that the screen is correctly synchronized and the white color is white.

Another question: old core has a PAL 50Hz mode, is there an option to switch in this mode with new core ?

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby slingshot » Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:41 am

Some docs in the OCM sources mentions 50 and 60Hz, but no external switch for that. Probably it can be switched by some software method. (I don't know too much about MSX, nor OCM, what I done you can call as a MiST front-end for it, all work is done by the original code by KdL, maybe msx.org can answer more questions than me).

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Nov 12, 2018 10:54 am

Yes, you are right.

I know MSX systems, in the '80 i own an MSX1 Philips. European machines are 50Hz, but from MSX2 VDP (VideoProcessor) can be switched to PAL/NTSC via software. In fact my MSX2 Toshiba starts in PAL mode, but some games switch to NTSC mode.

Asian machine are 60Hz, but i don't know if they support 50hz too.

It was only a question. Thanks.
If you can fix the screen, more centerd i believe it's ok for this new core MSX.

Thanks again.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby slingshot » Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:04 am

I see this in the code:

Code: Select all

when "11010000" =>                                  -- Force 60Hz       A:\>SETSMART -D0
   ntsc_pal_type   <=  '0';
   forced_v_mode   <=  '0';
when "11010001" =>                                  -- NTSC/PAL Auto    is bound by Control Register 9 (default)
   ntsc_pal_type   <=  '1';
when "11010010" => -- Force 50Hz       A:\>SETSMART -D2

Probably the SETSMART util what you're looking for. No idea where Auto comes from.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:20 pm

I think from the BIOS, but in BASIC there is a command:

If you are in DOS digit from the command line:

>BASIC (Return)

From Basic:

VDP(10)=2 (to switch to PAL 50Hz mode)
VDP(10)=0 (to switch to NTSC 60Hz mode)

When i switch to PAL 50Hz mode the defect of the screen to the left is more visible.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby slingshot » Mon Nov 12, 2018 6:46 pm

I've uploaded a new release with better centering.

But I have a question, too: I found game compatibility is not the best, especially for disk games. Is there any alternative BIOS/OS/trick/disk repo/whatever which makes it more compatible?

Upd.: found ESET.COM and EP.COM for disk emulation, I could start some games from .DSK files.
I'm only struggling now with some Speccy ports, like Auf Wiedersehen Monty or After Burner, they're either reset or hang.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:45 pm

MSX2PLUS, actual machine supported by this Core of Kdl (Original OCM = MSX2Plus) is a little incompatible with some MSX 1 roms and games.

On the net are Batman and Auf Wierdersen Monty patched games that work with OCM and MSX2Plus.
It isn't a BIOS question.

Some DSK games needs to boot with CTRL pressed (save memory) but on MSX2PLUS this tip doesn't work.
I found a trick which does the same, you have to manually mount dsk images with EP without make boot. Then if the games is in BASIC standard loader you have to go to Basic and load the game as usual with RUN", LOAD"A:gamename",R, etc...

Some DSK games have been patched with a POKE -1,170 or POKE -1, 255 respectively for MSX2 Philips and Sony.
But these are different respect to MSX2Plus, so this POKE may cause problem in the loader startup.

I have manually edited all the loader (usually AUTOEXEC.BAS) replacing that POKE with this general formula:

POKE -1,(15-PEEK(-1)\16)*17

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby slingshot » Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:54 pm

Ahh, thanks, I'll search for MSX2PLUS.

It's a pain to use ESET every time to add a new drive letter, is there a command line version of it, so I can put it to autoexec.bat? (otherwise I can just instantly reboot with the new disk, cannot use together with existing A: drive).

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:59 pm

slingshot wrote:I've uploaded a new release with better centering.


Same as first, screen is moved to the left. I think it's a sync problem.
Old core is perfect with centered screen and brilliant colors.

Thanks for your effort to fix this problem.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Nov 12, 2018 8:52 pm

slingshot wrote:Ahh, thanks, I'll search for MSX2PLUS.

It's a pain to use ESET every time to add a new drive letter, is there a command line version of it, so I can put it to autoexec.bat? (otherwise I can just instantly reboot with the new disk, cannot use together with existing A: drive).


on OLD Core i simply go to msxdos and digit:

> EP GAMENAME.DSK B:
> B:
B:\>BASIC

In the basic i digit:

FILES

to see the directory of disk, load AUTOEXEC.BAS to modify as already mentioned.

In this new core I don't know why this simply metod doesn't work anymore.

On the net there is an AUFMONTY patched ROM which I usually Load with EXECROM. For EXECROM you have to set MegaRam on the First Slot (Old MSX CORE), the sintax to load the rom is:

EXECROM /R2 AUFMONTY

so you can play this game on MSX2Plus and OCM.

On the new core I cannot use EXECROM.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby vebxenon » Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:56 am

slingshot wrote:Took a break from fpgagen development, so written a MiST top-level for KdL's OneChipMSX release (the same Sorgelig used for MiSTer):

https://github.com/gyurco/MSX_MiST

Need an SD-card with FAT16 formatting, and the first file must be the OCM-BIOS.DAT file. I found the BIOS loader very picky about the formatting, I could use only a card formatted in Win7 successfully. Here's the original website with sdcreate and MSX-DOS:

https://gnogni.altervista.org/

After you created and tested the SD-Card, you can copy it to a msx.vhd file, and put on your regular MiST SD-Card.


I'm going.to test it today. Thanks very much!
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby slingshot » Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:11 pm

DanyPPC wrote:
slingshot wrote:Ahh, thanks, I'll search for MSX2PLUS.

It's a pain to use ESET every time to add a new drive letter, is there a command line version of it, so I can put it to autoexec.bat? (otherwise I can just instantly reboot with the new disk, cannot use together with existing A: drive).


on OLD Core i simply go to msxdos and digit:

> EP GAMENAME.DSK B:
> B:
B:\>BASIC


That's why I wrote I have to use the ESET utility to add more drives. Just it doesn't survive a hard reboot, and didn't find a method to add it to autoexec.bat.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:42 pm

I will ask on MSXItalia mailinglist if there is a workaround.

Anyway AufWiedersenMonty.dsk doesn't work on MSX2Plus/OCM.
I have a patched rom that you can find here

Here my modified disks for MSX.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:24 pm

I found another way to load AUFMONTY.ROM:

>ROMLOAD AUFMONTY.ROM /A /S

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby slingshot » Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:37 pm

DanyPPC wrote:I found another way to load AUFMONTY.ROM:

>ROMLOAD AUFMONTY.ROM /A /S


The modified version just worked for me using mglocm. Didn't have more luck with the disks, but will try harder :)

Meanwhile, I've did some update on the Colecovision core, added YPbPr output, and a bigger OSD (all from fpgagen). It has the same video chip as MSX1, and a bit easier to load games.

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... lecovision

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:18 pm

Tested ColecoVision new core, colors are wrong:
Coleco.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby slingshot » Tue Nov 13, 2018 7:14 pm

DanyPPC wrote:Tested ColecoVision new core, colors are wrong:
Coleco.jpg


I liked this blue tone, now I know it's not what was intended :) Fixed hopefully, re-upped.

Upd: Re-upped again, with an updated CPU. Fixes the Road Fighter game.
Last edited by slingshot on Tue Nov 13, 2018 7:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Nov 13, 2018 7:40 pm

slingshot wrote:That's why I wrote I have to use the ESET utility to add more drives. Just it doesn't survive a hard reboot, and didn't find a method to add it to autoexec.bat.


Kdl answer me:

you need to create a BIOS which support 2 active drives just at boot.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby slingshot » Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:21 pm

DanyPPC wrote:
slingshot wrote:That's why I wrote I have to use the ESET utility to add more drives. Just it doesn't survive a hard reboot, and didn't find a method to add it to autoexec.bat.


Kdl answer me:

you need to create a BIOS which support 2 active drives just at boot.


Thanks. Maybe going back to fpgagen, seems that's not that complicated :)

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:45 pm

Now ColecoVision is fine, thanks :cheers:

Hardware ColecoVision is like an MSX1 one, the audio chip is different.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby DanyPPC » Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:41 pm

Has anyone else tested the new Core MSX ?

from my experience:
- discard SDCard use
- use msx.vhd FAT16 file max 256MB
- place OCM-BIOS.DAT as first file, then copy MSX-Dos with autoexec.bas and utls
- at the boot after MSX Bios Logo it could be necessary press Reset for MSX-Dos to start
(initially MSX-OCM starts with 2048KB ram, but then it reads prefs file with 4096KB setting previously saved (MSX.CFG))


In my case only the screen is not centerd (moved to the left hiding atmost a character column).
Sometime colors start wrong with a white that is yellow, i think it's a sync problem because all the screen is a bit darker.
In the old core screen is instead perfect.

Anyway thanks for your feedback.

desUBIKado
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: [Solved] MiST Hardware Revisions? MSX-Core-Problem

Postby desUBIKado » Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:14 pm

I tested this core a little bit. OK to everything said by DanyPPC in the post above.

The image by the RGB video output looks well centered

I have tried with diskette images (.dsk) of the MSXMANIA compilation that with the old core did not work and do with this core.

I have used the msx.vhd image of 128MB created by DanyPPC and it works perfectly (thank you very much). To add more software I had to mount it in Linux as superuser with this command:

Code: Select all

mount -o loop,offset=$((128*512)) msx.vhd msx


With this command I put the image in a folder called msx and then I can put programs in that folder. Once the copy is finished, I unmount the folder with the command

Code: Select all

umount msx


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests