[New Core] TRS-80 Model I

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

[New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby sebdel » Thu Oct 27, 2016 2:46 pm

Image

Hi,

This is my attempt at the TRS-80 Model I. It's functional but not very usable yet as you cannot use the tape interface or load binaries in anyway. Still, the basic works, level2 Basic is actually quite nice. level1 is more a curiosity than anything else as it is really bare-bone.

Features:
- TRS-80 Model I with level1 Basic in ROM and 4KB of RAM (user manual: http://www.1000bit.it/support/manuali/trs/Level%201%20Users%20Manual%20%281977%29%28David%20Lien%29%28pdf%29.pdf)
- TRS-80 Model I with level2 Basic in ROM and 16KB of RAM (user manual: http://www.1000bit.it/support/manuali/trs/Level%20II%20BASIC%20Reference%20Manual%20(1979)(Radio%20Shack).pdf)
- 15KHz might be supported. Use at your own risk.

Binary images available here:
https://github.com/sebdel/mist-cores/tree/master/trs80/output_files

Enjoy!
Seb

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby Paradroyd » Thu Oct 27, 2016 5:16 pm

Thanks for your work on this! Looking forward to playing around with it.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on twitter

LuigiThirty
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 12:20 am

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby LuigiThirty » Thu Oct 27, 2016 6:01 pm

Nice! I inherited a Model III growing up. Model I is definitely more bare-bones than that.

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby ericgus » Thu Oct 27, 2016 6:26 pm

AWESOME !! ..

Thanks for your work on this core.. the TRS80 was one of the first computers I had direct contact with and historically is an important first step along with the Apple II (the trs80 had a greater popularity for a good while before the Apple II)

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby ericgus » Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:39 pm

Maybe (hopefully) Sorgelig or Til can give you a hand with the tape loading .. I am not even sure how its done in the other cores.

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby vebxenon » Fri Oct 28, 2016 6:40 am

Thanks very much! You're doing a great work, sebdel :)

Regards,

Salva

sebdel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby sebdel » Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:45 pm

ericgus wrote:Maybe (hopefully) Sorgelig or Til can give you a hand with the tape loading .. I am not even sure how its done in the other cores.


I'm looking at the zx81 and what I see looks more like memory injection than actual tape loading, but that would be sufficient I guess. There are no cores where you can actually save though. Right?

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby ericgus » Fri Oct 28, 2016 2:18 pm

sebdel wrote:
ericgus wrote:Maybe (hopefully) Sorgelig or Til can give you a hand with the tape loading .. I am not even sure how its done in the other cores.


I'm looking at the zx81 and what I see looks more like memory injection than actual tape loading, but that would be sufficient I guess. There are no cores where you can actually save though. Right?


I dont know to be honest with you . .thats actually a good question if you can save in the others .. but i think for now if memory injection works then thats probably not a bad first method .. the only thing I can see failing in that scenario is if there is "chaining" going on.. obviously it will fail once it tries to load the next part off tape. That said its been far too many years for me to recall if anything worked like that. (as far as I recall most trs80 programs just loaded and that was it.. i.e. no chaining)

rittwage
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby rittwage » Fri Oct 28, 2016 8:13 pm

Great work!

The other PC-based emulators generally supported disk/tape and also direct loading of "CMD" files, which are the files copied to disks and understood by most (all?) flavors of DOS on the TRS-80 (of which there are many). Since CMD files auto-execute when loaded, I assume that file type contains the load address and execution start address.

917k
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 7:03 am

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby 917k » Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:49 am

I am sooo happy to see this core. Thanks so much for bringing it to reality. Can't wait to play Eliminator. :)

rittwage
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby rittwage » Sat Nov 12, 2016 12:32 am

BTW, 15KHz RGB mode does not work. Looks like the frequency is very wrong...

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby DrOG » Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:46 am

This is a tricky core, I tried it with 1 TV and 2 monitors and all of them identifies the video signal differently:

Samsung LE40B650: 800x600@60Hz
LG DM2352: 1280x600@60Hz
BenQ BL912: 1024x600@60Hz

Another issue is that the scandoubler disabled signal is non-SCART compatible, the BenQ, which has multisync capabilites, recognizes it as 720x288@60Hz. The main problem is in my opinion the lack of composite sync, it provides separated horizontal and vertical syncs instead. In case of true interlaced output the BenQ would display 576i@60Hz.

I recommend to use the HT1080z core, this hungarian school computer is basically a TRS-80 Model 1 (with Level II BASIC) clone, supplemented with an AY-3-8910 sound generator and additional 8-bit I/O circuit.

The original computer's homepage:

http://ht.homeserver.hu/

And the core made by Joco:

http://joco.homeserver.hu/fpga/mist_ht1080z_en.html

The video output is standard 640x480@60Hz VGA and 576i@50Hz over SCART.

It supports .cas loading. If you want to convert CMD files to CAS, here is a utility written by Attila Grósz (source code and english howto included).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by DrOG on Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby ericgus » Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:31 am

Does the HT1080z work with TRS80 software?

do you know if there is a OSX or Linux version of the cmd2cas converter?


UPDATE: actually this core works pretty nicely as a TRS80 core.. thanks for the find!

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: [New Core] TRS-80 Model I

Postby DrOG » Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:30 am

Yes, these two machines are almost identical, not 100% compatible, but most of the games should work...

You're welcome!


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests