Running AROS on MiST?

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

rrmagro
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:48 pm

Running AROS on MiST?

Postby rrmagro » Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:55 pm

As the subject mentions, is it possible to run the AROS OS on a MiST board.
Or did anyone tried it?

Thanks.
Last edited by rrmagro on Mon Sep 07, 2015 1:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

KrisAmiga
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:05 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Ruming AROS on MiST?

Postby KrisAmiga » Sat Aug 29, 2015 9:18 pm

AROS-Vision should work on the MIST. Next week i will try it. The Kickstart replacement works maybe too.

rrmagro
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:48 pm

Re: Ruming AROS on MiST?

Postby rrmagro » Sun Aug 30, 2015 11:45 pm

KrisAmiga wrote:AROS-Vision should work on the MIST. Next week i will try it. The Kickstart replacement works maybe too.


Probably not. I've been reading about that and probably the libraries will not support the "emulated" hardware to get the full advantage of AROS OS.

But I'm still trying.

Thanks any way for your post.

chaos
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:09 am
Contact:

Re: Ruming AROS on MiST?

Postby chaos » Sat Sep 05, 2015 9:35 pm

Hi,

I've successfully started the AROS kickstart replacement on the MiST. There are some problems though, the kickstart replacement doesn't detect IDE (Gayle) for some reason. Hopefully, one of the AROS developers will help me out with this.

To run AROS, a new build of minimig will be required (needs support for 1MB ROMs). I'll publish it in the near future, stay tuned!
** my minimig builds: http://somuch.guru/ **

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 336
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Ruming AROS on MiST?

Postby farvardin » Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:25 pm

that's great news! Aros on MiST, it's awesome!

rrmagro
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:48 pm

Re: Running AROS on MiST?

Postby rrmagro » Mon Sep 07, 2015 1:01 pm

chaos wrote:Hi,

I've successfully started the AROS kickstart replacement on the MiST. There are some problems though, the kickstart replacement doesn't detect IDE (Gayle) for some reason. Hopefully, one of the AROS developers will help me out with this.

To run AROS, a new build of minimig will be required (needs support for 1MB ROM's). I'll publish it in the near future, stay tuned!


Really GREAT news.

Do you have the possibility to make a small text explaining how did you do it and post it in here?
It would be great not just for me but for other MiST users also!

Thanks in advance, keep the good work. :cheers:

chaos
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:09 am
Contact:

Re: Running AROS on MiST?

Postby chaos » Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:38 am

Hi,

AROS doesn't work completely OK yet - it doesn't like the IDE implementation in minimig. I'm still working on that ...
** my minimig builds: http://somuch.guru/ **

rrmagro
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:48 pm

Re: Running AROS on MiST?

Postby rrmagro » Mon Sep 14, 2015 2:08 pm

chaos wrote:Hi,

AROS doesn't work completely OK yet - it doesn't like the IDE implementation in minimig. I'm still working on that ...


Hi,
Do you have any news about this?
I am willing to help, but i don't know what to do. :shrug:

I know how to program in PHP OOP, Java, Z80 and X86 (16/32 bit) Assembly and some C/C++, but no VHDL, can you (or any one)
point me in the right direction, some kind of tutorial/video/manual that i can learn so i can help?

I know this is a VERY long shoot because i need to know how the Amiga IDE controller hardware works in detail and i
need to have some experience with the VHDL and know how the AROS OS works, but i am willing to give it a shoot.

Or can i help in other situations, or just be quiet and wait?

Probably the last one is the best. :D

Sorry, i am a little impatient.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Running AROS on MiST?

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:36 pm

rrmagro wrote:I know this is a VERY long shoot because i need to know how the Amiga IDE controller hardware works in detail and i
need to have some experience with the VHDL ...


You'll need learn Verilog if you want to work on the Amiga chipset. The CPU is written in VHDL, the chipset in Verilog.

But i am afraid that the IDE part of the Minimig is a difficult thing to start with. The IDE and floppy interfaces are pretty complex since these are the parts that need to interface between the Amiga and the Arm controller on the board driving the SD card and they have grown over the years ...
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

rrmagro
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:48 pm

Re: Running AROS on MiST?

Postby rrmagro » Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:20 am

Well I have tried but I'm still in beginning of the learning curve, so I think that it would be a complex task at the moment.

By the way Till, thanks for the tutorials, they where a nice starting point.

Did some one else continued to test/develop the possibility of running AROS?

kolla
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Ruming AROS on MiST?

Postby kolla » Wed Jan 06, 2016 10:15 am

chaos wrote:a new build of minimig will be required (needs support for 1MB ROMs). I'll publish it in the near future, stay tuned!


I am very tuned!! :D
-- kolla

rrmagro
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:48 pm

Re: Running AROS on MiST?

Postby rrmagro » Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:07 pm

Any news about this?

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Running AROS on MiST?

Postby ericgus » Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:12 pm

rrmagro wrote:Any news about this?


I would also be interested in doing this as well..!

kolla
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Running AROS on MiST?

Postby kolla » Fri Apr 15, 2016 5:42 pm

For the 1MB ROM,t his already happened :)

https://github.com/rkrajnc/minimig-mist

Awaiting IDE to work, yes.
-- kolla

rrmagro
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:48 pm

Re: Running AROS on MiST?

Postby rrmagro » Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:28 pm

kolla wrote:For the 1MB ROM,t his already happened :)

https://github.com/rkrajnc/minimig-mist

Awaiting IDE to work, yes.


Does this depend from the MiST team, AROS team or both to work together?

kolla
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Running AROS on MiST?

Postby kolla » Tue May 31, 2016 10:51 pm

It just depends on anyone with skills, time and interest :)
-- kolla

rrmagro
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:48 pm

Re: Running AROS on MiST?

Postby rrmagro » Thu Jul 13, 2017 11:00 pm

Hello, once more.
It has been almost two years since my initial post.

Are there any good or any news about this?

Regards


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest