Stuck keys

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Stuck keys

Postby piku » Thu Nov 10, 2016 4:27 am

Does anyone else get the stuck key effect? If I use the keyboard to initiate a disk write, (say for instance ctrl-s in qed) the keyboard will repeat. This is probably because the SD card writes are freezing everyhtging which is causing the ACIA to break. I can't believe though that nobody else experiences this though. It's infuriating.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Stuck keys

Postby ericgus » Thu Nov 10, 2016 4:29 am

Which core are you referring to?

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Stuck keys

Postby piku » Thu Nov 10, 2016 4:36 am

atari st core, latest firmware, latest core release with tos 2.06.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Stuck keys

Postby piku » Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:33 am

I used a usb to ps2 adapter and a ps2 kvm and one of those two components were causing the issue. Hooking up a usb keyboard and mouse directly prevent it from happening.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 467
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Stuck keys

Postby ericgus » Fri Nov 11, 2016 3:28 am

Newsdee? I think does a lot of work on the USB keyboard stuff he might have some insights or possibly be able to roll in a fix that might address it.. so don't despair just yet.. glad you at least know what the issue is.. I haven't had a chance to look.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1482
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Stuck keys

Postby Newsdee » Fri Nov 11, 2016 6:05 am

It could be the PS/2 adapter not translating well the key release event. Would you have a PS/2 keyboard that you can test with?

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Stuck keys

Postby Paradroyd » Fri Nov 11, 2016 6:19 am

That is interesting. I HAVE seen something like this..where the MIST seems to drop key events in some circumstances. I mostly ran into it when doing high speed bursts of input at the interface, first with a keyboard emulating barcode reader, then later when trying to send input to the MIST with an Arduino Micro as an HID device. It would seemingly randomly drop keydown and keyup events. When it would drop keyups, the keypress would repeat forever unless I sent more keyboard input to the interface.

Ironically, I NEVER saw this in the ST core, but I did see it in all of the others I tried, especially in the Amiga cores. The ST core has always been rock solid for me and seems to handle whatever I throw at it.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon

User avatar
piku
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:17 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Stuck keys

Postby piku » Sat Nov 12, 2016 2:53 pm

It appears to be my KVM which is a linksys kvm that looks much like this:

http://www.lifebeforelandfill.com/item/ ... img_01.jpg

When I hook directly to my PS2 to USB adapter I had an issue one time during boot but otherwise it works fine, even when I do lots of things during SD card writes. The KVM works fine when using Eiffel on a real atari for the most part. But now that I think about it, I've had key repeat issues on those as well. It's interesting too that with my Logitech wireless mouse the buttons don't work unless it is adapted to PS2 and plugged in with the PS2 adapter.
piku http://www.atari-source.org http://rpmint.com/
CT60 Falcon - Dead Firebee - Some others ;)

skywalky
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 4:44 pm

Re: Stuck keys

Postby skywalky » Sat Nov 19, 2016 11:25 pm

I have the same issue with the latest Atari ST core but I think only with the Toshiba FlashAir 16GB SD card and I tested with two keyboards and mouse, one is connected to a KVM and other is a Logitech Wireless keyboard and mouse. The same issue always happens if you change the time and date. The keyboard stuck until you press a key.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests